We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Oasis of Calm and Luxury in A Bustling City!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rachamankha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rachamankha
Ranked #8 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Monica, California, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Oasis of Calm and Luxury in A Bustling City!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

My recent stay at Rachamankha was fabulous! My room was overlooking the serene and beautiful pool. I particularly loved the hotel at, when it was lit up and it really made the whole ambiance. I felt like I was living in some sort of a vacation palace. The room was spacious, well decorated in contemporary style with an Asian touch and equipped with an iPod docking station, very powerful hair dryer and mini bar. The bed was very comfortable and they use great quality linens that always made me want to roll on the bed whenever I came home to my room. Although they have only one restaurant, I never got tired of either their food or ambiance. The restaurant looks different day and night and the food is always amazing and has vast selections. Their wine list is quite large and has everything to please different palates. Since I was on a business trip, I had my meetings with several business partners over breakfast at the restaurant every morning. It was very quiet and the staff was professional, knowing when and not to interrupt my conversations while still providing exceptional service.

Chiang Mai is a very spread-out city, therefore; it is always an advantage to stay close to or in the heart of town. Rachamankha is centrally located in Chiang Mai Old Town where the popular Sunday market and Wat Prasihg are. While the hotel is walking distantance to several tourist attractions and the market, it is removed from the busy streets. You will embrace the serenity, very zen and peaceful environment of the hotel as soon as you walk into the hotel’s gate. Lastly, their well-trained staff completed my wonderful experience! They were very warm, efficient and welcoming. I sent the laundry out the morning and got it back the same day in a great condition with a reasonable price. They even went above and beyond by going to the post office to send my packages back to Bangkok for me.

Did I mention that the GM, Mr. Paul Walker, was one of the kindest GMs I have ever met? He will be happy to do anything to make sure that you will have the best experience at his property.

I strongly recommend to book Rachamankha for an upcoming visit to Chiang Mai and if you have any questions, I would happily help answer anything.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelwithPim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    818
    173
    49
    15
    4
See reviews for
133
567
68
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

Amazing small hotel - beautiful architecture, nice decor, neat pool area, charming library, great staff, delicious breakfast (and/or lunch and dinner) with great coffee. Centrally located in a quiet area. THE place to stay in Chiang Mai. Excellent romantic retreat for couples, but not only!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gilu_ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

There is but one place to stay when traveling to Chang Mai and this is that place. There is a peaceful serenity that washes over you as you enter the hotel grounds. It is at once calming and comforting. The accommodations are perfect and the staff attentive to your every need. This is paradise found. Look no further - you have found what you seek.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

The hotel is beautiful and a haven of serenity. The whole architecture has been designed with so much thought and manages to provide a perfectly tranquil environment. The service is excellent and the restaurant provides a nice variety of very good food. All in all , if you stay in Chainag Mai i would highly recommend if you want somewhere to relax away from the shopping and day trips

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, Ca
Level Contributor
131 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

My wife and I have traveled SE Asia for 12 years in a row. Rachamankha combines Thai history both in decor and architecture into a unique boutique hotel. The staff is the most well trained staff we have experienced, comparable to a 4 Seasons Resort. They are always present for your needs but not there at all. An amazing staff !!!! Credits to the manager.

The restaurant is superb. Price point is the same as better restaurants in town. If you want food for nothing then there are food carts out on the streets.

The rooms are spacious, nicely decorated with Lana Thai antiques as well as all public areas such as covered breezeways and walkways

Room Tip: They are all good!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TomBrodehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

I recently took my girlfriend for a 5 day 4 night break to Chang Mai to celebrate her birthday and wanted to show her the charm of the city and also the architecture and was highly reccomended the Rachamankha hotel.. and what a wonderfu reccomendation it was. The service right from the initial booking right until being dropped off at the airport for our departure was non invasive yet attentive to our every need. The rooms have an amazing charm due to the decor and quality of the furnishings. The hotel over-all is amazing and feels like an old temple that has been converted to be a hotel, but as i discovered is actually a new building designed to complient the Lanna period. The are some amazing artifiacts around the hotel such as peices of art work and old door fittings that compliment the over-all look. When you enter the hotel you are hit by how quiet it is yet you are located in the centre of the town, all you can here are birds and occasionaly the distant distinctive sound of a Tuk Tuk (local 3 wheeled taxi) This hotel and its staff made a a great week a perfect week and made my girlfriends birthday be one she and I shall always remember.

The food in the restaurant is exceptional and has a mixture of local northern Thai dishes as well as western dishes which we highly reccomend that you stay in for at least one evening to sample.

Thank you also to Paul the GM who arranged for flowers, a cake and also spa services which were all part of the birthday celebrations.

Will we go back again?? It is a 100% guarantee that we shall.

Many thanks to all at Rachamankha from Shaun & Valerie

Room Tip: If possible take the deluxe room it is worth the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shaunboulter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

My wife and I first stayed at the Rachamankha Hotel in Chiang Mai last year and we decided that we would try it again this year, for an extended amount of time. Boy were we glad we did. There's no question in our minds that this is Chiang Mai's hidden secret. A top-notch hotel with the best service, hands-down, that we have found anywhere in our travels.

The manager of this hotel, a very friendly British guy by the name of Paul, was just wonderful. Very accommodating and knowledgeable about the city and whatever we wanted to do. He introduced us to a vegetarian thai food restaurant that was out of this world, and he can arrange an excursion for anything you can imagine.

Apart from that, the rooms and the location are just incredible. We feel as if we're stepping into the past when we enter the grounds and we're treated like royalty--greeted by every staffer along the way. The beds are so comfortable and the wifi has been greatly improved now so we never had a problem getting online.

The food is wonderful--breakfast was always a pleasure in their formal but comfortable dining room--and the area is so nice and peaceful. Plus, we were within a short walk from a massive Sunday market that cuts through the old town and has everything under the sun on offer (the street food being the best in our book).

We will certainly be back to the Rachamankha again soon and we can't wait until the next visit. Thanks to the staff for making it such a memorable stay.

Room Tip: The deluxe suite has a gorgeous 4-poster bed that is so comfortable and big!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank starkdesignny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.6 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,246 reviews
1.0 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 374 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,903 reviews
1.8 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rachamankha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rachamankha

Property: Rachamankha
Address: 6 Rachamanhka 9 | Phra Singh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#4 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rachamankha 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the center of the old moated city of Chiang Mai, Northern Thailand, Rachamankha is just one minute’s stroll to the old city’s most important and impressive temple, Wat Phra Singh; just 2 minutes stroll to the city’s newest and most exciting night market the Chiang Mai Sunday Walking Street Market, and a wide choice of bars and restaurants from local to international in style all within a few minutes’ walk of Rachamankha. Unique for a city hotel Rachamankha is renowned for its peaceful and very private atmosphere, and it’s incredible architecture. The hotel, just 22 rooms and 2 suites, is set in 2 acres of manicured grounds and the architecture pays homage to Chiang Mai’s golden age, the Lanna period, offering guests a unique stay in a unique property with a true sense of place. Rachamankha is also the only Secret Retreats property in northern Thailand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Prestigia and Ctrip TA so you can book your Rachamankha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rachamankha Chiang Mai
Rachamankha Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing