We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Location!”
Review of Suriwongse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Suriwongse Hotel
Ranked #41 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Awesome Location!”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This was our second stay at the Suriwongse. We stayed over New Year's for the past two years. We LOVE the location. It is smack-dab in the middle of the night market. We walked everywhere. The staff are all delightful. We always appreciated their smiles and help. The rooms are large and clean. The bed was very comfortable, although the black out curtains weren't really black out. Breakfast was delicious - try the deep fried crullers! Our only complaint was that the housekeeping staff were slow several days, so even though we vacated our room very early and put the sign for it to be cleaned, it still wasn't cleaned in the afternoon when we arrived home. Since we needed naps after our busy tours, it meant that our room didn't get cleaned that day at all. They were always good about providing towels and toiletries when this happened. Keep in mind that the pool is still not available, so if that is important to you, this isn't the hotel for you. Otherwise, we love it there and would go back next week!

Room Tip: Higher up floors have better views, since there are hotels all around that block the view. If you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Katherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinai C, General Manager at Suriwongse Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion and giving us thereby useful feedback.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stays at our hotel and that you are satisfied with our hotel.

I will make sure to forward your positive feedback to the concerned departments. We hope to welcome you soon again in Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai.

We would like to apologize for the experience you had did not live up to your expectations.

Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    527
    204
    70
    39
See reviews for
258
359
143
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Blue Mountains, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Great location very close to night market and unlimited dining options. Premier deluxe rooms are worth the little extra for the extra space. The hotel organised a driver( Thon ) to take us to Chiang Rai and he was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank callen1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinai C, General Manager at Suriwongse Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion and giving us thereby useful feedback.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stays at our hotel and that you are satisfied with our hotel.

I will make sure to forward your positive feedback to the concerned departments. We hope to welcome you soon again in Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Effretikon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2014

very helpful and friendly staff. stayed only one night, but got an upgrade as there was no twin available in our category. Lovely bathroom, very clean and quiet, but centrally located close to night market.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kamala8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinai C, General Manager at Suriwongse Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion and giving us thereby useful feedback.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stays at our hotel and that you are satisfied with our hotel.

I will make sure to forward your positive feedback to the concerned departments. We hope to welcome you soon again in Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This is our second time at the hotel, my kids like it although it doesn't have a pool on location. It is centrally located, close to nightlife, restaurants and shopping. High speed internet connection. The room was clean and comfortable . Breakfast is included but I think it needs more healthy choices.

Room Tip: I chose a room with a queen size bed but it was too small.i ended up changing for a two beds, much m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dolores N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinai C, General Manager at Suriwongse Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion and giving us thereby useful feedback.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stays at our hotel and that you are satisfied with our hotel.

I will make sure to forward your positive feedback to the concerned departments. We hope to welcome you soon again in Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This is a good hotel to stay in if you are looking for convenience to the night bazaar. Most of the places tourist would visit in Chiang Mai city are almost within walking distance. Room is spacious and bed very comfortable. Nothing to scream about at breakfast table but staff of hotel especially those from the reception counter and those serving in the restaurants could learn to be courteous! Theres also free wifi throughout the day. Only limited to 2 hrs. Lobby of hotel is extremely small.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilySaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinai C, General Manager at Suriwongse Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns.

We are glad you liked our hotel location with friendly staff. I will make sure to forward your positive feedback to the concerned departments.

We would like to apologize for the experience you had did not live up to your expectations.

Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests.

Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Chose for the location, staff was also very helpful. there was a pocket card in the room about Thai customs (wai greeting, don't show anger in public, etc) that was thoughtful. The attached restaurant, Fueng Fah, was average - disappointing compared to other great food we had in Chiang Mai.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank amanda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinai C, General Manager at Suriwongse Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns.

We are glad you liked our hotel location with friendly staff. I will make sure to forward your positive feedback to the concerned departments.

We would like to apologize for the experience you had did not live up to your expectations.

Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests.

Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Great experience! The hotel is closed to the nigth market, in a good place for shopping and dinner.
It's confortable and clean and the staff it's so nice and friendly I couldn't believe it.
Buffet in the morning was also great.
I appreciated a lot to find a copy of the buddish bible in my room: - it was a great chance to go through it!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ooo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinai C, General Manager at Suriwongse Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion and giving us thereby useful feedback.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stays at our hotel and that you are satisfied with our service and staff.

I will make sure to forward your positive feedback to the concerned departments.

We hope to welcome you soon again in Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai. We would be delighted to welcome you back to our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.0 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#55 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,301 reviews
0.3 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#50 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#64 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,603 reviews
0.0 mi away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#108 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,892 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nap in Chiangmai
Nap in Chiangmai
#37 of 381 in Chiang Mai
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suriwongse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suriwongse Hotel

Property: Suriwongse Hotel
Address: 110 Changklan Road | Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#28 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#36 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#45 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Suriwongse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai is perfectly located on the corner of Loikoh and Changklan Road, right at the heart of Chiang Mai’s landmark the “Night Bazaar”. The hotel is a short distance from Chiang Mai International Airport, the railway and bus stations.Conveniently located in the heart of the ancient city, The Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai is perfect for leisure and business travellers alike. The hotel is close to the city’s main business district and many of the major attractions are within walking distance. And when the evening comes, you are just a few steps away from the famous Night Bazaar, where you can enjoy a lively blend of shopping and entertainment. The hotel is only a ten-minute drive from Chiang Mai’s International Airport, and within easy reach of the city’s outskirts if you want to get away for a round of golf or to enjoy a day trip in the hills.A few steps from the famous Night Bazaar, the hotel is perfectly located for exploring Chiang Mai’s many cultural sights and attractions. The Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai caters to cultural adventure seekers embraced by the warmth of local treat combined with quality service. Its contemporary interior blends in perfect harmony with the traditional Thai Lanna style architecture, creating a warm ambience. In a buzzing and vibrant atmosphere, we present exciting dining options with inter-active show kitchens.The traditional influences of the north’s ancient Lanna Kingdom are incorporated into the decor of each of our rooms and suites. Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai’s rooms and suites, enjoy either restful views of the city center or look out over the majestic misty mountain of Doi Suthep. While inside, a range of modern amenities create a haven of comfort where weary travellers can rest and recharge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Suriwongse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai
Suriwongse Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing