We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,215)
Filter reviews
1,215 results
Traveller rating
934
200
59
17
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
934
200
59
17
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old city antique furniture beautiful hotel an oasis wat phra small buffet bustling city pool area is our honeymoon hotel restaurant breakfast is served common areas deluxe room thai food sunday night market chang mai nice pool
Filter
Updating list...
715 - 720 of 1,215 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2012

I recently spent 4 wonderful nights at the Rachamankha in a deluxe room. The room was clean, spacious and beautifully furnished with a large and comfortable 4 poster canopy bed. The bathroom was well fitted (including rain water shower) and well stocked with a lovely selection of toiletries.

The architecture, art and grounds of the property are very unique and tranquil. The Hotel has been very tastefully designed with lots of Asian art and antiques throughout the property.

I had most of my meals at the hotel and they were all delicious. The breakfast was extremely generous where you could choose up to three different dishes, so you could have a variety that was made fresh to order (I highly recommend the fruit and chocolate crepe). The restaurant had an indoor and outdoor seating area both with great ambience, in particular the outdoor setting. Dinner choices included Thai, Burmese and Western style dishes where I especially enjoyed the Burmese cuisine. For lunch you could have your meal and drinks delivered to the beautiful pool area.

The Staff were very efficient, attentive, friendly and helpful; one Staff Member personally escorted me to the VIP Green Bus ticket office to arrange my Chiang Rai bus ticket as I was having trouble locating the place, this level of service was greatly appreciated.

The hotels offers a small spa menu, where I had a great traditional Thai massage, you can also go to the Oasis Spa around the corner where they have a very extensive range of spa treatments (which I can also recommend). The hotel also has a small gallery of art / antiques, shop and a library all tastefully done.

Although tucked away in a quiet street of the old City is still very central to many sights including Wat Phra Singh (1 min walk) and other ornate temples; 3 mins walk to the awesome Sunday night walking market and about 5 mins to Wat Chedi Luang. You could probably walk to the Tha Phae Gate in about 15 - 20 minutes without stopping at all the lovely shops and cafes along the way, although that would be hard.

To venture outside the old City was approximately 80 baht to Night Market / Warowat area via Tuk Tuk. For longer trips e.g. Doi Suthep, Borsang and other more outlying attractions I had the hotel arrange a taxi for about 300 baht per hour, you may find cheaper on the street but they use a reputable taxi company with comfortable and clean cabs and many drivers speak good English.

This is truly an amazing property and would love to stay here again; it is a pure oasis of luxury!

I can highly recommend, a real treat to stay at.

Room tip: The deluxe rooms were beautiful.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SydneyKate_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We have stayed at this hotel before and their standards and value for money remain excellent. The hotel was full but the service was attentive and of the highest quality.We had not taken dinner at the hotel before but we were very pleased with the experience. The menu had a good choice of Thai and European dishes. The food was well presented and delicious. There was a good wine list, reasonably priced. The waiters were well trained and always there when wanted but never "in your face". Breakfast was a very civilised affair: taken outside in the courtyard in the relatively cooler winter weather was a nice leisurely way to start the day.
CRF

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CRFLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Excellent evening: dining in the warm courtyard was heavenly. The food was beautifully prepared and accompanied by traditional music. Very peaceful place. We did not stay here but others did and enjoyed the tranquility.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank ansubob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Love the setting of this little boutique hotel - central location, classic architecture and certainly different than a normal hotel. It's only 15 minute away from the airport so very convenient. We tried the restaurant, car service, swimming pool, the massage and basically nothing dissappoints.
And since they only have a handful of rooms (20 or something), most of the time you felt like you are here in this huge mansion by yourself.
The room wasn't big in Thailand standard but sufficient. They don't do buffet style breakfast but to us it's even better as everything's made to order. We also tried their restaurant in lunch and it's quiet and food's great. Wish they have a full-blown spa but they only got a massage room and Thai massage's available, but it's decent.
There's a temple right behind the hotel and some restaurants within walking distance, and we felt safe walking around even at night. Also some convenient stores right outside so if you want something you can always just get it.
All in all we love our stay and hope we will go back some time. Love this place (both the hotel and the city)!

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g4gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We stayed here for one night with our 11 month old daughter. If we were staying in Chiang Mai longer we would have stayed here for sure!
We had a crib in our room with fresh sheets and a little bear for our little girl to snuggle with while she slept.
The hotel is not in the main part of Chiang Mai, where all the markets are, but it is a great location to see beautiful temples and has a nice street within walking distance with some shops, cafes and foot massage parlors.
We were also offered a fabulous breakfast with fresh fruit, waffles, french toast, egg combinations etc.. a great variety on the menu.
If you are looking for a beautiful stay, a little off the regular path but near enough, this is it! The staff was incredibly nice.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bosxco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews