We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place where location is not a factor”
Review of Rachamankha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rachamankha
Ranked #7 of 389 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Rachamankha is a good example of being boutique hotel where served and provided happiness stay with amazing design throughout hotel. Not many locals know of this hotel's location, very narrow road going into the hotel, once reached hotel, you don't care any more of hotel's location.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PoomyTheBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

446 - 452 of 1,116 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

My husband and I were on our honeymoon and we were so happy we chose to stay at this hotel. I read that it was very quiet and that's exactly what I was looking for. I wanted a peaceful place to rest after a busy hot day. As it was our honeymoon we were given a bottle of sparkling wine which was a lovely touch. We were also given a room that was located in an extra quiet part of the hotel as I requested this.
The staff were friendly and prompt whenever we needed something. For example I found the bed extremely hard and when we asked for a topper for the bed they quickly had the housekeeping staff come with a soft topper for the bed which was wonderful.

The pool was beautiful and clean. A nice place to relax after a busy day. The breakfast was nice, the same menu every day but food was fresh and cooked to order.

The hotel is located in a great location. Many restaurants and pubs located within walking distance. We loved the location for exploring the city.

I would defiantly recommend this hotel to others who are looking for a quiet peaceful place to relax. Every time we got picked up by a bus for our tours the other people on the bus would say to us how nice the hotel looked.
I don't recommend this hotel to people who want a lively place with lots of other young people to meet. This is really geared towards couples and quieter families. The youngest child I saw there was around age 8-10. I did not see any toddlers at the time we were there.

Room Tip: Send an e-mail to the hotel with room requests. They said the rooms on the main floor were quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skigal16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I did not actually stay in the hotel, but I did visit it with friends and had a detailed tour as I was planning a trip for a group of foodies from Hong Kong. The hotel is an oasis ina city that throbs with all the noise and excitement of any great tourist town. But a return here must feel like a cool and soothing shower. The grounds have been laid out in Chinese "fung shui" style with linear structures broken by "doors" that direct the "fung" or energy apparently in some magic way. The whole ambiance is just one of tranquility that makes you slow down and pause to take in the art, the architecture, the antiquities and the authenticity of the place. Basically this place makes you slow down and "smell the roses". One recommendation, ask to try the Northern Thai food sampler. Just wonderful taking in a cross section of all the regional cuisines from Burmese to even Kuomintang Shang hill country dishes. Be warned, you may never leave the hotel grounds!!

Room Tip: Forget the rooms, they are all wonderful. Try the restaurant for a real local treat
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mister8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stunning boutique hotel with a zen thai temple charm. The hotel has open, frangipani scented courtyards, tropical plants and water features. The room is a stylish minimalist-type room mixed with antiques and local handicrafts,\. The hotel uses Lanna art and interior design. It was a nice just walking to breakfast through the open air courtuards. Not a big hotel so you don't have to worry about crowds. 1 restaurant, 1 bar.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roberto f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed here for the first half of our honeymoon in December 2013, and were treated to a lovely, peaceful time in this boutique hotel. The beautiful Lanna architecture, and tasteful artefacts dotted around the compound, and the museum filled with a private collection of ancient swords and vases added to the otherworldly atmosphere of Rachamankha. We loved the bustle of the main city when we were out during the day, but thoroughly enjoyed coming back to a relaxed and restful place. We even hardly saw other guests! The staff were polite, pleasant and dutifully attended to us, but our language barrier made it a bit difficult to communicate comfortably. It also would have helped if the staff had informed us that our complimentary buffet breakfast included the a la carte items on the menu. Overall, however, we highly, highly, HIGHLY recommend Rachamankha as not just a place to stay but also a destination to rest and unwind.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rkelbrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

If you like quiet, this place fits the bill. The night bazaar was just a few ride away and cost about 40 to 60 Baht. The breakfast was not that good and if you want hash browns with your eggs you will be surprised when it arrives, there maybe was a quarter of a small potatoes worth and they were always over cooked, the Continental breakfast was very minimal.

Room Tip: Don't stay here unless you really like quiet and I mean quiet, I don't think we ever heard a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights, in a first floor superior room.

As you come through the entrance gates, you begin to feel the calm and welcoming atmosphere of this property.

It is essentially built as a number of different courtyards, around which are the rooms on two floors. Art works and statues are everywhere, creating a grand but homely environment.

Our room and bathroom were a good size, with all of the usual electronic and toiletry bits you would expect.

The pool is lovely and effectively the centre of another courtyard.

It is quite difficult to describe the experience of staying here. It is not at the standard of the Mandarin or Four Seasons (nor is at their price point!) and yet it is a quality hotel with a unique feeling. I can only explain that as the days went by, we returned from our trips each time happy to be back in this welcoming serene environment.

I could pick at some parts of the F&B operation, or the bathroom finishes. I don't think this would be fair. This hotel offers a unique experience, at a good price and I would happily return.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank DB_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.5 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#11 of 389 in Chiang Mai
1,461 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 389 in Chiang Mai
2,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#9 of 389 in Chiang Mai
2,440 reviews
1.0 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 389 in Chiang Mai
518 reviews
1.8 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rachamankha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rachamankha

Address: 6 Rachamanhka 9 | Phra Singh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#4 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £124 - £546 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rachamankha 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the center of the old moated city of Chiang Mai, Northern Thailand, Rachamankha is just one minute’s stroll to the old city’s most important and impressive temple, Wat Phra Singh; just 2 minutes stroll to the city’s newest and most exciting night market the Chiang Mai Sunday Walking Street Market, and a wide choice of bars and restaurants from local to international in style all within a few minutes’ walk of Rachamankha. Unique for a city hotel Rachamankha is renowned for its peaceful and very private atmosphere, and it’s incredible architecture. The hotel, just 22 rooms and 2 suites, is set in 2 acres of manicured grounds and the architecture pays homage to Chiang Mai’s golden age, the Lanna period, offering guests a unique stay in a unique property with a true sense of place. Rachamankha is also the only Secret Retreats property in northern Thailand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rachamankha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rachamankha Chiang Mai
Rachamankha Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing