We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pornping Tower Hotel
Ranked #267 of 388 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed 11 April 2013

It's an old hotel but kept in good nic. The staff is very friendly and always full of smiles. The Hotel has a tourist information kiosk where you can book tours to just about anywhere. They have a lovely pool with Shorty (Narong) who tends to all food and drink needs for you while you relax in the pool. The best part is that the night bazaar (or market) is right at the back of the hotel with a great night life, bars, shops, massage shops and many more. All and all a good hotel witch i'll recommend for a relaxing stay with all the services needed.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Blikkies B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siwach n, Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Dear Blikkies B

Thank you for your stay at our hotel and taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor!
It is great to read that you were happy with our pool bar service. Your admire was conveyed to shorty man "Mr. Narong". The friendly and smiling of staff is one of our policy. By this valued ocmments we will never stop for stafff trianing to give friendly and smiling to guests.

Looking forward to welcome you again for your next vist
Warm Regards
Siwach Nitiwaraporn, Executive Assistant Manager
Porn Ping Tower Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (422)
There are newer reviews for Pornping Tower Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

229 - 235 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2013

Very well located near the market.The hotel is older and a bit worn .The rooms were very nice with good views and always clean.Good value hotel in Chiangmai.Nice pool on the 4th floor ,could use some bar service.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siwach n, Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Dear Roger P

Thank you for your stay at our hotel and taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor!
It is great to read that you were happy with our hotel location, pool, comfortable and clean of room. Event hotel looks a bit tired but "Old but clean" is our policy. Your valued comments have been brought to our management and staff members. This is encourage them.
Looking forward to welcome you again for your next vist
Warm Regards
Siwach Nitiwaraporn, Executive Assistant Manager
Porn Ping Tower Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

The hotel did looked worn out... but in general the facilities and room was good..
Had a twin room... with two sofas... the bathroom is ok.. only the shower curtain need further cleaning..Oh yeah... there was a huge window facing the night market..but is was stained (many spots) with pigeon drops... its not taht disgusting but kinda tainted the city view with mountain as the bakcrgound.Another friend informed that the lamp in their room didn't really worked....but they didn;t follow up with the reception. of which they should.
The lift is a bit slow....and the bfast is fair... there were variety..from english to thai...though its always packed...I noticed they had big groups...and can cater to halal needs for b&b (group)
The location is good as its next to the new market... if turn left at the entrance u will easily have the morning and night markets. On firday night the road behind the mosque had halal stalls.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nannur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siwach n, Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Dear Nannur,

Thank you for your stay at our hotel and taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor!
It is great to learn your positive and negative experience in our hotel. We are glad to read that you were happy with our variety of breakfast and hotel location which next to night market and halal food street. We are sorry to read that you have not enjoyed your stay at our hotel and would like to apologize for the shortcomings. We have been inspecting for a improving plan to reach our guest satisfaction. Your valued comments also have been conveyed to our management for improving plan.
Looking forward to welcome you again for your next vist

Warm Regards
Siwach Nitiwaraporn, Executive Assistant Manager
Porn Ping Tower Hoel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

I have stayed here 2 nights and location was the best in Chiang Mai - exactly in center of night market, where is very nice atmosphere + down there is open food place where you can put together lot of meal choices.

But hotel
- just 3*, because it`s looks old and need a bit renovation (seems like they start it a bit)
- don`t remember breakfast, then seems nothing special

+ location
+ free wi-fi in room:)

Room Tip: upper floor and rooms to market
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindawelsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siwach n, Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2013

Dear Lindawelsa,

Thank you for your stay at our hotel and taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor!
It is great to read that you were happy with our hotel location. We are sorry to read that you have not enjoyed your stay at our hotel and would like to apologize for the shortcomings. We have been under hotel inspection for a project of renovation plan to reach our guest satisfaction. Your valued comments have been brought to our management for their plan too.
Looking forward to welcome you again for your next vist
Warm Regards
Siwach Nitiwaraporn, Executive Assistant Manager
Porn Ping Tower Hoel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013 via mobile

This place is a dump, the rooms are of a poor standard and, they were not clean. The shower curtain had mould on it and smelt. There was a rat in the public toilet in reception

The breakfast was poor and very basic

On the positive side high rooms give you a good view over Chiang Mia and the location is fantastic, only minutes from the night market

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tonlol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siwach n, Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2013

Dear Tonlol,

Thank you for your stay at our hotel and taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor!
It was pleasured to read that you were happy with our location which next to Night bazaar and everywhere in City. We are sorry to read that you have not enjoyed your stay at our hotel and would like to apologize for the shortcomings. Pest Control company was called immediately for an invited animals. Our housekeeper was assigned to deeply inspect in each room and provide training class for her members.
Looking forward to welcome you again in your next visit

Warm Regards
Siwach Nitiwaraporn, Executive Assistant Manager
Porn Ping Tower Hoel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

I arrived here on a Sunday morning at 10.00 a.m as told by the front receptionist whom I had made a verbal booking yesterday as I need to find another hotel with some popular hotels fully booked by local Thai tourists. I could have stayed in another place or even a guesthouse but I have decided to choose Porn Ping for its extremely close locality to Masjid Ban Haw and the Muslim area in Charonpratet Soi 1. Check in was quick, the staff were polite and friendly and the bell boy attrnded to my bags. I was placed on the 8th floor which I can describe as the mountain view superior room with twin beds. The room is comfortable with very subdued lighting so it is not too glaring and I am not here to do any work or writing so it works fine for me. The wifi was very erratic so I went down to the lobby where it worked superbly. My superior room has a very soft but not too soft bedding in the sence that you do get a rest without any back aches later. Although room 804 faces the Night Bazaar area with a lot of activities going on from 6 pm until late in the early morning, the windows were thick enough and I was not bothered by any sounds from above. beyond or below me mindful of all the previous comments with regards to the music from both the Bubbles disco or the Showtime pub, located in this hotel. My Superior 8th floor room was quiet and yes, the furnitures are dated and the Tv channels are in need of a major change but the overall feeling for me that locality to the Muslim area is the BIG plus. The next morning, I saw the staff handing out mineral water and some light snacks for the guests checkin out at 6.00 a.m like me and I also saw the very impressive breakfast buffet which also consusts of vegetarian fares that Muslims can eat. My favourite dish like pancakes with maple syrup with butter plus fresh pineapple juice were also available but I have to skip brekkie this time due to my early flight but from what I have seen being prepared, it is very nice and worth staying in this hotel for. My transport by van to the airport was with one of the longest serving employee of this hotel who is Khun Nawin, a wonderful chap and is a gentleman who speaks well for the politeness of the Porn Ping's Tower I staff. I can say that I am pleased with my brief stay here and yes, I will be back again. My thanks to Khun Siwach, the wonderful gentleman who is also the Executive Assistant Manager whom I had spoken directly about the imminent changes this hotel will undergo eventually. I have decided to check out this hotel again as changes will come but we have to be patient. Recommended with an open mind.

Room Tip: Always stay in a room facing Doi Suthep or the mountain view with the 8th floor and above being very...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norhisham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siwach n, Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Dear Norhisham,
Thank you for your stay with us recently and taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor!
We thank you for the valued comments and glad to read your satisfactory in the hotel location nearby halal street and the Muslim area in Charonpratet Soi 1. Your admire will be conveyed to staff concerns. For the negative side it has been brough up into the meeting and led to improving plan soon. Looking forward to welcome you again in your next visit in chiangmai

Warm Regards
Siwach Nitiwaraporn, Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We booked a night in this hotel and to be fair it was just about ok for the money, but when we checked out as we were off to PAI for two nights we asked if we could rebook the two rooms for our return and spend another night and leave our bags there. They checked and said that we couldnt have the same rooms but yes we could have opposite rooms on the same floor and leave our bags which we did. On our return from the tiring journey we were told sorry we left a message at your room to say they couldnt let us have the rooms but that was a complete lie as we only booked up as we checked out - so we were left without any accommodation on our return - do yourself a favour and book elsewhere - there are some great hotels in Chiang Mai unfortunately this isnt one of them. Enjoy your trip

Room Tip: to book a good room go elsewhere
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Delten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siwach n, Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Dear Delton,
Thank you for your stay at our hotel and taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor!
We are sorry to read that you have not enjoyed your stay at our hotel and would like to apologize for the shortcomings. Your valued comments have been brought to our human resource manager for staff training communication course.
Looking forward to welcome you again

Warm Regards
Siwach Nitiwaraporn, Executive Assistant Manager
Porn Ping Tower Hoel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
C H Hotel
C H Hotel
#186 of 388 in Chiang Mai
291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Lanna Hotel
Royal Lanna Hotel
#249 of 388 in Chiang Mai
250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tawan Court
Tawan Court
#102 of 388 in Chiang Mai
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Star Hotel Chiang Mai
Star Hotel Chiang Mai
#127 of 388 in Chiang Mai
330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Night Bazaar Place
Night Bazaar Place
#152 of 388 in Chiang Mai
136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
#74 of 388 in Chiang Mai
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pornping Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pornping Tower Hotel

Address: 46-48 Charoen Prathet Rd., Chang Klan, Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #267 of 388 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £16 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pornping Tower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 318
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pornping Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pornping Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing