We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super chic boutique hotel”
Review of Rachamankha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rachamankha
Ranked #8 of 393 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Loved this hotel. Gorgeous decor, endless courtyards. Staff was very helpful and attentive. Only gripe was concierge was not very knowledgable- could really only pull brochures/catalogues of tour companies etc out. However still would highly recommend this hotel. Right in old city and walking distance to everything. Wish there was a gym though.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frenkem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

641 - 647 of 1,125 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2012

i thought i would share with you some thoughts on this hotel
my boyfriend and i spent 4 weeks in Thailand and we spent 5 nights in this hotel.
Where to begin? it was amazing, the staff were incredible so friendly and really could not do enough to help us. nothing was to much trouble.
the hotel itself was beautiful and alot of thought has gone into the decore
we stayed on a B&B room and breakfast wow you did not go hungry the food was excelent and the would catre to your needs if you did not like certain foods.
location was good aswell a short walk from places to eat and a small taxi/tuk tuk ride into the new city.
so so worth a visit and very very worth the money

Room Tip: to be honest i dont think it matters what room you stay in as you will have a fab time anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rach J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

We stayed in the hotel for 4 nights and loved every minute. The rooms were truly beautiful -we stayed in the standard and the superior rooms (which had a standard and a superior teddy bear in residence. respectively) as we had had to change our booking at the last minute - which they made no charge for. All the staff were the usual Thai standard of friendly, efficient, helpful and above all charming and the manager, Paul, a very useful English perspective on everything. Perfectly poitioned in the centre of towm and able to walk to pretty much everything in the city.

The only slight negative and I stress slight was the restaurant in the evening. Nice food but we generally ate better on our trip.

Overall an easy 5 star rating

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sussexb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

A stylish oasis in lovely Chiangmai off a small street behind Wat Phra Sing temple, where service was gracefully efficient and surroundings were tranquil and spacious. Within walking distance of one of the main streets yet far from the madding crowd; also conveniently only 10 minutes from the airport. Fairly recently built but in ancient Thai style, the rooms built around a central courtyard are large, traditionally furnished and bathrooms are roomy & well equipped. In another charming courtyard is the restaurant - a delightful spot for either their excellent breakfast or for dinner by candlelight with a traditional musician adding to the ambience. The hotel menu is varied and well-priced and certainly no more expensive than eating in some of the town's restaurants. Food & presentation all top notch, as you might expect from one of the relais & chateaux hotels. Thai food was excellent - we really didn't bother with anything Western! Service was the perfect combination of warm and friendly yet unobtrusive. Although there were many guests, the hotel never appeared busy, and guests just seemed to disappear into the woodwork somehow. Library was useful for reference material & internet access, (although there is also WiFi throughout), and whilst there is no facility for coffee or tea-making in the rooms, we did spot a decanter of brandy and some glasses in the library! The pool was perfect for lengths in the morning, and we often had it to ourselves in all its green surroundings. The General Manager was often on hand for a bit of a chat & friendly advice, rather than invisibly tucked away behind a desk, and his staff were charming and couldn't do enough for us - even to the extent of arranging for a purchase we had left to the last minute to be handled over the phone and delivered to the hotel for us. Can't really praise the Rachamankha enough, and we'll certainly be back.

Room Tip: Room 12 is right next to the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ARhys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

I recently spent 4 wonderful nights at the Rachamankha in a deluxe room. The room was clean, spacious and beautifully furnished with a large and comfortable 4 poster canopy bed. The bathroom was well fitted (including rain water shower) and well stocked with a lovely selection of toiletries.

The architecture, art and grounds of the property are very unique and tranquil. The Hotel has been very tastefully designed with lots of Asian art and antiques throughout the property.

I had most of my meals at the hotel and they were all delicious. The breakfast was extremely generous where you could choose up to three different dishes, so you could have a variety that was made fresh to order (I highly recommend the fruit and chocolate crepe). The restaurant had an indoor and outdoor seating area both with great ambience, in particular the outdoor setting. Dinner choices included Thai, Burmese and Western style dishes where I especially enjoyed the Burmese cuisine. For lunch you could have your meal and drinks delivered to the beautiful pool area.

The Staff were very efficient, attentive, friendly and helpful; one Staff Member personally escorted me to the VIP Green Bus ticket office to arrange my Chiang Rai bus ticket as I was having trouble locating the place, this level of service was greatly appreciated.

The hotels offers a small spa menu, where I had a great traditional Thai massage, you can also go to the Oasis Spa around the corner where they have a very extensive range of spa treatments (which I can also recommend). The hotel also has a small gallery of art / antiques, shop and a library all tastefully done.

Although tucked away in a quiet street of the old City is still very central to many sights including Wat Phra Singh (1 min walk) and other ornate temples; 3 mins walk to the awesome Sunday night walking market and about 5 mins to Wat Chedi Luang. You could probably walk to the Tha Phae Gate in about 15 - 20 minutes without stopping at all the lovely shops and cafes along the way, although that would be hard.

To venture outside the old City was approximately 80 baht to Night Market / Warowat area via Tuk Tuk. For longer trips e.g. Doi Suthep, Borsang and other more outlying attractions I had the hotel arrange a taxi for about 300 baht per hour, you may find cheaper on the street but they use a reputable taxi company with comfortable and clean cabs and many drivers speak good English.

This is truly an amazing property and would love to stay here again; it is a pure oasis of luxury!

I can highly recommend, a real treat to stay at.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms were beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SydneyKate_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We have stayed at this hotel before and their standards and value for money remain excellent. The hotel was full but the service was attentive and of the highest quality.We had not taken dinner at the hotel before but we were very pleased with the experience. The menu had a good choice of Thai and European dishes. The food was well presented and delicious. There was a good wine list, reasonably priced. The waiters were well trained and always there when wanted but never "in your face". Breakfast was a very civilised affair: taken outside in the courtyard in the relatively cooler winter weather was a nice leisurely way to start the day.
CRF

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CRFLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Excellent evening: dining in the warm courtyard was heavenly. The food was beautifully prepared and accompanied by traditional music. Very peaceful place. We did not stay here but others did and enjoyed the tranquility.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank ansubob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.7 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
1 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 393 in Chiang Mai
562 reviews
1.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 393 in Chiang Mai
2,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#15 of 393 in Chiang Mai
1,492 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#19 of 393 in Chiang Mai
3,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rachamankha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rachamankha

Address: 6 Rachamanhka 9 | Phra Singh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#4 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £162 - £616 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rachamankha 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the center of the old moated city of Chiang Mai, Northern Thailand, Rachamankha is just one minute’s stroll to the old city’s most important and impressive temple, Wat Phra Singh; just 2 minutes stroll to the city’s newest and most exciting night market the Chiang Mai Sunday Walking Street Market, and a wide choice of bars and restaurants from local to international in style all within a few minutes’ walk of Rachamankha. Unique for a city hotel Rachamankha is renowned for its peaceful and very private atmosphere, and it’s incredible architecture. The hotel, just 22 rooms and 2 suites, is set in 2 acres of manicured grounds and the architecture pays homage to Chiang Mai’s golden age, the Lanna period, offering guests a unique stay in a unique property with a true sense of place. Rachamankha is also the only Secret Retreats property in northern Thailand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rachamankha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rachamankha Chiang Mai
Rachamankha Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing