We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds, tranquil atmosphere, unique hotel”
Review of Rachamankha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rachamankha
Ranked #8 of 393 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I recently stayed at the Rachamankha for a family wedding, who's reviews i'm sure you will read below. Regardless of the amazing wedding, which was held in the hotel grounds and planned to perfection by the Hotel manager Paul creating an unforgettable day, I have to say the hotel itself is faultless. As soon as you reach the entrance you instantly escape the surrounding hustle and bustle of Chiang Mai Old City and you enter a tranquil little world within the Rachankha walls. I don't quite know they manage to create such a peaceful atmosphere within walking distance of the City, it must be Feng Shui, but this property is the most peaceful place I stayed at in Thailand. Highly recommended for anyone looking for some quality R & R after a day exploring Chiang Mai and it's many activities. The front desk were helpful, the restaurant and bar staff were on point, the housekeepers were attentive and the grounds were immaculately kept by the staff - the swimming pool was picture perfect (not an easy job after watching the tireless efforts of the staff picking up falling leaves!) The room itself was beatifully furnished, very comfortable and well facilitated. This hotel has an incredible feel to it. Like I said... faultless. Hats off to Paul and his staff!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

465 - 471 of 1,125 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed at the Rachamanka for 4 nights in february 2014.I have to say that the hotel is well situated in the old town (inside the old walls), that the whole architectural unity is simply gorgeous.
All the parts of the hotel are simply beautiful, the pool, the library, the outdoor sitting area, the dinner area, so much beauty for the eyes and so calm.....
The service is good and amiable.
On the other hand there are certain flaws that must be stated. We had a room (number 15) that was on the ground floor with absolutely no view thus creating a sense of claustrohobia and that smelled of damp when we fisrt came in.
The bathroom was not very clean as it should be in such a hotel and is rather old.
The breakfast in our opinion was poor when considering the price of the room. A buffet with the same things everyday, salad, yogurts,fruits, that where not even refrigerated and that were put directcly in contact with the sun.
You had to pay extra to have eggs!!! Absolutely not acceptable!
In our opinion the value for money is not good in Rachamanka although this hotel has a lot of potential and charm.....

Room Tip: Do not chose ground floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VASILIKI G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed at the Rachamankha for three nights. It's not in the main activity area of Chiang Mai but an easy 10-15 minute walk gets you where you need to go - or a very short tuk-tuk ride. The pool was big enough to swim some laps as a way to unwind after a long day of walking around the town.

The hotel restaurant is ok, their khao soi was the best I had in Thailand. The concierge was not so good at booking stuff last minute, but we found alternatives on our own.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grahamchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This is an elegant, traditionally styled hotel in the heart of Chiang Mai's old city centre. We recently spent four nights here for my son's wedding and cannot fault the experience, either as a place to stay or for the hotel's arrangements on the day of the wedding. Thanks to Manager Paul and his staff who made the whole trip trip very special.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I stayed at The Rachamankha Hotel for 6 nights, not only for a holiday but my son was married there too! Paul the manager and his team could not have worked harder or more deligently. They were all so professional and always cheerful. Nothing was too much trouble.
The hotel is unique with its sourced Thai antiques, stunning artwork and peaceful beautiful architecture. I swam in the pool every morning before breakfast and admired the perfectly manicured surrounding gardens. The hotel feels cherished and loved not only by those who work there but us simple folk who visit it. The menus were exciting and the food always delicious. I had a lump in my throat when I sadly had to leave but I didn't cry. I am saving HARD to return again! Teresa

Room Tip: The hotel was designed and built by an architect and designer who are the owners I believe. My best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresasawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I spent 3 nights here recently for a family wedding which was held in the hotel grounds and the whole experience was fantastic. From the moment my fiancé and I arrived the hotel manager, Paul looked after us and made us feel at home. The first thing I noticed was, although it’s located close to the centre, it was so quiet - as if we were in the middle of the countryside. The Lanna style of the hotel gives a serene vibe and the owners personal, ancient collection of antiques adds a real uniqueness, unlike stale 5* chain hotels. The pool area is chilled out and there is the option of both shade and sun. The library has a huge collection of amazing books of a selection of languages. The breakfast (and dinner) tables are set up in the courtyard restaurant (with tables indoors as well) and they serve a good range of food to set you up for the day. The evening food was also really tasty, as well as room service (which includes western food if you fancy a burger and chips, which I did the day after the wedding!) Finally, all the staff were extremely attentive and helpful and really made us feel at home. I can’t thank Paul enough for making our family wedding trip so fantastic!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I recently got married in this special hotel and would not hesitate to recommend it to anybody visiting Chiang Mai. It is in a great location in the old city, the hotel itself is a fantastic Lanna (northern Thailand) style boutique building which is exsquisitely maintained and full of beautiful antiques from Lanna culture and lots of Chinese pieces too. The best thing about this hotel is however not the great food, the stunning grounds and hotel, nor the comfortable stylish rooms; but the staff. Lead by the manager Paul, the hotel has assembled a team of great staff who often go above and beyond to ensure your stay is perfect.

My new wife and I had our wedding here in February and it was the perfect day. This was because of all the hard work and attention to detail that Paul (the manager), and all of his staff, put into the event. He helped tailor a wedding to our needs and guided us through the whole process and made it as easy as it could be for us. He oversaw the whole day and ensured it all went like clockwork: we literally could not have asked for more. We even saw the hotel owner (who lives next to the hotel) helping carry and arranging furniture - how is that for all hands on deck?

To conclude: if you are thinking of staying here, do, it is an oasis in the centre of the awesome city of Chiang Mai. If you are thinking of getting married in Chiang Mai, do it here, it was the perfect wedding day for us and actually very good value for money!

We will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baldtrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.7 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
1 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 393 in Chiang Mai
562 reviews
1.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 393 in Chiang Mai
2,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#15 of 393 in Chiang Mai
1,492 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#19 of 393 in Chiang Mai
3,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rachamankha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rachamankha

Address: 6 Rachamanhka 9 | Phra Singh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#4 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £162 - £616 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rachamankha 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the center of the old moated city of Chiang Mai, Northern Thailand, Rachamankha is just one minute’s stroll to the old city’s most important and impressive temple, Wat Phra Singh; just 2 minutes stroll to the city’s newest and most exciting night market the Chiang Mai Sunday Walking Street Market, and a wide choice of bars and restaurants from local to international in style all within a few minutes’ walk of Rachamankha. Unique for a city hotel Rachamankha is renowned for its peaceful and very private atmosphere, and it’s incredible architecture. The hotel, just 22 rooms and 2 suites, is set in 2 acres of manicured grounds and the architecture pays homage to Chiang Mai’s golden age, the Lanna period, offering guests a unique stay in a unique property with a true sense of place. Rachamankha is also the only Secret Retreats property in northern Thailand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Southall Travel, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rachamankha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rachamankha Chiang Mai
Rachamankha Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing