We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good 5-star hotel but I would have expected more to offer” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
Ranked #2 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A good 5-star hotel but I would have expected more to offer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Stayed in Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai just before the owner took over the management from Mandarin Oriental. As many of the reviews have already indicated that the service is really MO standard. Although the architecture is stunning, some of the buildings particularly the colonial part need some touching up. Rain stains on the white wash walls are visible. Stayed in the colonial delux suite, the big is rather big and comfortable with a large balcony.
The ground is huge but signage is not good at all, took me over 15 min to find my way to the north paddi field. The villa section and the paddi field are segregated from the colonial portion of the hotel ground. Tried to book a bicycle and took them 3 days to inform me that the bicycle is available for collection from the gym.
The hotel management should have thought about facilitating accessibility particularly in such a big compound.
Great hotel for families, particularly with children.... the suites near the main pool are noisy with lots of kids running around right outside the colonial suites.

Below are some of my observations:
PROS
- Good services and friendly staff;
- Suites roomy and tidy; a good team of housing keeping staff;
- Thai restaurant is great, great food and friendly staff;
- Friendly and helpful pool staff
- Spa is great

CONS
- Huge compound and not very accessbility. Long waiting queue for free bike.
- Vacation hotel for large families with kids. If you are expecting a hotel for winding down, skip this one. Hotels with villas in Bali are more for relaxation and winding down. This is more for a family vacation.
- NO free wifi for hotel of this rate and standard; cost about US$20 per day.

If you have a large group or family with children, this is the hotel for you.

Room Tip: Stay away from the main colonial pool, unless you don't mind noise and kids. Suites on the grou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HKG_Traveller2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,117
    113
    33
    10
    7
See reviews for
335
532
48
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

This beautiful resort is really a piece of paradise here on earth. We celebrated our 30th Wedding anniversary here and was allocated a double storey deluxe villa with plunge pool, the back of which faces the rice fields. There is nothing to fault the villa. It is complete with free wifi, and all the modern amenities one can ask for. We could have stayed in all the time but the grounds are so serene and beautiful we had to explore this magnificent property. Breakfast was so fantastic, there is every imaginable fine food one could ask for all cooked to perfection. We also had an in-villa lunch. Service was impeccable, food was delicious.
We tried Farang Ses (French) and the Grand Lanna which was their Thai restaurant. Both were excellent. After staying here I don't think there is any other property that can come close to this in luxury.
We also tried Dheva spa. What can we say ? Pravi the therapist was knowledgeable and skillful in his job and my husband had nothing but praise for his service. The spa? A definite MUST TRY!!
The food at Farang Ses is worthy of further mention. Chef Carlos knows his stuff. Hailing from La Normandie, Bangkok, he brings with him the best of what French cuisine can offer. The food was not only great for its flavours, but was so pleasing to the eye. Almost too beautiful to eat. A culinary adventure indeed.
All in all, a fantastic anniversary celebration. Most unforgettable and we will surely return!
Thanks to all the staff who made our stay so special.

Room Tip: The villas are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lin5858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Each time you're driven into the main lobby building, there is a feeling of amazement at the beauty of this hotel. The entire experience of my stay here was out of this world. The staff are extremely warm and helpful, upping the Thai hospitality standard to another level. The restaurants are all worth trying. Lanna Thai restaurant provides comfort Thai food, cooked to perfection. Definitely order the Panang Kai, which is a Thai red curry with chicken and lychees (giving it that sweet + tangy taste) and also the Somtum Farang which is made using fresh guava, is an amazing spin on the original somtum. Fujian does a Dimsum buffet and everything on that menu is worth trying (especially the egg tarts). The cake shop smells like butter when you enter and everything in the display calls out to you (go after 7pm and you get 30% off everything). If you visit during the right season, you're able to enjoy breakfast out at the paddy fields, which is really lovely. Best part of Dharadevi is that you don't even need to step out of it and discover Chiangmai city, because it encapsulates everything you need and want from a holiday, under one roof. Definitely the best hotel option in Chiangmai if you're willing to spend a couple hundred more bucks than the usual hotel rates.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wanderluster_rs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is a unique sanctuary on the outskirts of Chiang Mai .The architecture is breathtaking and uniquely beautiful .You feel you are in a Thai or Burmese palace .The welcome is very warm and personal and the lobby awesome .From hereon in the staff know you by name .The hotel grounds are huge and beautifully kept and the hotel facilities fantastic .The villa in which we stayed was beautiful ,spacious ,clean and very well equipped . The SPA was amazing and its architecture nowhere else to be found .The food was excellent albeit a bit pricey which one would expect from a place I would rate as six stars .Needless to say that the staff was warm ,caring ,respectful and attentive . At last I have found my sanctuary of peace and tranquility . What more can I say ,this is probably one of the best places I have ever stayed in and I have stayed in more than a few.

Room Tip: Choose a villa near the paddy fields for more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikolas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

You've heard enough good things about this property, but I'll just briefly say two things about my MO experience. First, when our taxi drove us away from MO, I could finally relate to Puyi, the last emperor of China, who was forced out of the Forbidden City. I felt very sad leaving MO. There is no nirvana in the world, but if there is one, this is it! Secondly, after Chiang Mai's MO experience, I've sponsored a child from Thailand through World Vision as a way to give back to Thai culture that has enriched me aesthetically and spiritually.

If you're in Chiang Mai, you should stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zermatt2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

Very difficult to review this hotel. The place is simply extraordinary.
It IS beautiful, stunning, slightly overwhelming! Huge!
One could feel in a very amazingly well done theme park, as you arrive with your taxi on a typical busy Chiang Mai road, then you turn a corner, and enter this amazing paradise hotel! NB: clientele seems 90% chinese.

But we loved it!
We stayed in a villa - fully recommend villas versus colonial suites. Villas are in a lush rice plantation garden. They are STUNNING! (Not necessarly very practical with stairs outside, but are made like old converted rice barns).
We stayed here with our 2 daughters aged 9 and 7. So was a bit tricky to have them sleeping in the downstairs room with no inside connection. Wouldn't have been ok if they had been younger.

The staff is simply charming! They are wonderful. They do remember your name and habits (such as your favourite cocktail). They are so smiley!

What made our stay very special:
- the villa in the rice paddy
- the staff
- cocktails on the bar next to the French restaurant with best view ever (on the rice field).
- planting rice. Do take this activity. Really worth it. Amazing experience.
- bikes. The hotel lended us some bikes for our stay, so we went around the whole property. Amazing. Our girls LOVED it.
- breakfast. THE best ever!

NB: Seems like the hotel just changed owners, and is not a Mandarin Oriental anymore. Not surprising, as I cannot imagine this hotel being profitable. The property is huge - must be impossible to maintain this place. Our villa could do with a bit of renovation (outdoor jacuzi, coffee machine,..).

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Murielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

This is the place for a perfect stay. Very large rooms, an incredible choice and quality of food for breakfast, absolute fantastic thai dinner at the Grand Lanna and incredible Dim Sum for lunch at Fujian.
The staff are so friendly and attentive - special regards to Khun Aritsara Yuatyong - they make your stay pleasant and remembering.
The loss of the Mandarin Group does not alter the high standard of Dhara Dhevi.
Wake up in the morning at 9am with the sound of a flute player sitting on his buffalo in the garden - just serene.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.2 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,250 reviews
4.6 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 374 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
2.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,903 reviews
1.5 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#33 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai

Property: The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
Address: 51/4 Moo 1, Chiang Mai - Sankampaeng Road | Tha Sala, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#1 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#1 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Chiang Mai
#2 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai is set on 60 acres of verdant tranquil grounds in the historical heartland of Northern Thailand. The hotel's unique design draws from the region's rich architectural and cultural heritage that flourished during the Lanna period, which lasted from the mid-13th century until the mid-16th century, and enjoyed a further resurgence in the last 200 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental Dhara Dhevi, Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Mandarin Oriental Chiang Mai
Mandarin Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing