We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean room, friendly staff, very good location”
Review of Suriwongse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Suriwongse Hotel
Ranked #42 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Seoul, South Korea
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“clean room, friendly staff, very good location”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

i enjoyed this hotel in many ways. Clean room, friendly staff, very good location, as the title and also free wifi. Just one thing, the view wasn't my style... even though they tried to find me what I want. Specially thanks for the manager, Sunet Utasena :). Thank you very much!

Room Tip: Just ask to staffs. They will willing to help you
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seonhui_Kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinai C, General Manager at Suriwongse Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Khun Seonhui_Kim,

Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion and giving us thereby useful feedback.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stays with us and that you are satisfied with our hotel location, clean room and friendly staff.

I will make sure to forward your positive feedback to the concerned departments. We hope to welcome you soon again in Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai.

Warm regards,

Vinai Chitaratsanee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    536
    208
    71
    40
See reviews for
264
366
147
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We did a booking just 3 days before check in, which shows the room availability for immediate check in. The first thing, we couldn't find the exact location of this hotel since the HOTEL name was not visible from far. Once you reach nearby, the entrance was not visible and probably there are too many narrow roads there, we made 2-3 roundabouts to really find the 'front office' of the hotel. No helps with a trolley for carrying the luggage, and probably this is a hotel for just a stay for night-sleep and to run away!! Whatsoever, the room is quite spacious enough considering ChiangMai as a tourist location. Very small bathroom. And yes, within your rooms, you could also hear the noise from other rooms, may be due to poor building walls. Also they have buffet for dinner, breakfast etc- mostly the food remained the same (Chinese style). However, the car-park arrangement is an easily accessible one. Mostly group travellers are seen here and probably more apt for them.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Prabha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinai C, General Manager at Suriwongse Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Khun Prabha T,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns.

We are glad you liked our hotel location with spacious room. I will make sure to forward your positive feedback to the concerned departments.

We would like to apologize for the experience you had did not live up to your expectations.
Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests.

Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done

With regards,

Vinai Chitaratsanee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san jose, ca
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stayed three nights at this hotel. The hotel room was surprisingly more comfortable than I thought it would be upon my arrival. The hotel is conveniently located to the night market at river area. The main areas of the hotel need renovating, but, the room was pleasant. The hotel breakfast was buffet style and offered plenty of options.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank prmis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinai C, General Manager at Suriwongse Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Khun prmis,

Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion and giving us thereby useful feedback.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stays with us and that you are satisfied with our hotel location, comfortable room and good breakfast.

I will make sure to forward your positive feedback to the concerned departments. We hope to welcome you soon again in Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai.

Warm regards,

Vinai Chitaratsanee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The hotel had a good location and was easy to find. The rooms were spacious, but a bit outdated. The bathroom was too small and did not have enough room to put away our cosmethics. The staff was very friendly, especially the woman arranging trips in the lobby. Breakfast was OK, but nothing special. Sound insulation in the rooms is poor, as we could hear everything that was going on in the corridor or the neighboring rooms. All in all, if we were to return, we wouldn`t mind going back for a few days.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JovoLjubljana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinai C, General Manager at Suriwongse Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Khun JovoLjublijana,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns.

We are glad you liked our hotel location with spacious room. I will make sure to forward your positive feedback to the concerned departments.

We would like to apologize for the experience you had did not live up to your expectations.
Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests.

Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done

With regards,

Vinai Chitaratsanee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Nothing to complaint also nothing impressive except the buffet breakfast. If future I will stay in this hotel again definitely becoz of their good & variety breakfast.
Hotel located just few steps from the night bazaar, easy access to most of the attractions via Tuk Tuk, walking to the old city a little bit exhausting. The hotel looks like a 5stars hotel 10++ years ago, now still maintained but a little old fashion, some lights in the room not functioning.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinai C, General Manager at Suriwongse Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Khun Sarah T,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns.

We are glad you liked our hotel breakfast. I will make sure to forward your positive feedback to the concerned departments.

We would like to apologize for the experience you had did not live up to your expectations.
Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests.

Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done

With regards,

Vinai Chitaratsanee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We spent 3 nights in this hotel. Upon arrival we got upgraded to Deluxe room. All the staff in the hotel was friendly and helpful. No doubt I have say Suriwongse team, you guys are the best. Last but not least the assistant front office manager Mr Net provide us 5 star service. Thumbs up !!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kong Hong G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinai C, General Manager at Suriwongse Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Khun Kong Hong G ,

Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion and giving us thereby useful feedback.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stays with us and that you are satisfied with our hotel location and friendly staff services & helpful.

I will make sure to forward your positive feedback to the concerned departments. We hope to welcome you soon again in Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai.

Warm regards,

Vinai Chitaratsanee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Location: The location is great. It is a 2 minutes' walk to the Night Bazaar and near to most sights.

Amenities: I was staying in Building B. I have not been into the rooms of other wings but I can see that the doors of guest rooms at the main building look older. In building B where I was staying, the room does not look dated, is large, clean and well maintained by the housekeeping staff. There is a safe deposit box, 2 free bottles of drinking water per day (not sure if we can ask for more), a kettle and free tea, coffee and sugar. The bathroom and toilet is a little small but adequate. One annoyance is the presence of mosquitoes but this is a Chiang Mai annoyance as I can find mosquitoes elsewhere during the hot month of April, even at international F&B outlets like Starbucks, the airport and also inside a Thai Airways plane when it landed at Bangkok from Chiang Mai. The housekeeping staff provided an electric mosquito repellent. The breakfast is very good. There is a friendly travel service desk inside the hotel.

One suggestion would be the make the exterior of the hotel (near the travel desk) more prominent to tourists looking for it the first time. When I arrived in Chiang Mai, I went to Chinatown first and then walked to look for the hotel. I missed it as the side where the travel desk is, isn't very prominent. (There is another entrance, facing Le Meridien which is prominent)

Staff: Top marks for the staff. They were responsive and courteous and I was greeted by all hotel staff whenever I bumped into them. Things are a little more leisurely here in Chiang Mai than in Bangkok and the Thais seem warmer here than in Bangkok.

Value: Definately good value for money which I will recommend to others without hesitation.

Room Tip: There are different extensions to the hotel. I was staying in Building B which was rather new.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank ST7777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinai C, General Manager at Suriwongse Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Khun ST7777777,

Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion and giving us thereby useful feedback.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stays with us and that you are satisfied with our hotel location, good breakfast including responsive and courteous staff .

I will make sure to forward your positive feedback to the concerned departments. We hope to welcome you soon again in Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai.

Warm regards,

Vinai Chitaratsanee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.0 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#57 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,834 reviews
0.3 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#50 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#64 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,626 reviews
0.0 mi away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#103 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,907 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golden Bell Hotel
Golden Bell Hotel
#15 of 383 in Chiang Mai
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suriwongse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suriwongse Hotel

Property: Suriwongse Hotel
Address: 110 Changklan Road | Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#29 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#36 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#45 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Suriwongse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai is perfectly located on the corner of Loikoh and Changklan Road, right at the heart of Chiang Mai’s landmark the “Night Bazaar”. The hotel is a short distance from Chiang Mai International Airport, the railway and bus stations.Conveniently located in the heart of the ancient city, The Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai is perfect for leisure and business travellers alike. The hotel is close to the city’s main business district and many of the major attractions are within walking distance. And when the evening comes, you are just a few steps away from the famous Night Bazaar, where you can enjoy a lively blend of shopping and entertainment. The hotel is only a ten-minute drive from Chiang Mai’s International Airport, and within easy reach of the city’s outskirts if you want to get away for a round of golf or to enjoy a day trip in the hills.A few steps from the famous Night Bazaar, the hotel is perfectly located for exploring Chiang Mai’s many cultural sights and attractions. The Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai caters to cultural adventure seekers embraced by the warmth of local treat combined with quality service. Its contemporary interior blends in perfect harmony with the traditional Thai Lanna style architecture, creating a warm ambience. In a buzzing and vibrant atmosphere, we present exciting dining options with inter-active show kitchens.The traditional influences of the north’s ancient Lanna Kingdom are incorporated into the decor of each of our rooms and suites. Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai’s rooms and suites, enjoy either restful views of the city center or look out over the majestic misty mountain of Doi Suthep. While inside, a range of modern amenities create a haven of comfort where weary travellers can rest and recharge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Suriwongse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai
Suriwongse Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing