We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rachamankha
Nearby Hotels
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bodhi Serene Hotel(Chiang Mai)
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$672
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$491
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$51
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$45
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainforest Boutique(Chiang Mai)(Great Value!)
US$37
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$33
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,172)
Filter reviews
1,172 results
Traveller rating
897
195
58
17
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
897
195
58
17
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold citybeautiful hotelantique furnitureoasis spalanna stylebedroom suitewat phrabustling citypool area isbeautiful poolour honeymoonrooms are comfortabletuk tukhotel restauranttucked awaycommon areassmall hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
534 - 539 of 1,172 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Arriving at Rachamankha was like leaving the modern world behind This small hotel is a beautiful property...serene, Zen-like feel and aesthetically very pleasing. Our room was simple but very tastefully decorated. The food at the restaurant was excellent. I loved the location of the hotel in the old city of Chiang Mai -- very close to one of the major temples. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

just to get things into context we had 3 nights here after having stayed in the mandarin oriental bangkok for 5 nights so there may be some unintended bias here.
the hotel itself is quite quirky and quiet and you don't really see many staff around. It feels like a bit of a retreat but its actually in a great location in the quiet part of town.
check in was very friendly but nothing was really explained so when we were around the pool (which is a lovely clean pool) we didn't really know how to get a drink etc. Theres nobody around to ask. I ended up in reception in my swimmers at which point someone showed me a telephone at the end of the pool. easy when you know how!
had a snack by the pool and food fairly good.
Rooms were large but fairly sparce with a 4 poster bed. You get the fealing that someone has designed this hotel for themself rather than for the guests but whilst it may be seen as edgy for chang mai which is a bit rural, its pretty basic.
One of the biggest let downs was breakfast where there is a limited choice. The cooked option is pretty poor. Service is a bit squiffy but mainly due to not great English being spoken which is a problem all over the hotel. In fact we had booked to eat in the restaurant one evening but we cancelled as a result of breakfast.
all of the public areas in the hotel are really well kept.
in summary, decent value for money in good location. Would stay there again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Epicureously
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The Rachamanka is incredibly charming and adorable and feels like a local boutique hotel should feel. Excellent location right in the old town by Wat Phra Sing and the hospitality is amazing. We felt very taken care of and very welcome. We loved all the little nooks to hang out and have a glass of wine and the breakfasts were great. The Rachamanka is full of small thoughtful details from the gorgeous china at breakfast to the small vile of natural citronella oil in that accompanies the bath products. We loved this place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

our family was here during the busy holiday season. Wonderful location, serene location. Staff was very friendly, English was ok, not great but we were in Thailand right. The pool setting was beautiful, great place to read a book and have a glass of wine after a full day of sight seeing. Breakfast was delicious. Only confusing thing was that initially it was not clear that if you had breakfast included you can order what ever you want or the menu in addition to the buffet without incurring any charges. Nice being in the old city, walking distance to Sunday night market which should not be missed.

Room Tip: We had two rooms, both were good.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sag75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Just back from 12 days at the Rachamankha in Chiang Mai, possibly the best hotel I've had the chance to experience in the region. It's located right in the hustle and bustle of the old city but you wouldn't know it from the serenity of the place: an archipelago of buildings designed in the Lanna style traditional to Northern Thailand (which had all but vanished before the celebrated Thai architect and his stepson decided to revive it, after extensive research in neighbouring temples).

Like the very best hotels, the Rachamankha creates a serene haven shielding the traveler from its picturesque (but over-stimulating) surroundings, but it does so without artificiality whatsoever. Everything here feels authentic and coherent, designed not to please the lowest (even if richest) common denominator but with the hope and confidence that the most demanding guest will understand and surrender to its vision.

The result is a comfortable, enlightening and uniquely satisfying experience where luxury is derived from simplicity, design and attitude. My favourite things at the Rachamankha: the beautiful library, the fireplace in the courtyard restaurant and the Thai rice soup hidden in the breakfast menu (simple pleasures!).

Things that could be improved: less Vivaldi and more Lanna music in the courtyard, adding specials to the menu (for those of us staying more than a few days) and movies by the pool on the warmer nights.

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mathieu R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews