We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT VALUE for large group stays!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Suan Bua Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Suan Bua Hotel & Resort
Ranked #118 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GREAT VALUE for large group stays!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

After being in Chiang Mai for years, many in our organization agree that our time at the Suan Bua was impressive! We've all been to dozens of meetings, buffets, and overnight lodging situations, and probably have never had such an overall good value/experience than at the Suan Bua. Khun (Mr.) Pracha has been an excellent liaison. He and his staff met nearly every single one of our requests. They were extremely flexible, accommodating and gracious towards our needs...and basically set up our meeting spaces the way we wanted with the least amount of hassle. It is definitely in a secluded location, so this is not for groups who want to venture out daily to the city/ Night Market, etc. But if you want beautiful, serene grounds; generous meeting spaces; kind people; and a very good breakfast and lunch/dinner selection FOR THE PRICE... you must consider the Suan Bua Hotel & Resort.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joana W H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pichet A, General Manager at Suan Bua Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 30 June 2016
Dear Joana W H,

Thank you for your fantastic review and it always brings us pleasure to read that our efforts .

We are glad to hear that our room and facilities are highlight of your stay especially with the staff service. We will shared with the team for your comment to let them know they are doing a good job.

At Suan Bua Hotel and Resort stands for great value for money, warm welcome of Thai hospitality in the atmosphere of natural touch.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in nearly future.

Warmest regards,

Pichet Arunratana
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    18
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
9
8
2
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

This place has it all! Beautiful gardens, happy staff, excellent food, at a fantastic price! We were so amazed at the generosity of the manager who lowered our costs even after we had been there for a week. He also went out of his way to be accommodating to our every need. At the end he and his staff setup a lavish outdoor BBQ with special gifts and a giant cake to thank us for staying with them. They served us some of the best food we have eaten in Chiang Mai, and even made a pack lunch for us to take when our group went to the zoo! No this isn't a joke, this is all true. If you are planning a gathering of friends or a conference you have to consider the Suan Bua Resort for your stay. Amazing!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

This has been the third time I have been to Suan Bua Hotel & Resort, attending conferences there. Each time the conference venue is there, I sigh: not again! When entering the resort, the first impression actually is positive. The large gardens are well planned and well maintained. Not so the rooms. Every room I have slept in had something broken or not working, be it the hot water heater, the toilet or the wardrobes. Many rooms are dark and musty. The food is boring and a fusion of Thai, Chinese and Western cuisines. For a large conference, the dining area is insufficient in size and extremely noisy. The meeting rooms are, however, adequate.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anpene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

Great place for a conference where you can spend lots of time with your group. The place if fairly old. The reception desk is THE most unorganized desk I've ever seen. Not professional. We were put in the 3rd floor of an old building where the stairs were uneven. The room was decent and the bed good but after one night, had to upgrade (we paid) due to no warm water for showers. Upgraded and the room was Way better for $3 more a night but smelled very old and musty - but a great improvement. Meals were good - but I'm not very picky either. Many did get sick but not sure if it was the food or the cold weather. Super far from Chiang Mai and have to pay the hotel shuttle to take you into town - 45 minutes. A tiny little store across the road for snacks. A laundry mat across the road for 50Baht per kilo - they don't iron. Room cleaners don't clean super good either. Stuff was left in trash cans, etc.

Room Tip: The rooms in the farest 3 story building are small and noice from the villas travel very clearly to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JLR1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

We have been to this hotel twice and the last time early 2012 a lot of people, including myself, got food poisoning. Out of 200 people I believe 25% to 30% got food poisoning or a stomach bug. People tell me this has happened before so BEWARE!

The grounds are beautiful and the food looks and taste quite good. Just beware of possible stomach problems.

Room Tip: Don't choose the older rooms because they feel older a bit run down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank welovedumpling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Suan Bua is very relaxing. It's about a 45 minute drive from Chiang Mai city, so don't come here if you want to spend a lot of time around the town. If you're looking for a chance to get away from it all though, the Suan Bua is a great place to consider.

Room Tip: We were in the Royal Plaza Wing. The rooms are newer than some of the other wings, so we enjoyed tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

This hotel is about 30mins drive up a winding mountain road from Chiang Mai. It's in a lovely quiet area, with just a little local shop across the road, and a lovely nice restaurant across the road and up the hill.

The hotel grounds are absolutely beautiful - gardens, ponds, bridges, gazebos etc. I didn't get to use the pool but it had a slide going into in.

I think if you just wanted to relax and read a book for a few days, this would be a perfect place.

Breakfast and other meals were fine - simple but enough variety for a few days, and pretty good quality/taste.

My room was kind of old-style, but quiet charming really. Solid hardwood furniture etc. It was clean and was well serviced duing my stay.

Staff were very helpful, although of course sometimes we had trouble communicating. They were very nice about though and always tried to do their best to understand what I was asking for.

The hotel is not brand new, so of course this leads to a feeling of it aging a bit, but they are looking after it well.

Room Tip: Suite Rooms have adjoing rooms, but essentially 2 separate rooms - so worth it if you have older kid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WellTravelledChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
15.0 mi away
Kaomai Lanna Resort
Kaomai Lanna Resort
#166 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
7.9 mi away
Phu Jaya Mini Resort
Phu Jaya Mini Resort
#148 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#82 of 374 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Kham Mon Lanna Resort
Kham Mon Lanna Resort
#162 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
8.2 mi away
Kiree Thara Boutique Resort
Kiree Thara Boutique Resort
#122 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
11.7 mi away
Eurasia Chiang Mai Hotel
Eurasia Chiang Mai Hotel
#113 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suan Bua Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suan Bua Hotel & Resort

Property: Suan Bua Hotel & Resort
Address: 158 Moo 3 | Hangdong Samerng Road, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Suan Bua Hotel & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thai Lanna style - Unique traditional Lanna-style architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Suan Bua Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suan Bua Hotel
Suan Bua Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing