We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquility, beauty and charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rachamankha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rachamankha
Ranked #8 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Tranquility, beauty and charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Much thought has gone into the design of this unique hotel and it shows - around every corner is another peaceful setting to capture the eye. The courtyard layout is charming and you do feel as if you have stepped into another world when you enter the gates of the property. The location is within the city walls of this hectic, busy town but once inside the property, you are unaware of the bustle outside. And it is very convenient for getting around - either on foot or by tuk-tuk.

Our room was a deluxe one on the ground floor. There was plenty of space but the huge wardrobe (which wasn't tall enough for dresses) and the four-poster style bed took up much of the floorspace. Being a bit short, I struggled with the bed which had a wooden shelf all around but eventually I stopped banging my shins .... ! Nevertheless the furniture was in keeping with the Lanna style theme. The bathroom (only a shower) was a bit small but functional. My only complaint was the window curtains in the room were very dusty.

The pool area was lovely. Other plus points - good free WiFi, tea and coffee facilities and a sensible size room safe.

We loved the courtyard restaurant and dined there several times listening to the traditional music being played gently in the background by the resident musician.
Both the Thai and western food selections were excellent. Breakfasts were also good.

The staff were (on the whole) charming, attentive and helpful. After a bit of a struggle with the concierge, we managed to book two trips which were tailored for us and which we enjoyed - particularly when driven by the hotel's own driver. However, no-one thought to tell us about the regular shuttle bus to a shopping centre or that the silk houses will pick you up from the hotel. We found these out by chance. Some information in the room would be helpful in this respect. We had been there nearly a week before spotting the manager but by then we'd figured most things out.

We did enjoy our stay there and would be happy to return. I will certainly be recommending to friends without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveFrenchWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    823
    176
    51
    15
    4
See reviews for
136
572
68
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We visited the hotel in February 2014 and I have nothing but praise to pass on. The location is perfect, from the moment we arrived we were amazed by the design and beauty of the hotel. All the staff were wonderful, so friendly and helpful. The tourist office opposite the hotel was also excellent, we had great fun on all of our booked trips. The Rachamankha is truly magical we have never stayed anywhere quite like it, we loved it - Fabulous!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 144Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Loved this hotel we stayed for a week the location is in the centre of the walls , the pool is really quiet and great to chill out in. The restaurant is good . Very reasonable prices. If you want any trips the tourist information outside the gate has a lovely young lady who booked us a cookery school , tiger kingdom and a spa. Loved Chiang Mai we will come back and stay here again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandR9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

I recently stayed at the Rachamankha for a family wedding, who's reviews i'm sure you will read below. Regardless of the amazing wedding, which was held in the hotel grounds and planned to perfection by the Hotel manager Paul creating an unforgettable day, I have to say the hotel itself is faultless. As soon as you reach the entrance you instantly escape the surrounding hustle and bustle of Chiang Mai Old City and you enter a tranquil little world within the Rachankha walls. I don't quite know they manage to create such a peaceful atmosphere within walking distance of the City, it must be Feng Shui, but this property is the most peaceful place I stayed at in Thailand. Highly recommended for anyone looking for some quality R & R after a day exploring Chiang Mai and it's many activities. The front desk were helpful, the restaurant and bar staff were on point, the housekeepers were attentive and the grounds were immaculately kept by the staff - the swimming pool was picture perfect (not an easy job after watching the tireless efforts of the staff picking up falling leaves!) The room itself was beatifully furnished, very comfortable and well facilitated. This hotel has an incredible feel to it. Like I said... faultless. Hats off to Paul and his staff!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki Region, Greece
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed at the Rachamanka for 4 nights in february 2014.I have to say that the hotel is well situated in the old town (inside the old walls), that the whole architectural unity is simply gorgeous.
All the parts of the hotel are simply beautiful, the pool, the library, the outdoor sitting area, the dinner area, so much beauty for the eyes and so calm.....
The service is good and amiable.
On the other hand there are certain flaws that must be stated. We had a room (number 15) that was on the ground floor with absolutely no view thus creating a sense of claustrohobia and that smelled of damp when we fisrt came in.
The bathroom was not very clean as it should be in such a hotel and is rather old.
The breakfast in our opinion was poor when considering the price of the room. A buffet with the same things everyday, salad, yogurts,fruits, that where not even refrigerated and that were put directcly in contact with the sun.
You had to pay extra to have eggs!!! Absolutely not acceptable!
In our opinion the value for money is not good in Rachamanka although this hotel has a lot of potential and charm.....

Room Tip: Do not chose ground floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VASILIKI G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed at the Rachamankha for three nights. It's not in the main activity area of Chiang Mai but an easy 10-15 minute walk gets you where you need to go - or a very short tuk-tuk ride. The pool was big enough to swim some laps as a way to unwind after a long day of walking around the town.

The hotel restaurant is ok, their khao soi was the best I had in Thailand. The concierge was not so good at booking stuff last minute, but we found alternatives on our own.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grahamchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

This is an elegant, traditionally styled hotel in the heart of Chiang Mai's old city centre. We recently spent four nights here for my son's wedding and cannot fault the experience, either as a place to stay or for the hotel's arrangements on the day of the wedding. Thanks to Manager Paul and his staff who made the whole trip trip very special.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.6 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,289 reviews
1.0 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 375 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,926 reviews
0.5 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#14 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
3.1 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rachamankha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rachamankha

Property: Rachamankha
Address: 6 Rachamanhka 9 | Phra Singh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#4 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rachamankha 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the center of the old moated city of Chiang Mai, Northern Thailand, Rachamankha is just one minute’s stroll to the old city’s most important and impressive temple, Wat Phra Singh; just 2 minutes stroll to the city’s newest and most exciting night market the Chiang Mai Sunday Walking Street Market, and a wide choice of bars and restaurants from local to international in style all within a few minutes’ walk of Rachamankha. Unique for a city hotel Rachamankha is renowned for its peaceful and very private atmosphere, and it’s incredible architecture. The hotel, just 22 rooms and 2 suites, is set in 2 acres of manicured grounds and the architecture pays homage to Chiang Mai’s golden age, the Lanna period, offering guests a unique stay in a unique property with a true sense of place. Rachamankha is also the only Secret Retreats property in northern Thailand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rachamankha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rachamankha Chiang Mai
Rachamankha Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing