We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and cheap!”
Review of Gap's House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gap's House
Ranked #382 of 736 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful and cheap!”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Gap's house for 2 nights, but I wish we had been able to stay longer! We found it just while walking around and popped our head in around 9am and asked for a room. For 600 baht a night we had an A/C room with a private bath and a mosquito-netted double bed. No TV.

Pros:
- Beautiful decor! I fell in love with the romantic nature of the furniture - it was all wood and very sturdy.
- CLEAN. Bathrooms and rooms were spotless! Everything was very comfortable
- Free breakfast! Pretty basic, but free! And it was a nice way to start our mornings, sitting in their lovely seating area.
- Quiet. Our room was directly next to the breakfast area but we never had an issue. (we are also early risers...)
- Free internet! Two computers for the guests.
- A/C worked well.
- Hairdryer included!
- Location. Close to the markets all over town. We walked everywhere and never took a tuk-tuk once.

Cons:
- LOTS OF MOSQUITOES. I had mosquito repellent on at all times. Totally worth it though. Seriously. I had the wipes and that was pretty easy to apply. There's a mosquito net over the bed and it worked beautifully at night.

We never had much interaction with the owners, other than on the first day. There were a few weird interactions.. one where an old man stopped us at 7am in the morning while we were leaving and asked us forcefully where we were going (uh, laundry? sorry??) But other than that, they were perfectly friendly to us.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Qin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    62
    45
    23
    16
See reviews for
6
85
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Must be one of the most overrated places in Thailand. Owners and staff very rude and not friendly at all.Location is good next to sunday market and setting nice.....lots of mossies though. Breakfast very boring just eggs.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

I loved staying at this guest house. It is in a perfect location, right in the middle of the old city. If you stay there on a Sunday night, you are blocks away from the weekend market. Pubs and restaurants are very close. The facilities are clean and it is generally pretty quiet at night. Hat's off to the owners. They were very helpful with booking our trek.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingwilbury1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2013 via mobile

It is a wonderful place to stay, especially after a quite chaotic stay in Bangkok. There is no need to worry about price negotiations; the prices are fixed because of the high demand for the rooms. It is not possible to make reservations.

There are two problems with this place: first the musquitos. They are everywhere, including your room. The windows have protections, but there are enough holes for them to come into the chalets.

The second and the biggest problem is the service: the owners are seriously rude. We could take the musquitos, but not the attitude so we left to another guest house. It's perfect if you're looking for rest for a couple of days, but then it's time to move on.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aa108y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Portugal, Portugal
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

we went there the other evening for the vegetarian buffet, somebody recommended to us. it starts a 7pm exact. i think, latecomers will eat the cold leftovers....the buffet consists of 5 or 6 dishes ( lukewarm) served in big earthenwear pots plus some fruit. the place is on the first floor of a larger covered "hut". they put you a bottle of water on yr table and that's it. i dont even know if you could order a tea or a beer. there was only one girl in charge for all the people. she was clearly stressed, no wonder, but very friendly, which you could not say of the lady owner of the place who was around at some time and extremely unfriendly.

the place is very dark, the food mediocre and the whole setup canteen/military style. no place to spend a nice evening.

cannot recommend it and would not go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evinaSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

My sister and I went to ChiangMai in September 2012 and we stayed in Gap house for 3 days.

Overall, we liked this house very much. First of all, as many said, its beautiful garden and the wood houses half hidden in the trees; Secondly, its great location, very convenient and safe, My sister liked the Lily massage nearby. Though some said Lily Massage was not as what she advertised herself, but we still found it with good service. Thirdly, GaP Guesthouse is with a good price performance.

If being asked what are not that satisfying in Gap, i would say maybe its breakfast is a bit too shabby, it will be good if with more choices.

But overall, i liked this house very much and would recommend it to other friends to Chiangmail

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor above the receptionist desk. If next time there, i would choose the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M_G_201005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013 via mobile

Gaps House looks nice enough when you first walk in, but that's about the extent of it. The rooms are nothing special, the breakfast is average, but the really bad part is the unfriendly staff - mainly the guy who works behind the desk. So rude. Also there's a terrible bug problem at this guesthouse. You have to sit outside in the yard if you want Internet but get eaten alive in the process. I don't know what the issue there is with bugs but it was only in their garden and not elsewhere in Chiang Mai. This issue actually hugely affected our stay and made it unpleasant.
I would definitely look for other accommodation.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lilynoelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
#149 of 381 in Chiang Mai
109 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#16 of 736 in Chiang Mai
471 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pha-Thai House
Pha-Thai House
#50 of 736 in Chiang Mai
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The 3 Sis
The 3 Sis
#15 of 736 in Chiang Mai
852 reviews
0.7 mi away
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
#3 of 826 in Chiang Mai
642 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gap's House 2
Gap's House 2
#532 of 736 in Chiang Mai
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gap's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gap's House

Property: Gap's House
Address: 3 Rajadamnern Soi 4 T. Sriphum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #382 of 736 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gap's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gap`s House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing