We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not cheap, with many compromises”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Top North Guest House
Ranked #317 of 392 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed in a clean family suite (2 bedrooms + living room), but this part of the hotel is very close to a boxing stadium - so it is very noisy up to midnight. But from a strategic point of view the hotel is located at a good place. The room was with 3600 THB per night not really cheap. The breakfast was terrible, so we didn't take it any more after the second day. The pool area is not nice and as well a bit dirty.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 56 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

Top North Guest House has the same owner as the Top North Hotel.
Located centrally in a cozy little street. Has a small swimming pool and a restaurant.
Can be a little noisy, especially in the morning when the tour buses start.

Room Tip: Take a room on the second floor, not so noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie888_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We were staying next door but had breakfast here a few times. Can't comment on the accommodation, but the breakfasts were great! Healthy, quite a bit of choice, we loved it! For example, our favourite meals were omelettes or scrambled eggs with salad, a beautiful dressing, and freshly baked bread. Looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank LorrainePAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Some of the reviews on Tripadvisor really put me off TNG. Only booked there because it was Chinese New Year/Flower festival so everything else affordable fully booked.
Top North Guesthouse is in a great location, minutes away from all the action, but in a very quiet area of Thai Pae Gate....Good restaurants and cafe's very close.
The first room shown was at lower level, a bit dark and no view. The second room on the third floor was perfectly acceptable. Very large twin room, with big beds. Very clean, housekeeper came every day to clean, change towels and bed-linen. Super comfortable beds and lots of space, very good hot shower and air-con worked fine.
Big shared balcony/terrace overlooking the pool and excellent wi-fi. Breakfast menu somewhat limited but perfectly good food. The best coffee in Chiang Mai. The staff were so lovely and very helpful. This guesthouse could do with some TLC, pool furniture a bit old and ricket., Overall a very pleasant stay....we actually stayed an extra five days....it was so comfortable. At these prices don't expect Hilton standards....just very good value for money.
We paid 900 Bht per night, very good value compared to other places we stayed during two months travelling SEA.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are dark, choose a higher floor, Room C14 was perfect for us! You can negotiate o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimmoTurkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This guesthouse is an old hotel that is filled because of the availability of the swimming pool. The guesthouse has issues with water, electricity, internet and ants. One of the other guests commented on the pool saying it was heavily chemicalized. There was an awning where, during the previous year, one of the guests fell off a balcony through the awning–it still hadn't been repaired. Room clean-up only happened every few days. There were several days where the water would trickle out or not work at all, or it was cold water only, or filthy dirty. The shower head was approximately 1 meter high and there was no shower curtain. There was a serious ant infection in the bathroom. The lights were bare bulb. The electrical outlets were so worn that to use my hairdryer required my pressing the plug into the socket and holding my foot on it while I used the dryer, otherwise the plug would come out of the socket. Internet rarely worked for more than half an hour at a time and it was common to have to give up and try early in the mornings to have any connection. Totally undependable even after they "upgraded" their wi-fi system while I was there. The guests were a mixture of retirees who come to Chiang Mia every year to get out of the European winters. There were young couples, couples with young children, backpackers partying until 2 in the morning, and a few old men with their prostitutes. While I was eating at the on-site restaurant, a young woman came to my table offering to sell me Viagra. The front desk staff was sympathetic but there was nothing they could do. Evidently the owners not only are cheap with how they treat their customers, the staff isn't being treated any different. The Top North Guesthouse is not to be confused with the Top North Hotel which is owned by the same couple.

Room Tip: If, after reading this you still think this is a place for you, look at the rooms offered before tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelitely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Friendly people and a good location (a great German-Thai breakfast place across the street). Our room was dirty and there was no hot water - ever. There is no reason to stay here given how many guesthouses are in the area. If you want to make use of their pool, you can pay 100 bhat for day use and avoid the filth.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank rufusrastas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

This guesthouse should be shut down!! We paid an extra 100 Bart for our room to have air conditioning. Not only was our air con broken they wouldn't refund us the extra we paid for air con. Our room didn't have a working shower so couldn't wash ourselves. The power sockets didn't work and were falling out the wall. After one night we left. No matter how cheap,I would never stay there again

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Beckybrummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Lai-Thai Guest House
Lai-Thai Guest House
#307 of 392 in Chiang Mai
373 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Royal Guest House
The Royal Guest House
#265 of 392 in Chiang Mai
199 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mali's Room
Mali's Room
#143 of 392 in Chiang Mai
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
7days Hotel Patan
7days Hotel Patan
#201 of 392 in Chiang Mai
11 reviews
0.9 mi away
Royal Panerai Hotel Chiangmai
Royal Panerai Hotel Chiangmai
#121 of 392 in Chiang Mai
437 reviews
0.1 mi away
Northlands House Hotel
Northlands House Hotel
#134 of 392 in Chiang Mai
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Top North Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top North Guest House

Address: 15 Soi 2 Moonmuang Rd., Pra Sing, Muang, Chiang Mai 50200 | The Old City, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #317 of 392 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £8 - £11 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Top North Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top North Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai
Top North Hotel
Top North Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing