We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“flying away to the land of dreams” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
Ranked #2 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“flying away to the land of dreams”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Jeez Louise - our minds were blown when we entered the Dhara Dhevi - like stepping into a movie of Eastern palaces and emperors ! And to think we were reluctant when Ms.Jan from andaman adventures (our ever-so-dependable travel agent) recommended it to us four months ago. No need for cold feet - this is the nose of the salmon ! Be an emperor and empress of oriental glory, at least for awhile. You are waited on hand-and-feet, everyone is all smiles and seems honored to be chosen to work here. Makes sense when i think of it really. Off course Chiang Mai itself is great, plenty of exploring to be done here - but this hotel - wow, those memories they will LAST ! you simply cant go wrong here.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SA_Stockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DharaDheviCNX, General Manager at The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Susana A,

I am so pleased to read your review and that we had met all your expectations and most important that you felt so welcomed at Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai. Very pleasing to read your comment and I will be sure to forward your feedback to all colleagues as it allows me the opportunity to show that their efforts are truly appreciated by our guests and myself alike. Thank you for taking the time to post your review and we look forward to your return again.

Warm regards,

Andrew Quinlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,117
    113
    33
    10
    7
See reviews for
335
532
48
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

We arrived to a warm welcome and it only got better from there. Upgraded to a beautiful Deluxe Villa that was fit for Royalty. Hardly saw another guest in the 3 days we were there, the villa was so private. The friendly staff showed us around, were quick to respond to any request and very helpful at all times. The service was impeccable. The grounds were beautiful and the bed really comfortable. The breakfast choices were vast, catering for all tastes and the Thai dancers entertaining us over dinner where enchanting. Would highly recommend, if you don't mind being 15 mins out of the city. Hope to visit again one day!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank AUSYTRAVELLOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DharaDheviCNX, General Manager at The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear AUSYTRAVELLOR,

Thank you for your generous compliments and for choosing to stay with us. It brings me pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay here; from our comfortable beds to delicious meals and friendly staff. We look forward to welcoming you again soon to the beautiful Chiang Mai and to our resort.

Warm Regards,

Andrew Quinlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Thailand is well known for the quality of the service... At Dhara Dhevi, the Employees were just amazingly friendly and always up to help you

The hotel by itself is exceptional... We have been accommodated in the Villas... I never had such experience. Amazing decoration, beautiful bathroom and incredible view on the rice fields.

Definitively, the best hotel I have been.

2 points to improve nevertheless...
The hotel is far from the city center... There is a navet from the hotel to the city (and vis versa)... but there is not enough time slots.
The swimming pools (extraordinary swimming pools !) closed at 7 pm... We should be able to enjoy the pools until 9 pm :-)

Congratulation to the Owner of this hotel who preserves, promotes and protects the architecture culture of Thailand !

Room Tip: If you can afford, take a villa : amazing experience to sleep in a old Thai house !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pascaldebangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DharaDheviCNX, General Manager at The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear pascaldebangkok,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased to read that you had a great stay and enjoyed many aspects of our resort as well as Chiang Mai city. Your great comments will be shared with our team.

Thank you once again for your compliments and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcoming you again to Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai soon.

Warm Regards,

Andrew Quinlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westlake Village, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

I am a seasoned 5 star resort person- but there is an intangible about this place that renders you almost speechless. It is truly a magical, sacred place.

The grounds and building of the hotel are just magical and make it an exceptional property. You can spend the whole day exploring the property- and I did just that and was happy every second of the time. Greetings and staff are unparalleled in almost ALL of Thailand from my experience. Staff remember your name, room number and are always helpful, accommodating and welcoming you with a smile. Almost every staff member speaks decent if not beautiful English- which is a rarity in Thailand, and greatly appreciated.

The food was nothing but the best- the breakfast buffet is truly extraordinary and DELICIOUS! The options are practically endless with American, English, and traditional Asian breakfast options. The fresh juice selections taste like heaven and you literally don't know when to stop eating. The food director is usually always on staff- and he makes helpful suggestions to make sure you try all the best dishes- I am not that adventurous of an eater but he got me to try this traditional Korean soup for breakfast that I have yet to stop craving- so amazing. The room service menus is among the best I've seen and everything I had was perfect- event he 4 am sandwiches.

We had a traditional villa with private pool and everything was quaint with luxurious details and impeccable service. The villa was spacious and well appointed. The view to the grounds elegant and peaceful. The bed was super comfy. Housekeeping was exceptional as well.

The spa is something to be experienced. I travel the US for 5 diamond, Conde Nast recommended spas, and the Dhara Dhevi is not to be missed if a good treatment is your longing. Is it more expensive than massages outside the hotel? Yes, considerably so- with the average Thai massage being 500-600 Baht an hour (15-20 USD) and the Dhara Dhevi being around 3500 Baht an hour (100-120 USD)- but that IS WAY LESS than what you'd pay in the states for a good massage and this wasn't just good- it was downright medicinal and extremely therapeutic; one of the top 5 massages I have ever had. Every movement done by their therapists are done with care and intention.

Only because they ask for it- if there would be room for improvement it would be these small things because this was a fantastic stay for me:
1) The spa needs a room where you can go and relax and steam before and after treatments. The spa is set up in individual villa like rooms- so you go in and leave immediately before and after treatments- it would be nice to go somewhere and relax
2) Need for slightly more bikes to ride around the grounds- they were all reserved when we got there
3) The website needs slight clarification in the room details- the square feet they use includes BOTH Inside and OUTSIDE square footage- the first room we had before the pool villa was a standard villa that I was expecting to be much larger given the square footage- but they included the outside den in that. So better pictures of each type of room and floorplans would be warranted here so people know what they are paying for.

Overall- will most definitely be back to this gem!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DharaDheviCNX, General Manager at The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Jenny Y,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write this review following your recent stay at Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai. We are glad to hear that you have a wonderful stay and that you enjoyed all aspect of the resort, especially the food. It was a pleasure to have accommodated you and please do not hesitate to contact us at any time should your travel plan to Chiang Mai arise in the future. We do look forward to welcoming you back to our resort again soon.

Kind regards,

Andrew Quinlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Overall, the Dhara Devi is an outstanding resort-style hotel with just a few short-comings that will matter to some guests and not to others.

First, the grounds are spectacular, especially in the early evening when the warm illumination creates a wonderful ambiance. It's highly recommended to spend an hour just walking around the grounds around sunset to take it all in. Overall, it often felt like we were alone in the resort - it's so spacious that the density of people is surprisingly low. The quiet at Dhara Devi is in stark contrast to the noise of Bangkok.

The villas themselves are quite nice - spacious, classically decorated and they offer a nice level of privacy that is often absent from traditional hotels. The outdoor lanai areas are a great place to have breakfast and we enjoyed lounging around for several hours each day to unwind.

From a service perspective, the staff is well trained, responsive and very friendly all around. We had a rather significant plumbing problem on our 2nd day at the hotel and the staff at the Dhara Devi did an excellent job responding to the problem and quickly/painlessly moving us to another villa so we could enjoy the rest of our stay. Really, we found the service at the Dhara Devi to be one of the highlights of the stay.

Finally, although we didn't take advantage of the activities etc. that are offered here - there are quite a few. The restaurants also seem quite nice although we prefer to eat more locally. The gym is nicely equipped for a hotel gym and can serve up a good workout.

A few things that some guests may need to consider:

1. Location - the Dhara Devi is outside Old Town and it's a good 15 minutes by car - therefore, not walkable. There is a free shuttle several times a day and taxis are extremely cheap - however, some people may prefer to be located more centrally.

2. Internet - wifi throughout the villas is pretty poor except in the immediate vicinity of the router (typically in the master bedroom). Additionally, during this stay, the internet service was suffering from a noticeable DNS configuration issue that was causing many requests to fail and significantly degrading the overall performance. This is probably a show-stopper for people who need to work or be "always on" while in Chiang Mai, however, a great deal of people probably won't care at all.

3. Size - the Dhara Devi covers some 60 acres and depending upon the villa, guests can be located quite a distance from the main buildings. This can be a plus - for example, during this stay, there was a large number of Chinese tourists, however, due to the size of the grounds there was plenty of room and the problems normally associated with such concentrations were mostly absent. We did wake up several mornings to find random Chinese people in the pool or on the deck but really this is more funny than anything else. There is a 24-hour golf-cart/buggy service that's quick and easy also and it makes the entire grounds reachable in just a few minutes.

4. The breakfast buffer (Mon-Sat) is a bit uninspired. Not a big deal at all.

For me personally, the 4 items above were not issues at all and I would heartily recommend this place.

Room Tip: Villa 1 is closest to the main grounds I believe. Villa 11 is quite far although there is a short-c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmm727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DharaDheviCNX, General Manager at The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear bmm727,

We are delighted to read such a wonderful review on your recent experience at Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai and thank you very much for your valuable time to write this. It was our pleasure to have accommodated you and we are delighted to hear that you had a great time exploring our resort as well as Chiang Mai city. Your comments will be shared to all as it shown that their efforts are truly appreciated by our guests. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to our resort again soon.

Kind regards,

Andrew Quinlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights at the beggining of our Honeymoon and after staying in quite a few more 5 stars hotels all around Asia we can say without a doubt that this was the best. Everything about it is perfect: the facilities, the rooms, the food, THE SPA!, but above all the staff. Do not miss the Degustation Menu at the Thai Restaurant, amazing!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank morteritos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DharaDheviCNX, General Manager at The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear morteritos1,

Thank you so much for sharing your fantastic experience with us and for choosing Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai to accommodate you for your special celebration. We are glad that your stay was a memorable one and that you were comfortable in our care. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to our resort again soon.

Kind regards,

Andrew Quinlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

My wife and I had stayed a couple of times when the Hotel was managed by Mandarin Oriental. Now without the MO brand, service has not suffered at all. In fact, it may even be better than before. The property is truly magical.. Thanks to Nuch, Nickey and Gicky for making our stay so wonderful. We are already planning our return next year.

Room Tip: The villas are terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DharaDheviCNX, General Manager at The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Lawrence B,

It was a pleasure to read your great comments and to welcome you back with us once again. Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience to all. We are glad to hear that your stay was comfortable and our colleagues took good care of you. Once again we thank you for your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you back to Chiang Mai and to our resort again next year.

Warm regards,

Andrew Quinlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.2 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,250 reviews
4.6 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 374 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
2.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,903 reviews
1.5 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#33 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai

Property: The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
Address: 51/4 Moo 1, Chiang Mai - Sankampaeng Road | Tha Sala, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Chiang Mai
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#1 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#1 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#2 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai is set on 60 acres of verdant tranquil grounds in the historical heartland of Northern Thailand. The hotel's unique design draws from the region's rich architectural and cultural heritage that flourished during the Lanna period, which lasted from the mid-13th century until the mid-16th century, and enjoyed a further resurgence in the last 200 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental Dhara Dhevi, Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Mandarin Oriental Chiang Mai
Mandarin Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing