We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Dennis D
San Francisco, California, United States

Don't Judge a Book By It's Cover

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Apr 2013
The name suggests an official hotel status with the city. The lobby also has some grandeur which suggests this. But from the moment you reach the reception desk and then venture to your room,
you will be let down. The reception staff are often less than "Thai sweet and courtesy" and the rooms
can be dank, dreary, and dark. Be suspicious of any room photo with a closed curtain, the window probably looks out onto a storage alleyway. The WiFi system only operated in the lobby. While I was there in the fall, 2012, some rooms were being renovated so perhaps the worn out with musty odor room I experienced will be gone in the coming months. The buffet breakfast, in a nicely daylight section of the lobby, was satisfactory.
Date of stay: November 2012
Trip type: Travelled solo
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£42
  • Expedia.com
    £47
  • Agoda.com
    £39
  • Hotels.com
    £47
0.6 miles from BP Chiang Mai City Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
£191
  • Expedia.com
    £194
  • Agoda.com
    £180
  • Hotels.com
    £217
0.2 miles from BP Chiang Mai City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£109
  • Expedia.com
    £114
  • Official Hotel
    £93
  • Vio.com
1.2 miles from BP Chiang Mai City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£90
  • Expedia.com
    £91
  • Hotels.com
    £89
  • Official Hotel
1.4 miles from BP Chiang Mai City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£81
  • Expedia.com
    £90
  • Hotels.com
    £83
  • Vio.com
0.3 miles from BP Chiang Mai City Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
£14
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    £30
  • StayForLong
    £47
  • Priceline
1.2 miles from BP Chiang Mai City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£97
  • Expedia.com
    £98
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    £102
1.5 miles from BP Chiang Mai City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£40
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £46
  • Agoda.com
    £37
  • Priceline
1.5 miles from BP Chiang Mai City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£40
  • Expedia.com
    £71
  • Agoda.com
    £29
  • Hotels.com
    £71
2.9 miles from BP Chiang Mai City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£273
  • Expedia.com
    £284
  • Agoda.com
    £236
  • Hotels.com
    £284
4.3 miles from BP Chiang Mai City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviews (278)
Filter reviews
278 results
Traveller rating
18
62
87
57
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
18
62
87
57
54
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 278 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2013 via mobile

We were moved to BP after being placed in a disgusting hotel called paradise spa and lodge as part of a package deal with the rip off merchants from ATIT. Because we had just been somewhere so disgusting I immediately really liked BP as soon as we checked in. However the hotel had seen better days, it smelt fairly musty and the aircon dripped into a large puddle on the floor everyday. The corridors smelt rather bad and the pool was surrounded by some sort of building site. However I still kind of liked it in a strange sort of way, the breakfast was good and the room was clean and had a big comfortable bed. The location was decent so if you were travelling in a budget I'd say stay there. To sum up, BP is a shadow of its former self but it still has a kind of charm about it so I'm giving it a good review.

Date of stay: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Poseidonlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 January 2013

This hotel is in a fair location to centre within the old walled town ,plenty of Wats to visit with many reasonably priced restaurant s within walking distance.
The lobby area is bright and airy with a high vaulted ceiling ,unfortunately when you step out of this area and proceed to your room you notice that the hotel has let slip basic maintenance ,the carpet is thread bare,the walls could do with some paint the ceilings have various holes where water has caused damage previously and has not been repaired. The rooms are slightly better condition but could do with an update,bedding clean but poor condition.

Room tip: I think you could find a better room for the price paid else where
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phild462
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 January 2013

I review this as a 'full' hotel and not a small establishment which does not purport to offer full catering, leisure etc. facilities. I have stayed in worse places as a backpacker or where they had charm or location on their side. The hotel was booked by our 'tour' operator as part of an Elephant park trip; lesson learned.

Staff - Unfriendly
Responsiveness - very poor
Lobby - Deceptively ok
Breakfast - poor (though staff here were smiley)
Corridors - worn, exposed wiring, holes in ceiling, carpets grimy Bedrooms (we had two) lights missing, plastic curtains, 6 channel TV, broken bed, saggy/lumpy mattress, blankets we were afraid to touch, bathroom dirty, lukewarm water.
Atmosphere - very loud function in restaurant and noise in corridors until 5am(it was New Years, but!)
Location - Ok, but we could have done much better

The sure sign of this hotel is we didn't want to go back at the end of each of three days1

Room tip: Find another hotel:-)
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djgos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I've had just had 3 nights at the BP Chiang Mai City Hotel as part of a package together with a visit to the great National Elephant Park. While it is cheap, it is also dirty, with very poor service and a terrible breakfast. Our room faced onto a dump so the curtains had to be closed all the time, the bathroom was grimy with mould in all of the tiles, broken tiles and a leak coming down from the ceiling which was not fixed during our stay. Service at reception was poor and while Thai service is generally friendly, the staff appeared to be ill trained and ill equipped to deal with such a poor hotel. My advice is get a nice clean B&B and have a better experience and better value for your money.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 November 2012

dont stay here - agoda pictures very misleading! throwback from the 70's - when complained - same room offered. don't come here if you want access to - computer, tv, nice room, helpful staff or wine at a reasonable price, access to a nice swimming pool!! go to awanahouse cheaper and much much nicer!!!

Room tip: go to awanahouse instead do NOT stay here!!
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank w_debz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews