We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Galare Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Galare Guest House
Ranked #61 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and were pleased with the place. It is close to the night bazaar and lots of shops. The food they serve in the restaurant was excellent and very good value. The rooms are a little dated but clean and comfortable. The downside is you need plenty of deet as there are a lot of mosquitos due to the closeness of the river. We booked a trip through the guest house, elephant trekking, and it was very good value for money and an amazing experience. The only negative thing that I can say is that on our last day we asked reception to book a flight for us, we were charged 150 english pounds for it and when I checked at the airport it had actually only cost 80 pounds, so I think that they charged way too much commission.
On the whole it is a good place to stay, you get what you pay for and the rates were very reasonable. i would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Petra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    119
    35
    10
    2
See reviews for
38
129
28
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

This place I thought was a lot nicer in person than the pictures online. The staff is VERY helpful and accommodating. The food they served was great and the location was on the river and 2 minutes walking to the night market which was really convenient. The rooms were really clean and spacious for the price, and I felt comfortable the entire stay. I will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Get a room upstairs if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 760love2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
95 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

This was a perfectly acceptable place to stay, but I guess I expected just slightly more after reading the positive reviews. The location is good although I probably would have preferred being closer to the center of things (about 15-20 minute walk). There is no riverfront walk (as I had hoped there would be). I slept well and found the staff very pleasant. One thing disappointing but more humorous than anything else: I was shocked at the truly tiny portion of granola that was served for breakfast. (I am American but NOT at all overweight, so it's not that I eat huge portions. I'm comparing it to other places.) Not a problem: I would just order two portions together, slightly overpriced but not when you consider the overall price of staying here. Overall, a decent choice.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biophiliac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

Perhaps I was expecting too much after all the really positive reviews but I was a little disappointed. This certainly isn't a bad place to stay but it just wasn't anything particularly special. The rooms were clean and serviced daily but both my wife and I found them a little noisy at night - there was a permeating base beat from some nearby club (fortunately not too nearby) and the traffic noise was noticeable (rather surprisingly since the guest house is at the end of a quiet lane but the sound from the busy road across the river seems to drift in)

The restaurant was mediocre at best - which is a pity as it has a river view and would be a nice place to sit and relax if the food were better. Fortunately the Galare is close to the Night Bazaar and there are plenty of eating options within 10 minutes walk.

The staff were very helpful in finding out information for us, booking a taxi for an early flight out and writing down addresses in Thai, so we could show the tuk-tuk driver. No complaints on this front.

Overall, this wasn't a bad place and I'd even consider returning - but I think I'd try somewhere else on my next trip.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Porpententious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

Upon arrival we were greeting by 3 lovely ladies who were helpful throughout our entire stay

Rooms clean and services daily with clean towels

Amazing food at an amazing value

Great location, right on the river and about 5 mins walk to the main strip

The only downside is the mosquitoes. They got in through a few holes in the nets covering the windows. But nothing some deet couldn't fix

Would highly reccomend to anyone wanting cheap and clean accomodatikb

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annika L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

I was eyeing this guest house first time I came to Chiang Mai in 2004. Unfortunately, it was fully booked in 2004 and all subsequent times I was in Chiang Mai. This time I was lucky - I managed to book 4 nights (January 2012). And it did exceed my expectations!

Room is spacious, with two windows (two sides), fridge, chair, table, tea pot, etc. Really amazing and dependable staff, as someone said already. Great breakfast (love the rice soup). Lovely restaurant setting, with a river on the side.

Look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank olgahk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

I felt at home here! Galare staff emphasize friendliness and hospitality. And the cleaning staff was top notch. Rooms are basic and quaint but the beds are very comfortable! (I paid $200 in Khao Lak for a similarly comfortable bed and $90 in Phuket for a dirty bathroom!) Galare is an excellent value and right on the river.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria_GoBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Vanilla Place Guest House
Vanilla Place Guest House
#43 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
2.1 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#22 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#20 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#55 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
#40 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jira Luxury Boutique Residence
Jira Luxury Boutique Residence
#106 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galare Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galare Guest House

Property: Galare Guest House
Address: 7 Chareonprathet Rd. Soi #2, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
#26 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#40 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Galare Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Galare Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galare Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai
Galare Hotel Chiang Mai
Galare Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing