We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful pool and grounds, comfy bed!”
Review of Rachamankha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rachamankha
Ranked #8 of 380 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful pool and grounds, comfy bed!”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

The Rachamankha was a great place to start our Thailand adventure! The architecture and grounds are amazing and peaceful. The pool is a tranquil oasis and the beds are super comfortable. The hotel is in a pretty good location and is walking distance to Sunday Night Walking Street. I would definitely stay here again. The only things to be aware of is that a) the restaurant is very overpriced and b) the staff didn't help us negotiate the taxi fare or make sure the driver knew were we were going when we left as is pretty standard.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Attauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    829
    178
    52
    16
    4
See reviews for
138
577
69
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
123 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

To echo others, this is truly an oasis in the old city. Our Thai friend who accompanied us arranged for a tasting menu at the restaurant and it was truly the best food we had on our trip (and we had some great food!). The Thai massage I had in the spa near the pool was spectacular--you must try. Comfy bed with antique armoires in the room were nice. Beautiful orchids graced the large bathroom.

The staff were all helpful, including the gentleman who picked us up at the nearby airport.

Only flaw, and it was a small one, was the relatively short shower which you need instructions to figure out. Otherwise, with the location, the ambiance, the staff, and the restaurant, it was a perfect stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chefsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
149 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

This is a fantastic oasis of calm in CM. It looks a century old, yet was built in 2004, so all the plumbing and electrics are good, and the rooms have every amenity. Yet you feel that you are a guest at a monastery. There is a peaceful library and a tranquil pool. The staff are all helpful. The gardens are neat...even trimmed by hand clippers

But there is a guy who knocks during the 6-8 pm window asking if you need more toilet paper or water. No idea why, as the daily room cleaning ensured I had plenty of both. And he usually knocked when I was resting, or in the shower, or dressing for the evening

The wifi is absolute rubbish. The logon page takes ages to appear and then it jiggles about so it takes three goes to get the cursor set in the box. It has no remember-me and you have to keep on logging in every time.

It goes slow, and drops out constantly

I stayed at D2 and Chedi for six days previously, and their wifi worked fine, so it is not a CM thing. This hotel has picked the wrong ISP

So two important things to fix to bring the place up to the very high standards of everything else

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank BishopOfMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen aan Zee, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Nice boutique hotel with only 24 rooms. So plenty of space at swimming pool and restaurant. Very well located in the centre of Chiang Mai. Rooms are nicely decorated, but look old also old fashioned. The restaurant was somewhat disappointing.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klaas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corwen
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed for six days. It was like an old colonial hotel but only 8 years old. Very quiet but still in the old part of the city. The service and attention to detail were second to none. The breakfasts were amazing but as there were the same choices on the menu every morning, we found that it became a little monotonous after six days.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

It was my last night in Chiang Mai for a business trip, and I am so grateful that Rachamankha gave me such a unforgettable wonderful stay.
Hidden in the center of old town, Rachamankha holds a specious land, it is very quiet at night but also only walking distance to access everything you need - temples, shops and restaurants, very easy to get around.
The ancient style of modern design built up a perfect atmosphere of decent luxury environment – the rooms are all in perfect shape, the library contains various books and some classy cognac for you to enjoy a cozy reading time, or hang out at the lobby lounge for a drink listening to the natural quietness breeze… what else do you need to ask for?
After a great night sleep, I enjoyed the sunshine in the courtyard, and a wonderful breakfast! Their staffs are all very kind and helpful, and very thoughtful – the waiter kept refilling my juice glass when he saw me kept drinking. :-)
Too bad I could only stay for one night, it is never enough time to enjoy a peaceful moment at such a beautiful hotel, and I’ll definitely go back again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This hotel was exquisite. The architecture was absolutely gorgeous, the rooms were luxurious and the hotel restaurant had the best food of our entire trip to Thailand. It was a welcome retreat after exploring Changmai, which can be somewhat tiresome with traffic etc.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.6 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#11 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,322 reviews
1.0 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 380 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,953 reviews
0.5 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#13 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
3.1 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rachamankha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rachamankha

Property: Rachamankha
Address: 6 Rachamanhka 9 | Phra Singh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#4 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rachamankha 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the center of the old moated city of Chiang Mai, Northern Thailand, Rachamankha is just one minute’s stroll to the old city’s most important and impressive temple, Wat Phra Singh; just 2 minutes stroll to the city’s newest and most exciting night market the Chiang Mai Sunday Walking Street Market, and a wide choice of bars and restaurants from local to international in style all within a few minutes’ walk of Rachamankha. Unique for a city hotel Rachamankha is renowned for its peaceful and very private atmosphere, and it’s incredible architecture. The hotel, just 22 rooms and 2 suites, is set in 2 acres of manicured grounds and the architecture pays homage to Chiang Mai’s golden age, the Lanna period, offering guests a unique stay in a unique property with a true sense of place. Rachamankha is also the only Secret Retreats property in northern Thailand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Rachamankha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rachamankha Chiang Mai
Rachamankha Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing