We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but a little tired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pornping Tower Hotel
Ranked #268 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
uk
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good location but a little tired”
Reviewed 28 May 2010

A big old hotel that has seen better days but in a perfect location to explore chiang mai. The car park exits straight into the night bazaar and our room had a great view of the ping river. Decent pool area which was well kept and mainly empty. The tourist desk in the hotel did a reasonably priced and good service (driver and air-con car) deal for us to get to doi suthep and the elephant camps nearby. Only negative was a bit of a mess up with our booking which resulted in a £16 phone call back to london on our mobile only to find out the hotels head office were actually at fault. Overall for the price and location a decent deal but would probably spend a bit more and stay at the meridien next time.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ntraveller82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siwach n, Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear NtravellerUK,

Thank you for your stay at our hotel and taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor!
It was pleasured to read that you were happy with the location which next to Nigt Bazaar, pool and friendly staff.Clean hotel and well-trained staff are our policy to meet guest satisfaction.
We are glad to announce that some changes with hardware and hotel facilities have been improved and ready to serve our valued customer and also Free Wi Fi available throughout hotel.
Looking forward to welcome you again in your next visit

Warm Regards

Siwach Nitiwaraporn - Executive Assistant Manager
Porn Ping Tower Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    124
    125
    51
    58
See reviews for
59
115
88
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chonburi
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2010

Our room had freezing air-con, we all had colds after 2 nights. The "engineer" told us that the temp was stuck at 20 defrees, it was broken. Then walked out. No option of a different room so we left.
Breakfast was abf but only the eggs were hot.
And when is a sausage a hot dog ?

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fulhamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siwach n, Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear Fulhamster
Thank you for your taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor!
I am sorry to read that you were unhappy at all. Your valued comments have been conveyed to all department concerns. Front and Reservation department took their training class to handle and resvation control and how to solve the problem. Our Executive Housekeeper went to her department,deeply spot check and make sure every room ready to guest to stay.
We are now moving forward to improve all hardware and software to meet guest satisfaction.
Looking forward to welcome you again in your next visit

Warm Regards

Siwach Nitiwaraporn - Executive Assistant Manager
Porn Ping Tower Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Los Angeles
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2009

Having seen their banner for 900 Bhats/night, I actually switched hotel from Pornping to Imm Hotel after staying at Pornping for the first two nights and spent three nights at Imm Hotel. Pornping was 1500 Bhat/night a room on the high floor with view.

The first night at Imm was uneventful and I liked the convenience of free wifi at the hotel which Pornping charges for a fee. Also Imm hotel is much newer than Pornping.

However, I agree with the noise factor, the hollow interior courtyard echoes every bit of door slamming. The breakfast was getting a little plain by the 3rd morning. But since food is so inexpensive in Chiang Mai, I wouldn't have any problem eating elsewhere if I had a longer stay. Pornping had better breakfast. Luckily, while we were there, there wasn't much of a crowd issue.

The hotel seems clean but we also had the sewage smell from the bathroom which is unpleasant.

Location wise, it is within close walking distance to Sunday market which I liked, but Pornping is closer to the night market and the restaurants by the river, so depends on where you frequent more, each has its own advantage.

The staff at Imm Hotel was much more helpful than at Pornping, and speak more or better English. Pornping seems to cater to group tours.

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank etphonehm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siwach n, Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear etphonehm,
Thank you for your taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor!
I am sorry to read that you were unhappy at all. Your valued comments have been conveyed to all department concerns. Front and Reservation department took their training class to handle and resvation control and how to solve the problem. Our Executive Housekeeper went to her department,deeply spot check and make sure every room ready to guest to stay.
We are now moving forward to improve all hardware and software to meet guest satisfaction.
Looking forward to welcome you again in your next visit

Warm Regards

Siwach Nitiwaraporn - Executive Assistant Manager
Porn Ping Tower Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2009

Location cannot be beat! It is only a few steps from a thai massage/foot massage parlor and night market. The river ping is a few blocks away and lots of little restaurants and shops along the way. The river is the center where you go for shopping. We were there on the lantern festival and the loi kathrong and the atmosphere was awesome. Balloons lighted up the sky and there was fireworks for 3 nights. The rooms were basic and clean. There were a lot of choices in the breakfast buffet. With the price of $59/night, it was a great deal!

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank hapitripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siwach n, Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear Hapitripper,
Thank you for your stay at our hotel and taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor!
It was pleasured to read that you were happy with the location which next to Nigt Bazaar, pool and friendly staff.Clean hotel and well-trained staff are our policy to meet guest satisfaction.
We are glad to announce that some changes with hardware and hotel facilities have been improved and ready to serve our valued customer and also Free Wi Fi available throughout hotel.
Looking forward to welcome you again in your next visit

Warm Regards

Siwach Nitwaraporn - Executive Assistant Manager
Porn Ping Tower, Chiang Mai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
C H Hotel
C H Hotel
#180 of 381 in Chiang Mai
282 reviews
0.3 mi away
Star Hotel Chiang Mai
Star Hotel Chiang Mai
#120 of 381 in Chiang Mai
326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Lanna Hotel
Royal Lanna Hotel
#260 of 381 in Chiang Mai
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Night Bazaar Place
Night Bazaar Place
#165 of 381 in Chiang Mai
119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#108 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,892 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#64 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pornping Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pornping Tower Hotel

Property: Pornping Tower Hotel
Address: 46-48 Charoen Prathet Rd., Chang Klan, Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #268 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pornping Tower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 318
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pornping Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pornping Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing