We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place that dreams are made of”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
Ranked #1 of 394 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2012

There aren't enough superlatives for the heart-stopping, breath-taking experience of this hotel. From the moment one drives through the gates, one senses a different level of reality.The architecture is without doubt the most beautiful of any hotel in the world that I have ever seen. Photographs hardly do it justice. I felt like a crown prince from the moment I stepped out of the cab. The staff are not just courteous - they make you feel as if nothing in the world is more important than helping you. When a communication snafu regarding a bath fixture caused a delay in the arrival of the butler, the manager immediately offered a complimentary spa treatment, and the treatment was just this side of miraculous. I will travel to Thailand again just to go to this hotel.

Room Tip: rooms with views of the spa are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank transplantdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

701 - 707 of 1,378 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2012

I stayed here in February and had booked a deluxe villa for myself and a friend. We arrived in the evening and were greeted by staff and handed tea and a lai. Check in was speedy and within minutes we were ready to go to our room. The lady who took us there explained the resort layout as she drove us to the villa in a golf buggy. The villa was just fantastic. It was stunning and quite up to date. I could not see any signs of wear and tear. The tv was the only old thing in the room, but I wasn't there to watch TV so I did not care. Very spacious, fully equipped kitchen which was nice and came in handy. The 2 bathrooms were a major plus as we were both able to get ready at the same time. The 2 hot tubs were also a plus and the massive bathroom was wonderful. Overall, I loved the villa.
Service of the staff was the best I have seen. Not a single member of the hotel passed us by without greeting us. Everyone I spoke to knew me by name, which is impressive. The buffet breakfast was out of the world.

The spa was as wonderful as everyone has said. Yes it is pricey compared to South East Asia, but not any pricier then a regular spa in North America.

I would recommend this resort to anyone without a moment's hesitation.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soaddictive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

This hotel should be #1 on Tripadvisor! It is just amazing! It's as if you are visiting a fairy tale. The staff cannot do enough for you. The property is beautiful! The rooms, suites and villas are something out of a storybook. What a wonderful visit we had! This was our second time visiting this hotel. The first visit we stayed in the Colonial Suites which were perfect! The second visit we stayed in a Deluxe Villa! Oh WOW!!! Just gorgeous! The breakfast was yummy too! Everyone you encounter at the Mandarin Oriental Dhara Dhevi, Chiang Mai are wonderful. Everyone is always smiling, even the staff that do not usually have to deal with guests. You feel as if you are the only one they need to take care of. We visited the spa as well which was FANTASTIC! There are daily activities you can sign up for that are free. You can be very busy or just relax by the pool. I have nothing negative to say about this hotel. It is on the higher end of the budget but worth every penny. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bangkokteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

This gorgeous hotel...what can i say, its stunning...
We have been at many beautiful 5 and even 6 star hotels, but this was the best of the best ever...
The architecture is soo Thai, and soo wonderfull...
It feels like your in a whole different world...
The atmosphere is so relaxed, the park with ricepaddies so beautifull and sereen...
This is a place were we want to go back, even as we don't go often at the same place..
Just for the hotel, but the environment is so nice to, nice things to do if you like sportive things, also as hiking etc..you never get bored.
The staff is exellent, the service to!
As there was made a mistake by our travelagent with booking the room, we thought we booked the Colonial suite, but finaly it was the spa suite, we do not like as it is a very enclosed room witout a few or many space outside, although the sparoom inside was exellent, but i did felt al little closed in, we were upgraded to a villa near the cascade pool, what a surprise, we were so happy!
This gorgeous few at the ricepaddies and the pool, this huge bathroom!
We have had the best days ever in the Mandarin.
The Spa is out of this world, so sereen and beautiful of architecture, very, very good employees, very good massage, one of the best ever, we did many there as they were soo good!
We had a nice thea seremonie in the chinees restaurant from the -man of the Thea-, we could really see he enjoyed doing this!
The have very good fresh springrolls, the best we ever had in the world!
The cascadepools were our favorite as they are overlooking the ricepaddies and have nice corners to relax, the other pool was not our choice as there are nog corners and lush green around you, and between the buildings.
Overall, our best hotel experience ever!

Room Tip: If you can afford it, take one of the villa's!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wawalover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Second stay here in as many years. I don’t often go back to destination hotels as there are so many places in the world I’ve not been but frankly this place deserves it. We booked a Colonial Suite and chose to upgrade to a Pool Villa when we arrived. Both rooms were outstanding as was the service from the staff. We ate food on room service from each of the restaurants on site and it was all very good indeed.
Only one niggle was the significant number of mosquitoes which would have been down to the time of year I was travelling. Not the hotel’s fault and they supply plug in mosquito killer as well as a can of spray along with repellent.

Saw on this trip that the MO are building residences, I’ll be a buyer.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymetro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Words fail to capture my feelings about this property.It was pure magic from our airport reception,to early check-in to the gorgeous villa set amongst the rice paddies.So beautiful,so clean,so attentive.Nothing was too much for the staff who always wore a sincere smile.
The architecture was stunning,the food excellent-we ate at the Thai restaurant one night and had private BBQ at our villa the next.Both well priced and worth it.
Loved it so much we never really left the resort and plan on returning.
Wish we were there now-ho hum.......

Room Tip: Villas def by the rice paddies.Even splurge for the villas with pools. Plunge pools werent worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

It was a bit strange and I never stayed at a place like this before, the area is huge and even on a bicycle it takes time to get around. We got a colonian style room, it was nice but not really our style. They have 2 big pools, but the water is really really cold there. Not as good as we expected and we wouldnt go back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FredrikHalmstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.7 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
4.6 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 394 in Chiang Mai
570 reviews
2.2 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 394 in Chiang Mai
2,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 394 in Chiang Mai
2,088 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#20 of 394 in Chiang Mai
3,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai

Address: 51/4 Moo 1, Chiang Mai - Sankampaeng Road | Tha Sala, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Chiang Mai
#1 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#1 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#1 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £384 - £1,008 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai is set on 60 acres of verdant tranquil grounds in the historical heartland of Northern Thailand. The hotel's unique design draws from the region's rich architectural and cultural heritage that flourished during the Lanna period, which lasted from the mid-13th century until the mid-16th century, and enjoyed a further resurgence in the last 200 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental Dhara Dhevi, Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Mandarin Oriental Chiang Mai
Mandarin Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing