We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely ...”
Review of Rachamankha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rachamankha
Ranked #8 of 395 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I really enjoyed my five nights at Rachamankha. The property is centrally located, the architecture, antiques and gardens throughout were absolutely beautiful. My room was a good size, very comfortable and the daily housekeeping was very nice.


The staff goes out of their way to make sure all needs are taken care of. I became ill with a migraine on my last day, shortly before I was supposed to leave for the airport. Paul helped me postpone my flight and put me into a room so I could rest and even went and picked up medication for me. He really went above and beyond. They also helped anytime I wanted to schedule a taxi or when I needed help with recommendations.

I highly recommend Rachamankha and my favorite things to do included the Chiang Mai Street Food Tours and the Red Chili cooking school.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

504 - 510 of 1,143 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014

As others have remarked, this is a tranquil oasis close to the centre of the city (less than 10 minutes on foot from the centre of the old city), and close to the well-known temple, Wat Phra Singh.

The complimentary champagne is a nice touch which we enjoyed one evening after a hard day's sightseeing. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel (though it did drop out from time to time).

We stayed in a superior room (room 7) in January 2014. The room is a fair size with a well-equipped ensuite (but no bath). All the furnishings are of an antique style (old and dark). The decor of the whole hotel is themed and very pretty it is too. The walls of the bedroom were thin and we could hear the neighbours showering (and singing, if we were unlucky). The plumbing in the bedrooms did have a few idiosyncrasies especially early in the morning (but that could have been localised to our room).

Service was good but the waiters’ understanding of English was fragile (it took three mornings before I got the cooked breakfast I was after - but that did lend an air of unpredictability to the occasion). Breakfasts were very good (we ate a lot!) - most of the food is western style. You can eat breakfast (and other meals) in an open courtyard (and most people did when we were there). Most of the day there is an open fire burning in the courtyard which gives the place a welcoming touch.

The gardens in the hotel’s grounds were carefully tended and were immaculate. Apart from sitting around the pool there were also outdoor covered areas where you could sit comfortably.

The Rachamankha hotel should be on your list of hotels to consider if you are coming to Chiang Mai. It is fairly expensive, but you do get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Les K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

My wife and I booked the New Years Eve dinner at the Rachamankha and it proved to be a splendid evening. This is a wonderful lanna style hotel - excellent architecture, great art and furnishings set in lovely grounds in the old city. New Years Eve 2013 was a wonderful fun evening with free-flow wine, spirits, Western and Thai buffet. The entertainment was varied with classical music, Thai cultural dancing, disco, live band and dancing - all al-fresco and thoroughly enjoyable. Fireworks and Champagne were supplied to welcome the New Year and great fun was had by all. The whole evening was well organised - the management and staff were wonderful despite being very busy throughout the evening. We will certainly make a point of returning for New Years Eve 2014. Well done.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BarryC49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Probably the best and finest hotel within the walls the old city, hidden in a quiet street a few minutes away from the famous Wat Phra Singh. The architecture is superb and the rooms are decorated with taste.
Modern equipment (including free wifi) and quality amenities,
Breakfast includes a choice of excellent western and asian dishes on order, and a buffet area for breads, cereals, fruits...
Welcoming staff.
Restaurants and spas within walking distance. And an easy 10 min tuk tuk ride to the busy night market at the other end of the city.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pippononlosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This hotel is so beautiful, quiet and relaxing. The service is first class and the rooms are lovely - with the exception of the bathroom as the shower tiles were damaged and poorly maintained, as was the toilet seat. Given the standard of the rest of the property that was really a disappointment.

However in every other way this hotel is a fantastic choice for Chiang Mai. Its located in a peaceful street but its no distance at all to the main attractions, a few minutes walk - and I'll say it again its really a beautiful place.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hastur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Excellent and exquisite hotel in a quite street. The hotel grounds and buildings are some of the most beautiful i have ever seen and creates a deep sense of quiet and peace. Big issues with logging on to their Wi-Fi network and the food at the restaurant is maybe not as exciting as the streetfood in Chiang Mai. They also seem to have forgotten to pick us up at the airport after we confirmed twice by e-mail. No apology offered and was even charged for the pick-up when we checked out. But ALL of this is forgiven because of the great staff and the unbelievable atmosphere.

Pool is excellent, rooms are awesome. would love to go back.

Room Tip: Rooms 14, 15. 16 and 17
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wikusdutoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Still the same quality and service as our last visit in 2013. Perfect combination of serenity and service, from check-in to check-out. Beautiful Lanna style hotel, perfect architecture and design, and authentic in every way. Wonderful restaurant for breakfast, lunch or dinner, again with that special Rachamankha service. The New Years Eve celebration is very special event, and should not be missed. Great place to stay on all levels!

Room Tip: Suites are quite spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.7 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
1 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 395 in Chiang Mai
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 395 in Chiang Mai
2,107 reviews
1.6 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#9 of 395 in Chiang Mai
2,532 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 395 in Chiang Mai
3,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rachamankha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rachamankha

Address: 6 Rachamanhka 9 | Phra Singh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £147 - £587 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rachamankha 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the center of the old moated city of Chiang Mai, Northern Thailand, Rachamankha is just one minute’s stroll to the old city’s most important and impressive temple, Wat Phra Singh; just 2 minutes stroll to the city’s newest and most exciting night market the Chiang Mai Sunday Walking Street Market, and a wide choice of bars and restaurants from local to international in style all within a few minutes’ walk of Rachamankha. Unique for a city hotel Rachamankha is renowned for its peaceful and very private atmosphere, and it’s incredible architecture. The hotel, just 22 rooms and 2 suites, is set in 2 acres of manicured grounds and the architecture pays homage to Chiang Mai’s golden age, the Lanna period, offering guests a unique stay in a unique property with a true sense of place. Rachamankha is also the only Secret Retreats property in northern Thailand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Agoda, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Rachamankha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rachamankha Chiang Mai
Rachamankha Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing