We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room was booked then we arrived late at night there was no room available.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Top North Guest House
Ranked #318 of 382 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Room was booked then we arrived late at night there was no room available.”
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Well they showed us an alternative room and my god it was not suitable for a dog, holes in sheets no handle on taps old and dated, it stunk like mould. The service was absolutely appalling, didn't even care that our room wasn't avail so we had to walk around and find alternative accommodation for 2 adults and 2 children, we were not happy :(

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MickTrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    33
    63
    23
    52
See reviews for
18
53
37
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2011

stayed in Top Norh Guesthouse many times between 1995 and 2010. I pay the same rate now as I did first time, 500Baht. for a/c room. Yes there are cheaper fan rooms but why bother. Top North is a guesthouse, nothing more nothing less. Great location smack in the middle of everything. Great pool, not big but enjoyable for a lazy afternoon. Great restaurant, not 5Star but what you would expect. Rooms are a bit stark but sufficient: television etc. Good massage/therapy.
I see a lot of couples and families staying here over the years and they always have good experiences. If you book an overnight trek there they will not charge you for room!! How's that for service?
Look, I am sure there are better places to stay in Chiangmai but this place is good enough for any type of traveller

Room Tip: Best room: straight across pool from reception:
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dots35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangkok
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2011

good location. . but very very bad service.. .. . looks like they just hate the guests.
the price go up and down up to the mood of the joke maneger .
so sorry to say but just look for another hotel around ( have many )

jo bkk

Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank jobkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

san francisco
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

first of all,i want to specify that i stayed at the guest house and not at the hotel,reading the previous reviews,it's hard to know which place people are talking about ....
the G H is cheap so don't expect too much ,it's a bit run down but if you're like me,travelling on a budget and you're not too fussy,then this could be a good option for you , certainly worked out great for me !
for 500 baths,i was given a large room upstairs in the new wing.it had a double bed,a big fridge, cable television , AC and plenty of hot water in the bathroom ( no bugs anywhere ! ) . the room was clean but the furniture was old and the curtains had seen better days,probably had not been washed in years .i was also shown a basic fan room for 300 baths but it was even more shabby and grey and i would have been depressed staying in such a room ,no matter how cheap it was ....
i stayed over a week but the cleaning lady only came once to clean the room,though she would change the towels for you if you asked her.
the pool area was lovely with plenty of lounge chairs to sit on ,it really made my stay !
the location was great too , close to everything ,a bit noisy sometime at night as there are a few bars close by.
one last thing i want to mention,there seemed to be a number of older men who had taken residency there , some with their prostitutes girlfriends .i did my best to avoid them but they always seemed to hang around the restaurant. that was the only thing that bugged me a bit but otherwise,i look forward to going back and stay at the top north again. !

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mexicanbutterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2011

was more than ok the top north. about 10 minute wlk to the main bars. another 5 minutes your at night bizzare street.if u like shopping then great place to go.nice big rooms in superior. good value compared with most chaing mai hotels .

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donkey306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2011

I stayed here for one night only, and im glad thats all it was. the younger staff were very rude and blunt, didnt speak hardly any english, the two older ladies were nice though and spoke good english. facilities were good, restuarant, pool, shop etc. my room didnt have a/c, they didnt seem to want me to have one, the bathroom was horrid, LOADS of red ants, which BITE!! also black ants. the basin was hanging off the wall, mould on the shelf. the location is ok, but can get noisy as you get loud people coming in a 5am in the morning, so dont expect a full nights sleep. prehaps there were better rooms that mine, but i didnt enjoy my stay and I wouldnt stay there again. id rather pay extra to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raweggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2010

My wife & I had no problems with this GH.
We feldt only positive response from the pple who worked there.Clean rooms & nice food for a reasonable price.
We planning to live at Top North again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AricBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Lai-Thai Guest House
Lai-Thai Guest House
#296 of 382 in Chiang Mai
359 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Royal Guest House
The Royal Guest House
#253 of 382 in Chiang Mai
197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
#150 of 382 in Chiang Mai
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mali's Room
Mali's Room
#136 of 382 in Chiang Mai
101 reviews
1.9 mi away
B2 Khamtieng
B2 Khamtieng
#271 of 382 in Chiang Mai
14 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wiriya House
Wiriya House
#148 of 382 in Chiang Mai
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Top North Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top North Guest House

Property: Top North Guest House
Address: 15 Soi 2 Moonmuang Rd., Pra Sing, Muang, Chiang Mai 50200 | The Old City, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #318 of 382 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Top North Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top North Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai
Top North Hotel
Top North Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing