We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Baan Kaew - HIGHLY RECOMMENDED to all!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baan Kaew Guesthouse
Ranked #150 of 809 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 November 2008

The Baan Kaew Guesthouse was simply lovely. Its location is fabulous (a five minute walk to the amazing Night Bazaar, directly across from a lovely wat), the staff are accommodating, caring and warm, and the atmosphere very gentle and relaxed.

We visited during the firecracker happy Loy Krathong festival, and this Guesthouse was the perfect place to get away from the madness. Set back from the main road, the BK is a wonderfully quiet, clean sanctuary amidst a lovely garden.

My husband, 8 yr old daughter and I stayed for 6 nights. Rooms are cleaned daily, bottled water provided each day, a bar fridge made our lives much easier. Beer and pop available on site is nice, as is the telephone, maps and information the staff provide. Also nice are the Thailand guidebooks available in the open foyer/lounge area on the ground floor.

We would return in a heartbeat and gladly recommend the Baan Kaew guesthouse to anyone - single, couples, families - with the exception of younger party peeps who want to stay up, drink and carouse. This ain't the place for that, (although quieter backpackers love it here!)

Allison

Stayed: November 2008
Thank AMenegoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2008

After visiting Bangkok for 5 days arriving here was wonderful. The guest house is located opposite a Wat next to the river. The location was peaceful and had a little garden where you could eat and relax.
We had a double bed room for 650baht per night. The room was clean with a fridge, air-con, hot shower, TV, lovely spacious balcony out front and a mini private one out back. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly and made our stay more personal. 5 min walk from night market and tuk tuks are always parked outside.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank milkbottletravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2008

Clean rooms with easy walk-to-everything location. With the exception of someone sweeping the property next door at 5:00am, the location was VERY quiet. Breakfast was good with delicious boiled rice dish for breakfast... Scrumptious. The beds were on the firmer side and very comfortable. Bathrooms were clean, but shower nozzle is on wall w/out enclosure, so entire bathroom gets wet. No biggie, just not ideal. Lots of fabulous Thai food in Chiang Mai, but most memorable meal was at Pum Pui, an Italian restaurant run by a Roman. Hotel's website was hard to find. It is http://www.baankaew-guesthouse.com

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hinkochi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2007

This was such a cute charming little place. It is not a fancy guest house but the rooms were clean, lots of hot water, maids cleaned everyday, the staff were amazingly friendly and helpful. We ate breakfast here every morning and did laundry and our total price was $60 Canadaian for 6 nights!!! It is right around the corner from the Night Bizzare but set back far enough that you did not hear a thing it was so quiet! Excellent price!

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snu70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2007

Baan Kaew is a small bit of paradise, quietly tucked away from the busy streets of Chiang Mai, yet close enough to walk to a variety of restaurants, internet cafes, and the night market. The staff are very friendly and kind, and the cafe and courtyard are perfect places to relax and unwind!

During our stay in 2004, we paid about $13 per night for a room with one double bed and a private bath with built-in shower. We enjoyed fresh fruit smoothies from the cafe any time of day, Singha from the fridge, and delicious, affordable breakfasts.

We took several day trips with the tour guide. He was very easygoing. One afternoon, while we relaxed in the shade, the tour guide entertained our 7-year-old son, kicking around a takraw (woven ball) in the courtyard with him.

Everything about our stay was wonderful, and we would gladly return to this private paradise again!

Stayed: December 2004
2  Thank ktd_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2007

We had an amazing stay at Baan Kaew. The rooms were clean (cleaned everyday) and also stocked with drinking water, which I have found to be a rarity. The staff was amazingly helpful in everyway. We had many great chats and they also were able to tell us everything we could possibly want to know about the area and beyond. To make thing even better, there is an excursion service right there at the reception (Sam is the greatest)! At a moments notice you could be wisked away on an adventure fit to your hearts content. The options of the trips you could take were almost unlimited and being able to practically book the day before ( or the morning of!!) was great....and again, you don't find very often. I have read many other reviews saying how quiet the place is. Yes, it's fairly quiet, it's no hostel....but for a group of people in their mid 20s we found it to be perfect and didn't necessarily think too quiet. It's within walking distance of all the fun stuff (just not right in the "middle" of all the noise), we got in very late, woke up early. It was perfect. I will DEFINITELY stay here again.....and again and again.....

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MaggieMae79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2006

Located a little off the main road, Baan Kaew is a quieter guesthouse than a lot in the city. It's a little way out, but everything is still very accessible. We stayed for 2 nights at a cost of B600 a night and felt the money was worth it.

The guesthouse is very well presented from the outside. The garden is very well kept and nice to sit in, and the building is nicely built and decorated with teak, etc with areas to sit on the balconies in front of the rooms.

The rooms are large, but a bit bare. Our room was very clean with a king size bed, which was very comfortable. There was also a desk and mirror, fridge, a/c, wardrobe (with a safe), washing basket to hand your laundry in, and a small balcony out the back with a clothes dryer, also meaning you could get a cross draft. The bathroom was very clean with a good shower, although the water was very slow draining so we had a wet bathroom floor for a lot of the day.

The service did seem a little reluctant but they were very nice once you got talking to them. Food is served in a small dining area, which is nice to sit in and there is a desk with tour information available. Very useful.

We were a little cold at night as there was only a sheet and one blanket available, but we may have got another if we'd got round to asking for one!

For:
- Quiet location in a fairly good location (easier if you hire a bike)
- Food service downstairs
- Good sized and clean rooms
- Friendly staff
- Good garden to sit in with seating and tables

Against
- Room was quite dark
- Service was reluctant at first but liked a good chat
- Accommodated disabled customers
- Restaurant isn't open after 4pm
- Hot water only seemed to be available for a few hours in the morning

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bluedharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.2 mi away
Baan Hanibah
Baan Hanibah
#25 of 809 in Chiang Mai
354 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#48 of 394 in Chiang Mai
947 reviews
2.3 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#26 of 394 in Chiang Mai
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
#1 of 394 in Chiang Mai
1,378 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#20 of 394 in Chiang Mai
3,156 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 394 in Chiang Mai
2,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Kaew Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Kaew Guesthouse

Address: Charoen Prathet, Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 809 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £16 - £18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Baan Kaew Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Kaew Guesthouse Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing