We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great budget hotel to explore beautiful chiang mai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baan Kaew Guesthouse
Ranked #121 of 733 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great budget hotel to explore beautiful chiang mai”
Reviewed 2 April 2009

We stayed in Baan Kaew Guesthouse for a 3 day trip to Chiang Mai. The hotel is very basic, and priced accordingly. The rooms are clean and very spacious, with air conditioning and running hot water (that works all the time!)
it is a very small hotel with a big courtyard and lots of open space for the guests to mingle and chill out over a beer or just read a book. They also have a small restaurant that serves a very basic, but very good breakfast, not sure if they do other meals as we ate out all the time.
Sam and his partner are very nice and friendly people and Sam also organizes great guided tours and treks at very reasonable prices.
Finally, the location is great, and the night market, lots of second hand book stores, great restaurants and pubs and massage places are a 15 minute walk or a short tuk-tuk ride away

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ifmanish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    34
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
39
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2008

My wife and I spent 4 days at Baan Kaew in Nov, 08. We highly recommend it. Great location- easy walk to day market, night market, old Chiang Mai & many temples. It is set back from the road and offers quiet, peaceful setting. Staff is so nice, and Sam offers great personal tours at very reasonable prices.

Rooms are clean and good sized. Highly recommend it!

  • Liked — location, service,
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeLakeTahoe_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, ON
Level Contributor
117 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2008

The Baan Kaew Guesthouse was simply lovely. Its location is fabulous (a five minute walk to the amazing Night Bazaar, directly across from a lovely wat), the staff are accommodating, caring and warm, and the atmosphere very gentle and relaxed.

We visited during the firecracker happy Loy Krathong festival, and this Guesthouse was the perfect place to get away from the madness. Set back from the main road, the BK is a wonderfully quiet, clean sanctuary amidst a lovely garden.

My husband, 8 yr old daughter and I stayed for 6 nights. Rooms are cleaned daily, bottled water provided each day, a bar fridge made our lives much easier. Beer and pop available on site is nice, as is the telephone, maps and information the staff provide. Also nice are the Thailand guidebooks available in the open foyer/lounge area on the ground floor.

We would return in a heartbeat and gladly recommend the Baan Kaew guesthouse to anyone - single, couples, families - with the exception of younger party peeps who want to stay up, drink and carouse. This ain't the place for that, (although quieter backpackers love it here!)

Allison

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
Thank AMenegoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2008

After visiting Bangkok for 5 days arriving here was wonderful. The guest house is located opposite a Wat next to the river. The location was peaceful and had a little garden where you could eat and relax.
We had a double bed room for 650baht per night. The room was clean with a fridge, air-con, hot shower, TV, lovely spacious balcony out front and a mini private one out back. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly and made our stay more personal. 5 min walk from night market and tuk tuks are always parked outside.

  • Liked — Lovely staff and laid back atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing bad to say about the place
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank milkbottletravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2008

Clean rooms with easy walk-to-everything location. With the exception of someone sweeping the property next door at 5:00am, the location was VERY quiet. Breakfast was good with delicious boiled rice dish for breakfast... Scrumptious. The beds were on the firmer side and very comfortable. Bathrooms were clean, but shower nozzle is on wall w/out enclosure, so entire bathroom gets wet. No biggie, just not ideal. Lots of fabulous Thai food in Chiang Mai, but most memorable meal was at Pum Pui, an Italian restaurant run by a Roman. Hotel's website was hard to find. It is http://www.baankaew-guesthouse.com

  • Liked — Breakfast, cleanliness, comfy bed, quiet
  • Disliked — wet bathroom, but would not keep me from booking again
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hinkochi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2007

This was such a cute charming little place. It is not a fancy guest house but the rooms were clean, lots of hot water, maids cleaned everyday, the staff were amazingly friendly and helpful. We ate breakfast here every morning and did laundry and our total price was $60 Canadaian for 6 nights!!! It is right around the corner from the Night Bizzare but set back far enough that you did not hear a thing it was so quiet! Excellent price!

  • Liked — great price and location!
  • Disliked — Nothing.. you got more then you paid for!
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snu70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2007

Baan Kaew is a small bit of paradise, quietly tucked away from the busy streets of Chiang Mai, yet close enough to walk to a variety of restaurants, internet cafes, and the night market. The staff are very friendly and kind, and the cafe and courtyard are perfect places to relax and unwind!

During our stay in 2004, we paid about $13 per night for a room with one double bed and a private bath with built-in shower. We enjoyed fresh fruit smoothies from the cafe any time of day, Singha from the fridge, and delicious, affordable breakfasts.

We took several day trips with the tour guide. He was very easygoing. One afternoon, while we relaxed in the shade, the tour guide entertained our 7-year-old son, kicking around a takraw (woven ball) in the courtyard with him.

Everything about our stay was wonderful, and we would gladly return to this private paradise again!

Stayed December 2004
Helpful?
2 Thank ktd_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.0 mi away
Na Nirand Romantic Boutique Resort
0.4 mi away
Galare Guest House
Galare Guest House
#63 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.2 mi away
People Place (1st Building)
People Place (1st Building)
#149 of 380 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Baankaew Guesthouse
Baankaew Guesthouse
#400 of 733 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amata Lanna
Amata Lanna
#13 of 733 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dutch Guesthouse
Dutch Guesthouse
#241 of 733 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Kaew Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Kaew Guesthouse

Property: Baan Kaew Guesthouse
Address: Charoen Prathet, Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 733 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Baan Kaew Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Baan Kaew Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Kaew Guesthouse Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing