We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel in Chiang Mai”
Review of Suriwongse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Suriwongse Hotel
Ranked #36 of 388 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Was impressed with this Hotel. Room was comfortable and clean and the dark wood panels made a nice effect. Hot shower. Staff were all friendly and helpful. Great position if you are interested in the Night Bazaar. The Hotel entrance is a little strange as you enter the lobby from a side street. Next time in Chiang Mai will happily stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Trevor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinai C, General Manager at Suriwongse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Khun Trevor J,

Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion and giving us thereby useful feedback.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stays with us and that you are satisfied with our hotel location, comfortable & clean room and friendly & helpful staff.

I will make sure to forward your positive feedback to the concerned departments. We hope to welcome you soon again in Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai.

Warm regards,

Vinai Chitaratsanee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,297)
There are newer reviews for Suriwongse Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

629 - 635 of 1,296 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel during my visit to Chiang Mai. This hotel is advertised as Movenpick suriwongse on some hotel sites but I don't think it belongs to the Movenpick chain of hotel. This hotel should be around 4 stars locally.

Location of the hotel is great as it's right beside the night market and there's plenty of dining options around the hotel. There is a 24 hrs macdonalds and Burger King right outside the hotel. Starbucks is just beside the hotel within the same building.

As for the rooms, they are clean and amenities appropriate. I was upgraded to the deluxe room upon checking in and their deluxe room is huge. Big bathroom as well.

Breakfast was the same everyday but a pretty good spread consisting both international and local dishes.

As for the price, I would say that's good value for money.

One thing to note is that the air conditioned in the room is very cold even though we set the temperature to 27 degrees. The aircon unit was also very loud. Other things were fine.

Stayed: May 2014
2  Thank alanyeo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinai C, General Manager at Suriwongse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Khun alanyeo76,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns.

We are glad you liked our hotel location with clean room. I will make sure to forward your positive feedback to the concerned departments.

We would like to apologize for the experience you had did not live up to your expectations.
Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests.

Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done

With regards,

Vinai Chitaratsanee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Room/Bathroom is very clean and towel smells so good!
I really love the breakfast in Hotel, There are a lot delicious food and decoration is so cool!
I'll choose to stay here if I go to Chaing-mai for sure!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinai C, General Manager at Suriwongse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Khun tan b,

Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion and giving us thereby useful feedback.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stays with us and that you are satisfied with our hotel location, lovely breakfast and very clean room.

I will make sure to forward your positive feedback to the concerned departments. We hope to welcome you soon again in Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai.

Warm regards,

Vinai Chitaratsanee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The Suriwongse hotel is in a prime location. Located right by the night bazaar, we really enjoyed each night strolling out and experiencing all of the local night life. The hotel itself was somewhat outdated. The rooms did not seem very clean, the blankets looked dirty, and the bed was rock solid. The service also wasn't as friendly or helpful as we had come accustomed to from other places that we stayed in Thailand. They did have a nice restaurant tied to the hotel that we had breakfast at each morning, and as I mentioned, the location was spectacular.

Overall, you are not going to lose if you go to Suriwongse hotel, but if my wife and I were to go back, we would probably look at one of the other hotels that are in the same vicinity.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Benjamin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinai C, General Manager at Suriwongse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Khun Benjamin H,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns.

We are glad you liked our hotel location. I will make sure to forward your positive feedback to the concerned departments.

We would like to apologize for the experience you had did not live up to your expectations.
Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests.

Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done

With regards,

Vinai Chitaratsanee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

It's convenient to everywhere,espescially to the night bazarr...Drivers all know this place because it's near the Meridien hotel.The faculty is ok sence it's not new.Great breakfast,but lunch is just ok.Excllent service.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinai C, General Manager at Suriwongse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Khun Zoe Z,

Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion and giving us thereby useful feedback.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stays with us and that you are satisfied with our hotel location, excellent breakfast and great services.

I will make sure to forward your positive feedback to the concerned departments. We hope to welcome you soon again in Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai.

Warm regards,

Vinai Chitaratsanee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Good location: near airport and night bazaar
Breakfast is ok;
without swimming pool
Staff is nice But should pay more attention on customer request. I booked a twin bed with an extra bed, front desk staff confirmed me when I check in and told me her colleague "may" well prepared for me, but no extra bed when i approached my room, I feel quite disappointed about this. Other than that, staff are very helpful.

Room Tip: It's better to choose high floor
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheeseballhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinai C, General Manager at Suriwongse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Khun cheeseballhk,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns.

We are glad you liked our hotel location and service. I will make sure to forward your positive feedback to the concerned departments.

We would like to apologize for the experience you had did not live up to your expectations.
Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests.

Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done

With regards,

Vinai Chitaratsanee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We had a great stay at Suriwongse. It's got a great location right around the corner of the night market which magically appears every night and packs down by morning.

The room was lovely. No view but modern and cosy which is all we needed. Unfortunately the room cleaning was hit and miss. Upon arrival the shower hadn't been cleaned properly and we saw house keeping sitting down in rooms chatting as we walked passed on numerous occasions. Not a good look. We asked for the mould in the shower to be removed on the second day and for the bathroom floor to be cleaned as it was clearly dirty. This was arranged with no hassle by reception and the house keeper immediately arrived to sort it out. The shower still wasn't properly cleaned after this so I gave up.

We ate in the restaurant on the first night we were there, I won't make that mistake again. The food in the buffet was terrible but it was open late so we ate it anyway. There are many great restaurants near by and I would recommend venturing out if you're out and about earlier than we were. They offer in room massages at a reasonable rate but there is also a great massage/beauty parlour across the road which was great.

Sort out that restaurant and housekeeping, and you've got yourself a fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank logannz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinai C, General Manager at Suriwongse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Khun logannz,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns.

We are glad you liked our hotel location, lovely room and great stay with us. I will make sure to forward your positive feedback to the concerned departments.

We would like to apologize for the experience you had did not live up to your expectations.
Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests.

Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done

With regards,

Vinai Chitaratsanee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.0 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#57 of 388 in Chiang Mai
1,332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 388 in Chiang Mai
1,875 reviews
0.3 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#56 of 388 in Chiang Mai
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#66 of 388 in Chiang Mai
1,660 reviews
0.3 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#37 of 388 in Chiang Mai
497 reviews
2.1 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suriwongse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suriwongse Hotel

Address: 110 Changklan Road | Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#26 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#36 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#45 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £35 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Suriwongse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai is perfectly located on the corner of Loikoh and Changklan Road, right at the heart of Chiang Mai’s landmark the “Night Bazaar”. The hotel is a short distance from Chiang Mai International Airport, the railway and bus stations.Conveniently located in the heart of the ancient city, The Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai is perfect for leisure and business travellers alike. The hotel is close to the city’s main business district and many of the major attractions are within walking distance. And when the evening comes, you are just a few steps away from the famous Night Bazaar, where you can enjoy a lively blend of shopping and entertainment. The hotel is only a ten-minute drive from Chiang Mai’s International Airport, and within easy reach of the city’s outskirts if you want to get away for a round of golf or to enjoy a day trip in the hills.A few steps from the famous Night Bazaar, the hotel is perfectly located for exploring Chiang Mai’s many cultural sights and attractions. The Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai caters to cultural adventure seekers embraced by the warmth of local treat combined with quality service. Its contemporary interior blends in perfect harmony with the traditional Thai Lanna style architecture, creating a warm ambience. In a buzzing and vibrant atmosphere, we present exciting dining options with inter-active show kitchens.The traditional influences of the north’s ancient Lanna Kingdom are incorporated into the decor of each of our rooms and suites. Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai’s rooms and suites, enjoy either restful views of the city center or look out over the majestic misty mountain of Doi Suthep. While inside, a range of modern amenities create a haven of comfort where weary travellers can rest and recharge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Suriwongse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai
Suriwongse Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing