We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
Ranked #2 of 380 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

It was an amazing experience to stay in Dhara Dhevi. Fristly I love the Lanna building there. Secondly it had a lot of activties for you and the kids during the day. The staff I came across were very helpful and tried their very best to fulfil my needs. On the frist night, our room's lighting did not work well. Since it was midnight and I was very sleepy, I did not take the time to inform the hotel. I forgot about this the next morning. When the housekeeping came, she cleaned the room and detected abnormalities in the room lighting. She called the technicans to fix them. Oh..... I did not even mention about the problem and it was fixed! The delux conlonial suite was really huge and very comfortable. Love the view from my balcony and see the top of the Lanna buildings every day / night during my stay. The Chinese resturant were exceptional, friendly staff, delicious dishes... even it was very late at night. The restaurant staff were very caring and attentive, fulfilled my unexpressed needs. It was raining heavily when I entered into the restaurant, I felt cold when I went into the air conditioning area. The staff immediately adjusted the air-con, and delivered a scarf to me. It happened within a few seconds of entering the restaurant. This really exceeded my expectation. Thank you to all the staff I came across in Dhara Dhevi. I will surely come back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DharaDheviCNX, General Manager at The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Margie W,

We are delighted to read such a wonderful review on your recent experience at Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai and thank you for your valuable time to write this. It was our pleasure to have accommodated you and glad to hear that you were comfortable in our care. We will definitely share your kind compliments with our service team and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again during your next visit to Chiang Mai.

Kind regards,

Andrew Quinlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,154
    115
    33
    10
    7
See reviews for
348
549
51
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We were a family of 5 booked into 2 Colonial Suites for 11 nights. We had a butler called James (who was actually a woman) whom helped us to checkin and showed us the sites of this 64 acre resort, before eventually helping us to settle in and offered advice as well as helping out to ensure our stay was a comfortable one.

The swimming pool was a great place to relax as it was big and quiet, and allowed the kids to splash around on their own as there were always staff at hand watching and catering for our every whim. In fact the whole poolside team were absolutely fantastic and the food served by the team was probably the best overall package.

FOOD is awesome, especially the French restaurant where we dined on 3 occasions. Jane and her team looked after us extraordinarily well at the restaurant.

My only complaint, which was not the fault of the hotel or the staffs, were that mosquitoes! They are pests! As well as some guests who kept stealing our bicycles (lent to us by the fitness centre).

Overall, we really enjoyed ourselves and would highly recommend that any family with young children should at least stay here once in their lives. Thank you.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank GVA8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DharaDheviCNX, General Manager at The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear GVA8,

I am so pleased to read your review and that we had met all your expectations and most important that you felt so welcomed at Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai. Very pleasing to read your review and I will be sure to forward your feedback to all associates as it allows me the opportunity to show that their efforts are truly appreciated by our guests and myself alike. Thank you for taking the time to post your review and we look forward to your return again.

Warm regards,

Andrew Quinlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We Stayed in Dhara Dhevi for 4 nights in July, the best hotel, grounds and service I have encountered. If you go to Chiang mai it's well worth the price. Great bar tenders made real cocktails from scratch, the concierge guys knew the best things on in local area and had done most of them so could speak from experience.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank benforeman83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DharaDheviCNX, General Manager at The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear benforeman83,

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai. We are delighted you were comfortable in our care and could take advantage of our facilities and activities. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Andrew Quinlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 4 days, we are now on the way yo the airport and already I'm thinking of going back. Dhara Dhevi is one of those rare places we could stay for weeks, and still discover new places and experiences every day.

The service in Thailand is one of the best I've seen in the world, its imbedded in their culture. With that being said, the service here is at a whole new level. The kindness and caring of the entire staff truly made us feel special.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NoamHadass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DharaDheviCNX, General Manager at The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear NoamHadass,

We appreciate your time to share your fantastic experience with us. Thank you for choosing Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai to accommodate you for your special celebration and we are glad that your stay was a memorable one. We too hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to beautiful Chiang Mai and to our resort again soon.

Kind regards,

Andrew Quinlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tainan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This hotel is very famous around the world, I am so glad that I can stay in this hotel !
All the things are very wonderful, including the breakfast and the staffs in the hotel !
Although it wasn't a group of Mandarin Oriental anymore, but I think it still have the qualify that the mandarin Oriental offered !

I really recommend this hotel when you travel in Chiangmai, it will bring you a tremendous memory. I hope I can stay in Dhara Dhevi Hotel in Chiangmai in the near future !

Room Tip: Colonial suite is very large and the bathroom is really comfortable ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 文學鉅子
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DharaDheviCNX, General Manager at The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear 文學鉅子,

We are delighted to read such a wonderful review on your recent experience at Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai and thank you for your valuable time to write this. It was our pleasure to have accommodated you and glad to hear that you had a great time in Chiang Mai. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to our resort again soon.

Kind regards,

Andrew Quinlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Beautiful villas and best in class customer service. We were upgraded to villa 88 and it was an absolute delight, with private outdoor jacuzzi on the first floor and a private pool and barbecue deck. The staff could not have been more obliging, even when my three year old vomited in the bed at 3am and we had to call housekeeping to help tidy up the awful mess. The kids activities are fantastic, very well thought out. We tried rice picking and buffalo riding. Bikes can be hired free of charge and there was no greater pleasure than cycling around the picturesque resort. The spa was well worth visiting just for the view I had during my manicure. Go there!

Room Tip: Villa 88 is magnificent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MlMcDermott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DharaDheviCNX, General Manager at The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear MlMcDermott,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and I am pleased to read that you had a great stay and enjoyed all aspects of our resort. Your great comments will be shared with our team.

Thank you once again for your compliments and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcoming you again to Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai soon.

Warm Regards,

Andrew Quinlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is probably one of the most luxurious hotel I have ever been to. The hotel grounds and architect were just amazing, even-though, it can be a little overwhelming at times. The room is spacious not to mention the bathroom which is probably bigger than most hotel deluxe rooms. This is a perfect hotel with children as there are plenty of walking space, garden and activities which hosted by the hotel. Breakfast was very good with plenty to choose from. The only negative thing about the hotel is the price, it is expensive. However, the staff and service does best to justify the price. Just a shame that I can not visit this hotel that often as I will probably go broke.

Room Tip: Colonial Suite is sufficient
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonycookery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DharaDheviCNX, General Manager at The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear tonycookery,

We are delighted to read such a wonderful review on your recent experience at Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai and thank you for your valuable time to write this. It was our pleasure to have accommodated you and your family. We are glad to hear that you all had a great time and could take advantage of our facilities and activities. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family back to our resort again soon.

Kind regards,

Andrew Quinlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.2 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#11 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,322 reviews
4.6 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 380 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
2.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,953 reviews
3.7 mi away
BED Phrasingh Hotel
BED Phrasingh Hotel
#5 of 380 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai

Property: The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
Address: 51/4 Moo 1, Chiang Mai - Sankampaeng Road | Tha Sala, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Chiang Mai
#1 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#2 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai is set on 60 acres of verdant tranquil grounds in the historical heartland of Northern Thailand. The hotel's unique design draws from the region's rich architectural and cultural heritage that flourished during the Lanna period, which lasted from the mid-13th century until the mid-16th century, and enjoyed a further resurgence in the last 200 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental Dhara Dhevi, Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Mandarin Oriental Chiang Mai
Mandarin Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing