We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very stylish and intimate” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rachamankha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rachamankha
Ranked #8 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Chiang Mai
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very stylish and intimate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

The Rachamankha is a wonderful place. Although the hotel has been recently built you have the impression you stay in a building that has been there for more than a century. I has so much atmosphere. It is located in the old city and it is easy to get around. You can walk to some beautiful temples and it is also close to the Sunday Walking Street which we really enjoyed. Rooms were comfortable, pool is great and the restaurant is just wonderful. We also like the open public spaces. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FransBet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    819
    173
    49
    15
    4
See reviews for
134
567
68
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
192 reviews
181 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

I will do not write again and again the same things I already wrote about Rachamankha but I will just advise any traveler who wants to experience a very authentic Thai experience to run to Rachamankha. This is a small, so beautiful and wonderfully maintained hotel, actually more an house than an hotel, wonderfully located in the old part of Chiang Mai and where each corner is a true pleasure for eyes. The property is full of pieces of antiques giving a strong atmosphere and the impression to be welcomed in the house of friends.
We return to Rachamankha year after year and we always have the feeling to be fulfilled with positive energy and this rare and so enjoyable full and deep happiness. This is a place so serene and truly one of the most fantastic decoration we saw around the globe. This time we stayed in a Deluxe room located on the first floor and we truly loved it, spacious and with a very nice scheme of colors. To relax, the pool is an eden, the library is ideal to read a nice book and there is a little Spa offering nice treatments and cheaper than in many offsite spas.
People who are working at Rachamankha can be a bit shy but they're all adorable and Paul, the sensational GM will ensure everything is going right for all the guests, always around with a nice word and a generous smile.
The restaurant is also very lovely and offers a wonderful authentic cuisine at a very affordable price. And nothing is better than this courtyard to have the most romantic dinner ever.
To resume, I'd say just go to Rachamankha to have an experience you will never forget, it's not even expensive and will bring to you an incredible amount of joy and pleasure. GREAT.

Room Tip: A deluxe or one of the two magical 2 bedrooms suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RCBLHKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

I stumbled upon this place on the internet. It's a TRUE gem. Breakfast was included and it's just amazing. The pool is stunning, the rooms are clean and cool, and the entire place is so historical and immaculately kept. You feel like you are in the middle of nowhere on the grounds, when really, you're just off the street. It's in a perfect location too. Right inside the main square, and walking distance to mostly everything. I want to go back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, il
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

My friend and I stayed in 3 hotels in Thailand, and this was our favorite. The grounds are amazing, it is like a sanctuary / hotel / museum / spa all in one. The breakfast is delicious, and the service is excellent. The rooms and the architecture are beautiful. The setting is just unreal - I feel so blessed to have found this authentic location, and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megnchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We also stayed in this hotel during Songkran but had a lovely peaceful stay. Rooms were traditional and very different from the standard hotel room which added to the atmosphere.The staff were wonderful.. gentle and polite..and we were able to make them understand what we wanted easily. The only low point was the breakfasts which we found basic and rather disappointing. The restaurant was excellent and reasonably priced at other times.
We got very, very wet when we went out of the hotel. Songkran lasts for five days in Chiang Mai and buckets of water were still being thrown at anyone passing by at the end of the holiday..some of them contain water from the moat near the city walls which is almost pond water, worth noting if you intend to go to that part of the city! You were only safe if in an enclosed taxi ( the open taxis had buckets of water thrown in them at traffic lights and in slow traffic) We would go back in an instant, making sure we avoid Songkran next time..getting soaked every time you leave the hotel wears off after a while.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rumbeke, Belgium
Level Contributor
118 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We arrived in Chiang Mai in the Songkran period, so we got wet. The hotel is well located, staff do not speak english !!( or very poorly ). The view of the hotel is beautiful, very calm ( not really good to go there with children ), colonial style. The bathroom is not up to standard (investments need to be done ), lots of bugs ( but that is Thailand ). A nice hotel but no 5 stars

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peter v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
167 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Great design, clean rooms, comfy beds, friendly staff. While the breakfasts were very good I would not recommend the restaurant for dinner-- a bit blah for what else is out there, although the setting is nice and the musician is excellent. Otherwise I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, which is a gem. Also well located for sightseeing.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gvaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.6 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,252 reviews
1.0 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 374 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,907 reviews
3.1 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.1 mi away
BED Phrasingh Hotel
BED Phrasingh Hotel
#5 of 374 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rachamankha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rachamankha

Property: Rachamankha
Address: 6 Rachamanhka 9 | Phra Singh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#4 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rachamankha 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the center of the old moated city of Chiang Mai, Northern Thailand, Rachamankha is just one minute’s stroll to the old city’s most important and impressive temple, Wat Phra Singh; just 2 minutes stroll to the city’s newest and most exciting night market the Chiang Mai Sunday Walking Street Market, and a wide choice of bars and restaurants from local to international in style all within a few minutes’ walk of Rachamankha. Unique for a city hotel Rachamankha is renowned for its peaceful and very private atmosphere, and it’s incredible architecture. The hotel, just 22 rooms and 2 suites, is set in 2 acres of manicured grounds and the architecture pays homage to Chiang Mai’s golden age, the Lanna period, offering guests a unique stay in a unique property with a true sense of place. Rachamankha is also the only Secret Retreats property in northern Thailand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Rachamankha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rachamankha Chiang Mai
Rachamankha Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing