We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very cozy. Traditional yet clean” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Galare Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Galare Guest House
Ranked #61 of 373 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very cozy. Traditional yet clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

This hotel feels like home. The staff was super helpful and friendly and all spoke very good English. The rooms have that homey feel to them and while the facility is older, it's very clean. The beds are a little stiff but that's the only negative I can think of (and I don't mind stiff beds anyway). The rooms have A/C. The hotel is within walking distance of the old city (where all the old temples are) and just around the corner from the night bazaar (the night market) so it has a great location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joaozao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    118
    35
    10
    2
See reviews for
38
128
28
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Galare Guest House has been a home away from home for my family for over 20 years.

Tucked away down a soi off busy Chareonprathet Road and the Night Market, Galare sits on the riverfront surrounded by trees. The building style is traditional Lanna as is the smiling courtesy of the staff. The open air sala restaurant overlooks the river, the food is good offering both Thai and western dishes. The rooms are comfortable and cool in the heat.

Galare is within walking distance of so many of Chiang Mai's attractions, the room rates very reasonable and the service excellent. We wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stourbridge
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

For the money this place was great. So near the night market. Did not charge extra for early check in. Was clean if a little tired. But value for money. Food was reasonable too Chasing Mai has a lot to offer so does this place x x

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jackie3105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We loved this place. My college-age daughter and I stayed here while in Chiang Mai. Walkable to the night market. Very nice people (including their help with a mixup with our travel plans that turned out to be all my fault) They booked us taxis and a trip to an Elephant Park for no charge (go to Baan Chang - very kind to the elephants. Please don't go to a place where they make them paint and play soccer). The cafe was very pleasant, although we only ate breakfast there - but it was delicious, and the cafe looks out onto the river. The place itself is very pretty - carved wood, verandas, a pretty courtyard with hammocks and lounge chairs. A nice touch - filtered water in the rooms and nearby on the veranda. We were sad to leave. If Chiang Mai was closer to KC, I'd go back just to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed here in Feb '14 for 6 days, firstly I would like to say that i found the location to be really good, it's just a short walk away from the night markets and all the hustle and bustle but is down a quiet street so that all of a sudden you have peace and tranquility which was lovely. Our room 515, I think, overlooked a pretty garden and the residence itself is attractive to look at being more traditional Thai. I also liked that the on site restaurant overlooked the Ping river and even though it wasn't that attractive a sight its always nice to be near water. The restaurant is very useful if you don't want to be bothered to go out, although there are numerous places to eat nearby, we used it several times for breakfast, which was ok, nicely cooked and around £3-4ish for an American type breakfast, fruit, eggs, bacon toast, tea/coffee. For the area I think this is a bit more expensive as Chaing Mai is a very reasonable place for eating and shopping. Our room was fine, and considering we only paid around £19 per night is good value for money, it was very comfortable if a little small and the layout was a wee bit strange :) If anything the room could have been a little cleaner, don't get me wrong i didn't for one moment feel it was dirty but it wasn't spotless. I don't mind if a room is shabby or has little amenities but I always feel there is no reason for a room to be dirty which is was, a little. Having said this, I would stay here again, it's a sweet guest house in a great location with everything you could require.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SmileyAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapunda, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We come here for the sixes cricket. Whilst I haven't stayed there (as they don't have a pool and we have a young child) our friends do every year. Each day we all meet after cricket. We socialise in the eating area. The staff are fantastic and so helpful. The food is authentic and I have never had a bad meal. It is close to the Night Bazaar and overlooks the Ping. Would recommend this place for staying or for a meal.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Ahead of checking in, l had emailed to confirm our booking and they replied promptly which l always think is a good sign. Check in was efficient and the room basic but clean and had everything you needed. The breakfast was good and they boiled my eggs to perfection!
Great location on the river and close to the markets. The hotel helped us arrange to hire a bike for the day and our trip to Laos. When we realised we had left something in the hotel booked as part of our trip to Laos, l emailed Galare and asked them if they could call them and ask. To their credit, this was done and communicated to us in the same day.
A great little place to stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank thumpergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Vanilla Place Guest House
Vanilla Place Guest House
#43 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
2.1 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#22 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#20 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#54 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
#40 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tawan Court
Tawan Court
#95 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galare Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galare Guest House

Property: Galare Guest House
Address: 7 Chareonprathet Rd. Soi #2, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
#26 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#40 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Galare Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Galare Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galare Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai
Galare Hotel Chiang Mai
Galare Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing