We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place ”
Review of Gap's House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gap's House
Ranked #382 of 746 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful place ”
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

The guest house is all covered by plants and vegetation. The chambers are in wood, it s really esthetic and comfy.
We paid 600 bath by room for 1 night, including the breakfast, AC and wifi.

The personnel is not really welcoming but if you insist you can get the info you need and some advices.
As we were just sleeping there and not staying during the day, it was really nice for us, we had all we needed.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Malek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    63
    46
    23
    16
See reviews for
7
87
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 5 nights in a row. When we arrived everything seemed wonderful. Our room (number 3 for 650 baht incl breakfast) was spacious with a big comfy bed with a mosquito net. You will need this, 'cause there are so many mosquitos here! The bathroom was small but ok, (wasn't the cleanest we've seen) and the rest of place is green and cute, lots of wood and plants. The staff on the other hand was horrible. No smiles, lots of sighs. (Except for the older man). The woman who we thought must've owned the place, would sigh with every question you asked while busy with her Facebook page. Breakfast is ok, but not a lot of variety: tea or coffee, pine apple, toast and eggs: boiled, scrambled, fried or omelet.
Overall, if you ignore the staff and use loads of mosquito repellent, we would definitely recommend this place.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marianne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luanda
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I stayed at Gap's for a few days, mainly because I was too lazy to change. However, the guest house is not living up to expectations. The location is good, central and with a nice garden. The room I was in was very close to the entrance, the door and windows are definitely not sound proof and the personnel in the morning was starting talking before 7 am. I slept with hear plugs every night, otherwise it was just not possible to sleep. Security is clearly an issue, with simply a padlock on the room door, but also with the keys which HAVE to be left at the reception in full view of anyone who walks in. I have taken my key without being seen several times. They of course use this as an excuse to have you to pay 100 baht for the safes! The breakfast is scarce and repetitive, it would help if at least they changed the fruit some time! Don't even think about the vegetarian buffet - this place must have been different in the past, but now it really offers something like 5 options of vegetarian food (acceptable quality but nothing to scream for) and nothing more. Once again pineapple for dessert, they actually might grow it themselves considering it's the only fruit available also for breakfast...
I also went to the cooking class, I cannot judge compared to the others, but everything was done very quickly and therefore with not much expectations for future attempts. We were back already by 14:30 instead of 16 hrs.
Not to forget the personnel - other than one girl, the rest of the crowd was always unpleasant and not very eager to help.
All in all, definitely not worth it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisa U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 wks. Friendly staff, other views mention rude management, I found they weren't rude however weren't friendly either but don't let that put you off staying here, you don't see them often. The rooms are nice and refreshed daily. Nice garden setting and it's in a great location in the old city, easily walked to anywhere. Brekky is ok but basic and they try to accommodate it to your liking. The Mosquitos are fierce at times, cover up!! Reasonable value for money.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay, looked like it was in the middle of a rainforest. Clean rooms and little dogs everywhere which was lovely! Great location and friendly staff. Really enjoyed the stay and would recommend it. We stayed two nights but it was easy to get to and was in a fairly central location. Not too many thai places to eat nearby but a lot of western food if that's what you like.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ailbhe m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I stayed only 1 night at Gaps this time and can say that they are in the center of where it all happens in Chiang Mai. The guesthouse can arrange trekkings and has a lovely garden setting, which comes with a lof of mosquitos. Its almost impossible to sit outside of your room.

The rooms are basic, though a bit run down. But they are cheap, so you get what you pay for.

What I dont understand is the attitude of the lady at the reception (owner?). She must have forgotten that Thailand is the land of smiles. She was rude, very irritated and did not make me feel welcome at all. Shame!

I will recommend my family and friends to spend their money in other places where they will be treated as guests and not as annoyances!

Room Tip: Go to places you feel welcome in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kireb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linkoping, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

The location is amazing. It is like a garden with little huts. The rooms and the bathroom were clean. Just a few minutes walk from pretty much everything. Good price, breakfast included. I have to agree though with the comments about SOME staff members not being precisely friendly (apparently the owners). The rest just seem to be shy.
Dogs are all friedly, gotta give them that.

Room Tip: Most of the times you just have to take what's available. We stayed near the restaurant and cann...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samedu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
#153 of 383 in Chiang Mai
109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Diva Guesthouse
Diva Guesthouse
#26 of 746 in Chiang Mai
370 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#16 of 746 in Chiang Mai
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
#3 of 839 in Chiang Mai
645 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pha-Thai House
Pha-Thai House
#56 of 746 in Chiang Mai
269 reviews
0.2 mi away
The 3 Sis
The 3 Sis
#13 of 746 in Chiang Mai
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gap's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gap's House

Property: Gap's House
Address: 3 Rajadamnern Soi 4 T. Sriphum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #382 of 746 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gap's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gap`s House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing