We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Balcony Chiang Mai Village
Ranked #182 of 833 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Not big hotel but wonder full of service more then some 5 star hotel , nice location like you are in nature , nice room and let me feel like " I am at home " feel warm and good security , I will comeback again

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancy1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 52 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

We were in Chiang Mai for 3 full days and we enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The hotel is clearly new and the rooms are very comfortable with most everything you need, with a very big and comfortable bed. The staff are also great and very friendly and helpful at all times. As others have already commented, The Balcony is around a 15-minute drive from the old city of Chiang Mai but as long as you do not have to be in the centre then this is a good hotel to stay in as the standard of the hotel is high and very reasonably priced in comparison to many of the high-end hotels in the city.
We used the hotel free transport for the Night Market twice and we paid once to use the day shuttle to go into the city getting a taxi back without any problem. It was a very good service that made the location of the hotel less of an issue for us. We were looking for a relaxed stay after traveling for almost three weeks and as such were very satisfied with our choice.
Otherwise, the hotel does a good breakfast and the dinner we had in the hotel restaurant was good. There is a nice outdoor pool area, although we did not use it while we were there as the weather was quite cool.

If you are ok with being a little away from the centre of the city we would recommend The Balcony.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AccraJa_mes82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

All in all a fine stay in a pleasant, motel-like hotel. The visuals of this place were great, but the location alas was not. Next door building activities went on from 8:30 hrs. The hotel is just off one of the major roads in the city, so walking into the center is not really an option and the traffic is continuous. Breakfast was good, the staff were very kind, the room was comfortable.

Room Tip: As far to the back as possible, though I don't think it matters much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coen1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I would have to start off by saying this hotel is very nice and the pictures are completely accurate. I am back packing alone so my Expierence may be different than someone travelling for a short romantic vacation.
The employees at the balcony struggle with English, but are still eager to assist. There were times where I was not understood but for the most part the results just made me laugh; but I could see some getting upset.
The hotel is quite far from the "action" of the city which I was looking for; however there is construction and a highway adjacent to the hotel that took the serenity of being away from the hustle and bustle.
The hotels wifi, is totally different than any other, with a unit in every room; however instead of having multiple terminals that you just need a password for they use a gateway system that constantly kicks you off or reverts you to another unit. It sounds petty but in a world of information this is something I think they should look at changing.
The bed and room was very comfortable and luxury. When the construction in the area is done hopefully it will be a quieter Expierence.
Truly I think this hotel is on the right track and is only a few minor details away from deserving the price they are asking.
Items to be considered by management
Taking customers to city center regularly (without charge) would be a nice service that other hotels with better locations already provide
Also the addition of /kg laundry service would be a great addition to long term travellers. I was told by staff to walk to the laundry a couple kms down the road.. Something I would be willing to pay the hotel for as long as it wasnt 200b per item as their current pricing shows, just another item other hotels provide and is a great service to travellers.
In Thailand I've stayed in hotels ranging from 350b to 3500b and I think this place fits in around the 1800-2500b do to location, noise and being new (side affects of getting the kinks
worked out)
All in all I recommend the stay
for couples but just be mindful it isn't quiet, it's a place to lay your head at night.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I spent only one night there but o was very impressed with the comfortable room and bathroom. The bed was delicious and everything was super clean. The room we stayed was huge and i had no problem with noise.
The staff was very kind and competent. The breakfast is a little bit simple but afterall It was a great surprise. The hotel hás free shuttle to the night market and that was a plus.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcelle_Neves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Good location on main street. Close to noght market and central festival. Would stay here again. Staff is very polite and respectful, much better than patong beach. Also by the way the breakfast is very good I recommend the soup, and the coffee shop is one of the best tasting and decorated coffee shops I have ever had the ppleasure of finding. Enjoy chaing mai

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tiffany1436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The hotel is located outside the old town with convenient access.
Facilities are new and very cozy. Rooms are clean and spacious.
Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They assisted us all the time with reservations for lodging even for other hotels.
There is a nice cafe with quiet and chilled atmosphere by the lobby.
Breakfast was good with selection of thai and international options.

Room Tip: Best rooms are in second floor in front of the pool with a small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toshi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.9 mi away
sala lanna Chiang Mai
sala lanna Chiang Mai
#66 of 402 in Chiang Mai
225 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lanna Dusita Boutique Resort by Andacura
2.4 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#33 of 402 in Chiang Mai
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Cmor Hotel Chiang Mai by Andacura
2.6 mi away
Na Nirand Romantic Boutique Resort
1.5 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balcony Chiang Mai Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balcony Chiang Mai Village

Address: 12 Moo 5 | Fa Ham, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 833 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £26 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Balcony Chiang Mai Village 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy and relaxed accommodation with a Modern Lanna design. The hotel is set a short distance from the city center and 15 minutes’ drive from Chiang Mai International Airport and has an easy access to city center and all other attraction areas.The Balcony presents 12 spacious rooms, inspired by the local hill tribe culture accentuated by a finished teakwood design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Balcony Chiang Mai Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing