We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,200)
Filter reviews
1,200 results
Traveller rating
919
199
60
17
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
919
199
60
17
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old city beautiful hotel antique furniture lanna style an oasis bedroom suite wat phra small buffet bustling city pool area is our honeymoon hotel restaurant the hustle and bustle thai food sunday night market chang mai nice pool
Filter
Updating list...
698 - 703 of 1,200 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2012

i thought i would share with you some thoughts on this hotel
my boyfriend and i spent 4 weeks in Thailand and we spent 5 nights in this hotel.
Where to begin? it was amazing, the staff were incredible so friendly and really could not do enough to help us. nothing was to much trouble.
the hotel itself was beautiful and alot of thought has gone into the decore
we stayed on a B&B room and breakfast wow you did not go hungry the food was excelent and the would catre to your needs if you did not like certain foods.
location was good aswell a short walk from places to eat and a small taxi/tuk tuk ride into the new city.
so so worth a visit and very very worth the money

Room Tip: to be honest i dont think it matters what room you stay in as you will have a fab time anyway
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rach J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

We stayed in the hotel for 4 nights and loved every minute. The rooms were truly beautiful -we stayed in the standard and the superior rooms (which had a standard and a superior teddy bear in residence. respectively) as we had had to change our booking at the last minute - which they made no charge for. All the staff were the usual Thai standard of friendly, efficient, helpful and above all charming and the manager, Paul, a very useful English perspective on everything. Perfectly poitioned in the centre of towm and able to walk to pretty much everything in the city.

The only slight negative and I stress slight was the restaurant in the evening. Nice food but we generally ate better on our trip.

Overall an easy 5 star rating

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sussexb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

A stylish oasis in lovely Chiangmai off a small street behind Wat Phra Sing temple, where service was gracefully efficient and surroundings were tranquil and spacious. Within walking distance of one of the main streets yet far from the madding crowd; also conveniently only 10 minutes from the airport. Fairly recently built but in ancient Thai style, the rooms built around a central courtyard are large, traditionally furnished and bathrooms are roomy & well equipped. In another charming courtyard is the restaurant - a delightful spot for either their excellent breakfast or for dinner by candlelight with a traditional musician adding to the ambience. The hotel menu is varied and well-priced and certainly no more expensive than eating in some of the town's restaurants. Food & presentation all top notch, as you might expect from one of the relais & chateaux hotels. Thai food was excellent - we really didn't bother with anything Western! Service was the perfect combination of warm and friendly yet unobtrusive. Although there were many guests, the hotel never appeared busy, and guests just seemed to disappear into the woodwork somehow. Library was useful for reference material & internet access, (although there is also WiFi throughout), and whilst there is no facility for coffee or tea-making in the rooms, we did spot a decanter of brandy and some glasses in the library! The pool was perfect for lengths in the morning, and we often had it to ourselves in all its green surroundings. The General Manager was often on hand for a bit of a chat & friendly advice, rather than invisibly tucked away behind a desk, and his staff were charming and couldn't do enough for us - even to the extent of arranging for a purchase we had left to the last minute to be handled over the phone and delivered to the hotel for us. Can't really praise the Rachamankha enough, and we'll certainly be back.

Room Tip: Room 12 is right next to the pool!
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ARhys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

I recently spent 4 wonderful nights at the Rachamankha in a deluxe room. The room was clean, spacious and beautifully furnished with a large and comfortable 4 poster canopy bed. The bathroom was well fitted (including rain water shower) and well stocked with a lovely selection of toiletries.

The architecture, art and grounds of the property are very unique and tranquil. The Hotel has been very tastefully designed with lots of Asian art and antiques throughout the property.

I had most of my meals at the hotel and they were all delicious. The breakfast was extremely generous where you could choose up to three different dishes, so you could have a variety that was made fresh to order (I highly recommend the fruit and chocolate crepe). The restaurant had an indoor and outdoor seating area both with great ambience, in particular the outdoor setting. Dinner choices included Thai, Burmese and Western style dishes where I especially enjoyed the Burmese cuisine. For lunch you could have your meal and drinks delivered to the beautiful pool area.

The Staff were very efficient, attentive, friendly and helpful; one Staff Member personally escorted me to the VIP Green Bus ticket office to arrange my Chiang Rai bus ticket as I was having trouble locating the place, this level of service was greatly appreciated.

The hotels offers a small spa menu, where I had a great traditional Thai massage, you can also go to the Oasis Spa around the corner where they have a very extensive range of spa treatments (which I can also recommend). The hotel also has a small gallery of art / antiques, shop and a library all tastefully done.

Although tucked away in a quiet street of the old City is still very central to many sights including Wat Phra Singh (1 min walk) and other ornate temples; 3 mins walk to the awesome Sunday night walking market and about 5 mins to Wat Chedi Luang. You could probably walk to the Tha Phae Gate in about 15 - 20 minutes without stopping at all the lovely shops and cafes along the way, although that would be hard.

To venture outside the old City was approximately 80 baht to Night Market / Warowat area via Tuk Tuk. For longer trips e.g. Doi Suthep, Borsang and other more outlying attractions I had the hotel arrange a taxi for about 300 baht per hour, you may find cheaper on the street but they use a reputable taxi company with comfortable and clean cabs and many drivers speak good English.

This is truly an amazing property and would love to stay here again; it is a pure oasis of luxury!

I can highly recommend, a real treat to stay at.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms were beautiful.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SydneyKate_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We have stayed at this hotel before and their standards and value for money remain excellent. The hotel was full but the service was attentive and of the highest quality.We had not taken dinner at the hotel before but we were very pleased with the experience. The menu had a good choice of Thai and European dishes. The food was well presented and delicious. There was a good wine list, reasonably priced. The waiters were well trained and always there when wanted but never "in your face". Breakfast was a very civilised affair: taken outside in the courtyard in the relatively cooler winter weather was a nice leisurely way to start the day.
CRF

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CRFLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews