We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Movenpick Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai
Ranked #39 of 395 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We booked this hotel 1 day before we check in..because of location...But when we arrived Suriwong hotel , staffs are very great service....and offer to upgrade with reasonable price....Wifi is strong, deluxe room is big enough for us and my kids really like bath tub and view ftom the window......Night time we went out for shopping and sightseeing....Next time we will stay this hitel again....

Room Tip: Deluxe room is better.....bigger and has bath tub....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Saranphat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinai C, General Manager at Movenpick Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Khun Saranphat K,

Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion and giving us thereby useful feedback.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stays with us and that you are satisfied with our hotel location, happy for our room upgraded and staffs are very great services.

I will make sure to forward your positive feedback to the concerned departments. We hope to welcome you soon again in Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai.

Warm regards,

Vinai Chitaratsanee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

701 - 707 of 1,379 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

i enjoyed this hotel in many ways. Clean room, friendly staff, very good location, as the title and also free wifi. Just one thing, the view wasn't my style... even though they tried to find me what I want. Specially thanks for the manager, Sunet Utasena :). Thank you very much!

Room Tip: Just ask to staffs. They will willing to help you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seonhui_Kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinai C, General Manager at Movenpick Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Khun Seonhui_Kim,

Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion and giving us thereby useful feedback.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stays with us and that you are satisfied with our hotel location, clean room and friendly staff.

I will make sure to forward your positive feedback to the concerned departments. We hope to welcome you soon again in Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai.

Warm regards,

Vinai Chitaratsanee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We did a booking just 3 days before check in, which shows the room availability for immediate check in. The first thing, we couldn't find the exact location of this hotel since the HOTEL name was not visible from far. Once you reach nearby, the entrance was not visible and probably there are too many narrow roads there, we made 2-3 roundabouts to really find the 'front office' of the hotel. No helps with a trolley for carrying the luggage, and probably this is a hotel for just a stay for night-sleep and to run away!! Whatsoever, the room is quite spacious enough considering ChiangMai as a tourist location. Very small bathroom. And yes, within your rooms, you could also hear the noise from other rooms, may be due to poor building walls. Also they have buffet for dinner, breakfast etc- mostly the food remained the same (Chinese style). However, the car-park arrangement is an easily accessible one. Mostly group travellers are seen here and probably more apt for them.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Prabha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinai C, General Manager at Movenpick Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Khun Prabha T,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns.

We are glad you liked our hotel location with spacious room. I will make sure to forward your positive feedback to the concerned departments.

We would like to apologize for the experience you had did not live up to your expectations.
Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests.

Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done

With regards,

Vinai Chitaratsanee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stayed three nights at this hotel. The hotel room was surprisingly more comfortable than I thought it would be upon my arrival. The hotel is conveniently located to the night market at river area. The main areas of the hotel need renovating, but, the room was pleasant. The hotel breakfast was buffet style and offered plenty of options.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank prmis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinai C, General Manager at Movenpick Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Khun prmis,

Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion and giving us thereby useful feedback.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stays with us and that you are satisfied with our hotel location, comfortable room and good breakfast.

I will make sure to forward your positive feedback to the concerned departments. We hope to welcome you soon again in Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai.

Warm regards,

Vinai Chitaratsanee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The hotel had a good location and was easy to find. The rooms were spacious, but a bit outdated. The bathroom was too small and did not have enough room to put away our cosmethics. The staff was very friendly, especially the woman arranging trips in the lobby. Breakfast was OK, but nothing special. Sound insulation in the rooms is poor, as we could hear everything that was going on in the corridor or the neighboring rooms. All in all, if we were to return, we wouldn`t mind going back for a few days.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JovoLjubljana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinai C, General Manager at Movenpick Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Khun JovoLjublijana,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns.

We are glad you liked our hotel location with spacious room. I will make sure to forward your positive feedback to the concerned departments.

We would like to apologize for the experience you had did not live up to your expectations.
Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests.

Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done

With regards,

Vinai Chitaratsanee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Nothing to complaint also nothing impressive except the buffet breakfast. If future I will stay in this hotel again definitely becoz of their good & variety breakfast.
Hotel located just few steps from the night bazaar, easy access to most of the attractions via Tuk Tuk, walking to the old city a little bit exhausting. The hotel looks like a 5stars hotel 10++ years ago, now still maintained but a little old fashion, some lights in the room not functioning.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinai C, General Manager at Movenpick Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Khun Sarah T,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns.

We are glad you liked our hotel breakfast. I will make sure to forward your positive feedback to the concerned departments.

We would like to apologize for the experience you had did not live up to your expectations.
Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests.

Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done

With regards,

Vinai Chitaratsanee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We spent 3 nights in this hotel. Upon arrival we got upgraded to Deluxe room. All the staff in the hotel was friendly and helpful. No doubt I have say Suriwongse team, you guys are the best. Last but not least the assistant front office manager Mr Net provide us 5 star service. Thumbs up !!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kong Hong G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinai C, General Manager at Movenpick Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Khun Kong Hong G ,

Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion and giving us thereby useful feedback.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stays with us and that you are satisfied with our hotel location and friendly staff services & helpful.

I will make sure to forward your positive feedback to the concerned departments. We hope to welcome you soon again in Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai.

Warm regards,

Vinai Chitaratsanee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,944 reviews
0 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#56 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,396 reviews
0.3 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#58 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#34 of 395 in Chiang Mai
528 reviews
2.1 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#72 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai

Address: 110 Changklan Road | Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand (Formerly Suriwongse Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#29 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#29 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#45 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £49 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Thailand’s breathtaking north at Mövenpick Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai, where the warmth of local traditions combines with quality service. Situated in the heart of Chiang Mai, a few steps from the famous Night Bazaar and close to the Ping River, the hotel's contemporary interior complements its traditional Thai Lanna architecture. From the rooftop pool there are awesome city views, and the atmospheric dining scene serves both local Thai dishes and classic international specialities. The hotel is perfect for culture buffs and adventure seekers, with easy access to hundreds of temples and spectacular zip lines in the surrounding forest. Chiang Mai events can be hosted in the ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Movenpick Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai
Suriwongse Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing