We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Algotels
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
djgos1
Dublin, Ireland

Uggh. Possibly the worst hotel I have stayed in

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Jan 2013
I review this as a 'full' hotel and not a small establishment which does not purport to offer full catering, leisure etc. facilities. I have stayed in worse places as a backpacker or where they had charm or location on their side. The hotel was booked by our 'tour' operator as part of an Elephant park trip; lesson learned.

Staff - Unfriendly
Responsiveness - very poor
Lobby - Deceptively ok
Breakfast - poor (though staff here were smiley)
Corridors - worn, exposed wiring, holes in ceiling, carpets grimy Bedrooms (we had two) lights missing, plastic curtains, 6 channel TV, broken bed, saggy/lumpy mattress, blankets we were afraid to touch, bathroom dirty, lukewarm water.
Atmosphere - very loud function in restaurant and noise in corridors until 5am(it was New Years, but!)
Location - Ok, but we could have done much better

The sure sign of this hotel is we didn't want to go back at the end of each of three days1
Date of stay: December 2012
Room Tip: Find another hotel:-)
Trip type: Travelled with family
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£219
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £182
  • Expedia.com
    £219
0.2 miles from BP Chiang Mai City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£101
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £84
  • Expedia.com
    £111
1.2 miles from BP Chiang Mai City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£150
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £146
  • Hotels.com
    £150
0.1 miles from BP Chiang Mai City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£128
  • Priceline
  • Trip.com
    £116
  • Expedia.com
    £138
0.3 miles from BP Chiang Mai City Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
£32
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £22
  • Expedia.com
    £26
0.7 miles from BP Chiang Mai City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£74
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £63
  • Official Hotel
    £73
1.4 miles from BP Chiang Mai City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£113
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £96
  • Expedia.com
    £117
1.3 miles from BP Chiang Mai City Hotel
Booking.com
£43
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £36
  • Hotels.com
    £48
1.5 miles from BP Chiang Mai City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£49
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £32
  • Hotels.com
    £78
2.9 miles from BP Chiang Mai City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    £106
  • ZenHotels.com
    £96
  • Hotels.com
    £109
1.5 miles from BP Chiang Mai City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviews (278)
Filter reviews
278 results
Traveller rating
18
62
87
57
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
18
62
87
57
54
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 278 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I've had just had 3 nights at the BP Chiang Mai City Hotel as part of a package together with a visit to the great National Elephant Park. While it is cheap, it is also dirty, with very poor service and a terrible breakfast. Our room faced onto a dump so the curtains had to be closed all the time, the bathroom was grimy with mould in all of the tiles, broken tiles and a leak coming down from the ceiling which was not fixed during our stay. Service at reception was poor and while Thai service is generally friendly, the staff appeared to be ill trained and ill equipped to deal with such a poor hotel. My advice is get a nice clean B&B and have a better experience and better value for your money.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 November 2012

dont stay here - agoda pictures very misleading! throwback from the 70's - when complained - same room offered. don't come here if you want access to - computer, tv, nice room, helpful staff or wine at a reasonable price, access to a nice swimming pool!! go to awanahouse cheaper and much much nicer!!!

Room tip: go to awanahouse instead do NOT stay here!!
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank w_debz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We booked this hotel because it was recommended in our guidebook as a decent middle class hotel (that reminds me I need to email them about that! Have they seen this place?!). Upon our arrival, we were absolutely impressed by the giant entrance hall that makes it look like you are about to encounter absolute luxury. Oh how wrong that impression was.

Walking towards our room, you go past an absurd thing that is called "The Cozy Place" according to the writing on the wall - it consisted of a few hard wooden chairs lined up along the wall. From there, you look down into the large restaurant area that looked like David Lynch would love it for one of his movies. But there was nothing cozy about it.

Continuing on to the rooms - o the horror. The hallways have nothing of the luxurious entrance, and it only gets worse when you enter your room because at least ours smelled as if someone had used the carpet as a toilet. (It was too late to check out and find a new place for the night so we tried to tell ourselves that it was an odd chemical in the carpet - not necessarily comfortable to think but less disgusting). The bed felt like lying on a large wooden board that was held up by springs, so if one person moved, the entire surface of the mattress moved with it.
Generally, the hotel left me with the impression of a post-communist nightmare, even if this wasn't the correct region for this kind of atmosphere. We left the next morning after a quick breakfast (not good. All of the food looked somehow suspicious, which may have had to do with my general dislike of the place, but even in different surroundings it would not have been a good meal) and directly went hunting for a better place to stay (we found a lovely guesthouse for a fraction of the price) and fled, not even bothering to try and get our money for the second night back.

Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Had to leave a hostel as it was full and ended up having to stay here for one night. Worst room ever, smelled terrible. Staff told me there was A/C in the rooms, which was a lie.

Rooms are old, bathrooms are gross and the pool is the size of a large bath.

There are better options for a much better price!!!!

Date of stay: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PurpleState
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Okay,

So we got this hotel as part of a trek-tour package. On the brochure, it looked like a Hilton..once we got there the entrance was grand! i actually took my camera out to take pics of the entrance..

So we check in..and as we head deeper into the hotel, it starts to get worst..the colours become gloomy and depressing..and it begins to stink!!! we don't know what it was!! it just stank, the corridors felt damp and humid...TERRIBLE..

Its like they spent all the renovation money on the entrance, and the entrance only!!

When we got to the rooms, we actually smoked inside the room just to remove the stink from the room!!

dont go there..dont!!

Peace,
Zingo and Ringo

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hasan_gee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews