We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From the pages of a photoshopped travel article!”
Review of Rachamankha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rachamankha
Ranked #8 of 389 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2011

The hotel is modelled on a lanna palace. It looks like the pictures you see in a travel magazine. It is simply beautiful. The rooms are cool and minimal yet furnished with antiques. The pool is large and perfect to swim laps in. The library is complete with brandy, books, newspapers and computers. The gardens are peaceful and relaxing. The service was wonderful, the waiting staff were available to bring cocktails to the pool, the rooms were cleaned at least twice a day and the manager, Paul, was available to give helpful local advice. The rooms have no personal balcony however the hotel is quiet and serene we didn't feel this mattered. I wish I was there now. Another important consideration was the tasty and extensive individually prepared breakfast.
The only possible downside could be the very occasional noise of dogs from the street when relaxing by the serene pool, however that was the only 'noise pollution' I heard. The hotel is in a quiet location near a larger street.
Location: pleasant walk to taepae gate approx 10mins or a cheap tuktuk ride. Also a cheap tuktuk ride to the night market. Walking distance to many temples.
In summary: amazing place to stay on our honeymoon. If you go to Chiang Mai stay here!

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheDespiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

771 - 777 of 1,114 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2011

My husband and I stayed at Rachmankha for 4 nights at the end of February and it was the perfect beginning to our Thailand trip. The pictures can't do justice to how beautiful this hotel is. When we were dropped off after a day at the Elephant Nature Preserve, the entire bus fell silent when we pulled up to Rachamankha and stared as we lucky ones got out and walked in. We felt like we were the only guests there, only seeing other people at the pool (which is fantastic after a hot day sightseeing). The free internet in the library was very appreciated and my husband enjoyed the free brandy as well. I especially liked that the housekeeper organized all my clothing, hanging up dresses and sorting out pants, shirts, etc, without being asked. The location is quiet but close to the sights. Even better, the price was extremely reasonable for the quality of service and accomodation. I would love to return to Chiang Mai, just to stay at Rachamankha again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElisaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Just stayed for three nights, - absolutely fantastic service, excellent food, simply magical setting and style / design, very relaxing, just perfect for honeymooners or families alike. The Lanna style decor will transport you back in time and make you feel like like royalty ! All the staff were very attentive and the General Manager of the property was kind enough to take me along to an art gallery. If you are heading to Chiang Mai and looking for a central location in a traditional style Rachamankha is the best possible - since it's a boutique hotel you won't find hundreds of people checking in and out like some of the larger hotels. I will certainly being heading back to Rachamankha, the sooner the better, - regards, Stuart

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetrotter2020_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

What a gem. Such a beautifully appointed resort right inside the walled city. It is a sophisticated retreat in a great location away from the craziness yet a quick tuk tuk ride to the action of Chiang Mai. Service staff was the best. Very quiet and serene environment. The rooms were quiet and comfortable. The grounds and architecture made me feel like i was at home on my own fabulous estate.
I

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffdesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

This hotel is extremely peaceful and serene. It's is located right near to most popular Chiang Mai temple so it's basically in the heart of Chiang Mai. The rooms are classy, old world meets new world, Thai decor. The buidlings within the compound are absolutely gorgeous. The property, overall, is designed so well. I presume it's because one of the owners is an architect. The food is delicious. They offer a range of cuisines that are fit for foodies, This hotel stay was a vacation away from our vacation and was perfection.

BTW, this hotel is hard to find. It's literally a hidden treasure.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nattfonti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

We had Valentine' s dinner and IT was excellent. Very nice servants.
Price/Quality top. I can advise everybody To go there. We were more than content!
JJL
The Netherlands

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

This oasis of calm is situated just off the busy streets of Chiang Mai and until you turn into the courtyard you don't realise it is there.
It is a relatively new building but blends effortlessly into the surroundings.
The hotel is a series of courtyards, quiet and peaceful. The rooms are dark, cool and rustic with everything you need.
The hotel houses the owners private collection of antiques and artefacts some of which were scattered around the hotel as part of the furnishings.
There is also a boutique.
The restaurant is in an adjacent building and has indoor and outdoor seating, the outdoor being in a courtyard. The atmosphere, especially in the evening is lovely with a log fire, lots of candles and with live authentic but unobtrusive Thai music. The food is good with both Thai and some western cuisine.
Breakfast was a la carte and good with plenty of choice. The waiters were very attentive, always topping up your coffee/tea and juices.
The pool was cold and sunbeds comfortable, however one side of the pool was always in the shade, maybe this is not so at other times of the year.
There is a wonderful library stacked with hundreds of interesting books which are available to borrow. Also free access to the internet. The complimentary brandy went down well in the evening!
The hotel provided us with a car and a driver on two occasions which enabled us to have a look at the places of interest in the area. Although slightly more expensive than alternative tour providers we were able to stop at any time and place for as long as we wanted. We were very well looked after.
Paul, the manager was a great help and extremely knowledgable about Chiang Mai and recommended other restaurants in the area which we were happy to try out.
The massage room was not to our liking as it overlooked the swimming pool and was open to the surrounding noises from the streets which didn't quite give us the relaxing experience we were looking for.
The only other quibbles we had were that the pillows were very hard and that the wardrobe was not full length, making the hanging of dresses or long skirts, trousers, etc impossible.
Apart from these quibbles we enjoyed our stay very much and would recommend the hotel to anyone visiting Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denandgeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.5 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#12 of 389 in Chiang Mai
1,459 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#18 of 389 in Chiang Mai
2,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 389 in Chiang Mai
2,439 reviews
1.0 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 389 in Chiang Mai
518 reviews
1.8 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rachamankha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rachamankha

Address: 6 Rachamanhka 9 | Phra Singh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#4 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £123 - £520 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rachamankha 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the center of the old moated city of Chiang Mai, Northern Thailand, Rachamankha is just one minute’s stroll to the old city’s most important and impressive temple, Wat Phra Singh; just 2 minutes stroll to the city’s newest and most exciting night market the Chiang Mai Sunday Walking Street Market, and a wide choice of bars and restaurants from local to international in style all within a few minutes’ walk of Rachamankha. Unique for a city hotel Rachamankha is renowned for its peaceful and very private atmosphere, and it’s incredible architecture. The hotel, just 22 rooms and 2 suites, is set in 2 acres of manicured grounds and the architecture pays homage to Chiang Mai’s golden age, the Lanna period, offering guests a unique stay in a unique property with a true sense of place. Rachamankha is also the only Secret Retreats property in northern Thailand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Southall Travel, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rachamankha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rachamankha Chiang Mai
Rachamankha Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing