We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice guest house with friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Suan Doi House Hotel & Resort
Ranked #187 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Adelaide
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Very nice guest house with friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

Stayed here for a couple of nights. Rooms were basic but nice wih good ac. Had wifi availible in the common areas. Not too far from town (although not many tuk tuk drivers know of it, need the card from reception). Gardens and birds best thing about the place makes it really pleasant. Definatley recommend

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dahenchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    11
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
3
9
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2011

I have stayed at many places in Chiang Mai at a variety of different budgets over the last ten years and Suan Doi House is the best. For a real quite oasis on the outskirts of the city it's a beautiful place to stay. Just 20 baht to get into town in a shared red taxi from the end of the street adds to the experience. Didn't have the western breakfast as the Thai one was really good and if you sit in the raised middle veranda you are surrounded by talking birds saying hello and whistling!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellingtoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2011

Having used the Vietnamese restaurant attached to this hotel (Le Gong Kum) on many occasions, it was a natural step to stay there, when we could not get booked at our usual venue.
As many of the previous contributors have said, this is a little piece of tranquility in a busy city. Located about a 20 minute Baht Bus ride (20 Baht Fare) it is close enough to the night market and other night life, not to be a problem.
Hotel it’s self is situated in a large tropical garden, offering a pleasant shade from the heat of Thailand, the talking birds and croaking frogs, provide entertainment whilst eating or just passing through the garden.
The staff are very pleasant, helpful and anxious to please and English is spoken enough to get by. We had an executive suite, which had a four poster bed, wardrobe and 2 desks plus other furniture with drawers. It also had a large fridge which contained various drinks, but had enough space to add your own items if you wish too. The air-conditioning also helps keep your room cool and comfortable.
There have been several comments about the hardness of the beds, they are quite hard, but after a few days we soon got used to it. Others have also commented on the breakfast, it is true it is limited, but at under £3, it starts your day with eggs, sausage (frankfurter) toast, jam and tea, with the further options of Continental or Thai.
The rooms are very clean and there is a regular change of bed linen and towels, this is not a 5 star hotel, nor is it a 5 star price, it is aimed at the Thai market, so if you are looking for something more Thai, than a sanitized 5 star multi-location large hotel chain, then this is for you
We would not hesitate to book this hotel again, trying the Le Gong Kum Vietnamese Restaurant is a must, as the food is excellent, they do not sell wine, but you can take your own, or drink beer or water or other drinks, which are on the menu.
If you are going to Chiang Mai give this hotel a try, it is a little bit of heaven in a noisy bustling world, we would give this hotel 10 out of ten for all round value for money .

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evinacourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2010

When you arrive at Suan Doi, you are struck by the amazing gardens which is a tropical oasis in an urban jungle. The rooms are clean but slightly oddly decorated and this is a theme that is followed throughout the hotel. The main issue is the location, we were aware it was out of the city but this proved to be problematic for us as we spent a lot of time traveling into the city. A problem but not insurmountable.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomfoster007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2009

We have just loved this place. Set in dense foliage of tropical plants and trees, it has a unique ambience, with bilingual talking birds, water ponds, and colourful plants everywhere. It is full of shady little seating alcoves tucked away in the grounds and around the rooms to provide solitude or just a place to sit with a cold coffee and chat. The rooms are simple but clean with towels and sheets changed daily. The food is superb and the staff professional and respectful. There are plenty of other erestaurants around, laundromats and a large internet cafe nearby. The walk into the central moated area only takes about 15 mins. I dont know why you would stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ngira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2009

Lovely decorated garden with lots of tropical plants, talking birds, roaming cats, an art gallery, a lovely loft library and a superb Vietnamese restaurant.

We stayed on the second floor at a cheaper room and moved to a more expensive suite downstairs. Both rooms are kept very clean, although some of the furnitures are aging. The cheaper room upstairs didn't have a fridge but the suite did. Only soap but no shampoo or hair-dryer provided in both, though you may borrow a hairdryer from the reception.

The walls are bit thin so if you're unlucky to be staying with loud (and lousy) travellers next door who like to revel until the break of dawn, then you're in for a rude awakening (pun intended). But usually I think a peaceful location like Suan Doi attracts mostly mature adults that are considerate of other guests.

The location is a bit far from the center of things but closer to Doi Suthep, which is a must see in Chiang Mai. However, travelling by songtaew (Thai pick-up truck taxi) is arguably a necessity so the location is not really an issue for us as we could get to major sights in the city under 15 minute for 20-25 baht each.

From previous reviews, I can see that Suan Doi is not very tech savy and can be unresponsive to emails, but that's probably because they cater mainly to Thai clientele, among whom fax or phone call is still the main method used to make reservation (which was what my Thai girlfriend did).

All in all, we were charmed by the Suan Doi House, but recommends the following improvements (given it is not the cheapest in town):
- add more toiletries (shampoo, shower cap, tooth brush, hairdryer)
- add new TV (or get rid of it, who needs to watch TV!)
- less noisy AC
- stricter enforcement of no noise rule by management at night
- accept credit card payment at no extra charge (right now CC is accepted at additional 5% surcharge)

  • Liked — Cleanliness, garden ambience
  • Disliked — thin wall
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Machaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2007

We stayed in this guesthouse as part of our tour of Thailand. I would agree with almost all of the reviews that have been written before mine. The little gardens with cats, and birds (some of them speak English too!), fish and frogs was beautiful, as was the library, you can't help but fall in love with it. The beds were a little hard alright, but not hard enough to affect my comfort.

The breakfast was the only bad point. The asian breakfasts were probably fine (our thai tour guide seemed to enjoy his spicy beef and rice breakfast) however the american and continental breakfasts are to be avoided. There were cornflakes on sale at reception so that could be another option.

  • Liked — decoration, garden, animals and plants
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nóinín
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.5 mi away
Baan Din Ki
Baan Din Ki
#180 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Shilton Resort
Royal Shilton Resort
#178 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Dome Residence
The Dome Residence
#129 of 375 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Jira Luxury Boutique Residence
Jira Luxury Boutique Residence
#111 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
1.5 mi away
B2 Ayatana Premier Hotel & Resort
0.5 mi away
Vulcano Hotel Chiang Mai
Vulcano Hotel Chiang Mai
#234 of 375 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suan Doi House Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suan Doi House Hotel & Resort

Property: Suan Doi House Hotel & Resort
Address: 38 / 3 Soi Charntrasup, Huay Kaew Road | Amphur Muang, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Suan Doi House Hotel & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Suan Doi House Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suan Doi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing