We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a tranquil place to be”
Review of Rachamankha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rachamankha
Ranked #9 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Corwen
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Such a tranquil place to be”
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed for six days. It was like an old colonial hotel but only 8 years old. Very quiet but still in the old part of the city. The service and attention to detail were second to none. The breakfasts were amazing but as there were the same choices on the menu every morning, we found that it became a little monotonous after six days.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    839
    183
    54
    16
    4
See reviews for
143
586
70
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

It was my last night in Chiang Mai for a business trip, and I am so grateful that Rachamankha gave me such a unforgettable wonderful stay.
Hidden in the center of old town, Rachamankha holds a specious land, it is very quiet at night but also only walking distance to access everything you need - temples, shops and restaurants, very easy to get around.
The ancient style of modern design built up a perfect atmosphere of decent luxury environment – the rooms are all in perfect shape, the library contains various books and some classy cognac for you to enjoy a cozy reading time, or hang out at the lobby lounge for a drink listening to the natural quietness breeze… what else do you need to ask for?
After a great night sleep, I enjoyed the sunshine in the courtyard, and a wonderful breakfast! Their staffs are all very kind and helpful, and very thoughtful – the waiter kept refilling my juice glass when he saw me kept drinking. :-)
Too bad I could only stay for one night, it is never enough time to enjoy a peaceful moment at such a beautiful hotel, and I’ll definitely go back again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This hotel was exquisite. The architecture was absolutely gorgeous, the rooms were luxurious and the hotel restaurant had the best food of our entire trip to Thailand. It was a welcome retreat after exploring Changmai, which can be somewhat tiresome with traffic etc.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma, California
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with another couple for 3 nights over the Yee Peng festival (local dialect) or Loy Khratong inThai which is celebrated for 3 days over the end of the Lunar year - the full moon in November. The rooms are stylishly furnished with antique reproductions yet retain a Spartan feel in spite of the inclusion of a mini bar, telephone and air conditioning.

The architecture and decor of the hotel reflect the Lanna heritage and include lovely gardens, an inviting pool and a library. Free Wi-Fi is included.

Even though the city was noisily celebrating this national and regional festival the hotel provided a quiet retreat. Service was friendly and excellent and the staff even helped us celebrate by giving us lantern blaoons to launch.

Excellent value for the price and highly recommended.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Attended wedding of Kenny n Anna at this hotel and everything was perfect and beautiful. The setting was amazing. The GM and his team did a splendid and amazing job.
Well done to everyone at the hotel for an awesome job

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureennn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This was probably the best hotel I have ever stayed in. Not just the rooms and ambiance, but the food was outstanding. It was included in package made by our travel agent and what a surprise. Our visit was in February and weather was perfect. So secluded, quiet, yet near the city center. It was just perfect.

Room Tip: don't remember our room number but it doesn't really make any difference. All rooms are on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

What a beautiful hotel. It is serene and charming. The rooms are cosy and tastefully done and the service is impeccable. The staff are well trained, attentive and warm. Highly recommended for anyone who wants a very satisfactory stay in Chiangmai. I too loved the breakfast and the outdoor dining area. It was a perfect place for an intimate wedding held by my brother. Top notch!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimeukhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.6 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,386 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 383 in Chiang Mai
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#11 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,413 reviews
1.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,002 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rachamankha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rachamankha

Property: Rachamankha
Address: 6 Rachamanhka 9 | Phra Singh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#4 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rachamankha 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the center of the old moated city of Chiang Mai, Northern Thailand, Rachamankha is just one minute’s stroll to the old city’s most important and impressive temple, Wat Phra Singh; just 2 minutes stroll to the city’s newest and most exciting night market the Chiang Mai Sunday Walking Street Market, and a wide choice of bars and restaurants from local to international in style all within a few minutes’ walk of Rachamankha. Unique for a city hotel Rachamankha is renowned for its peaceful and very private atmosphere, and it’s incredible architecture. The hotel, just 22 rooms and 2 suites, is set in 2 acres of manicured grounds and the architecture pays homage to Chiang Mai’s golden age, the Lanna period, offering guests a unique stay in a unique property with a true sense of place. Rachamankha is also the only Secret Retreats property in northern Thailand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rachamankha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rachamankha Chiang Mai
Rachamankha Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing