We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Host with the mostest”
Review of Rachamankha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rachamankha
Ranked #9 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
291 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Host with the mostest”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

A fantastic place to stay in Chiang Mai. Easy walking distance to everything within the walled city. Restaurant was great, nice food, very quick and attentive service. They even put out a chair for my partners handbag!
Personal driver well worth having, Noy was excellent, chatty, knowledgeable and good fun.
Was impressed with welcome letter from Paul, the General Manager. Recommendations for restaurants and attractions were very good.
Paul was also fantastic in helping us with a very late check out, which was complicated by having to have medical equipment remain cool at all times. He went out of his way to ensure that this happened and that everything ran smoothly.
Impressed to see the General Manager on site and very approachable.
Thank you Paul.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beaustravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    834
    179
    52
    16
    4
See reviews for
141
580
69
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We selected this hotel based mainly on location. It is based in old city within the gates if old Chiangmai Mai and convenient short walks to the Saturday and Sunday night markets. The main temples are all within walking distance, so you can't beat this place for location.

The location of the hotel is down a one way street which deceptively appears to be leading to a backpacker hostel type of hotel. However, you know when you have arrived as the large white statues at the gate open out to a lovely courtyard.

This is a small hotel in a lovely almost colonial style, interspersed with authentic Asian themes like bonsai trees in well placed location to match the overall ambience. I understand that the owner has picked all decorative items personally, and this attention to detail shows.

I'd like to describe the hotel in great detail, but I wouldn't want to spoil the pleasant surprise for the first time visitor.

Suffice to say, don't forget to explore the hotel in full.

The pool area in particular is a visual treat.

If the management is reading this, I'd recommend becoming a member of SLH. We have been to many hotels on the SLH (small luxury hotels) list, and this hotel beats some of them with ease.

Room Tip: The rooms all open out to a central courtyard, which amplifies sound. Not a big problem as we had no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We spent the last 4 nights at Rachamankha and I am already looking forward to my return visit. It is a serene, boutique hotel in the heart of the old city. It is also excellent value for money, although not cheap for chiang mai. We stayed in the cheapest room, which was spacious enough with a large double bed, two cupboards, an enormous TV (apparently you could borrow DVDs from reception) and a wonderful en suite. There was complimentary water in our room, with plenty of toiletries, tea and coffee making facilities and even letter writing stationary! Breakfast was included and the best I have had at any hotel in many years. It was waiter service and you could choose up to three courses, with an enormous variety from omelettes, pancakes, cereal, fruit or a traditional Thai soup.

The hotel is in a beautiful building, which was built recently but in a traditional style. It was almost like a small, Thai forbidden city, with lots of courtyards decorated with beautiful antique furniture. The pool was such a treat- perfect to cool down from after a hot tour of the city and we always managed to find a spare sun lounger.

I see that some people complained here that the pool bar was not always staffed but you could phone reception/the concierge if you needed anything and I found there were always staff around waiting to assist you.

There were ample facilities also. I had two massages in the pool spa, which were so blissful and reasonably priced for the location, convenience and standard (you are able to get much cheaper massages in any roadside massage parlour, but they will not be as private and as they are much busier, less relaxing).

We ate at the restaurant one evening and I think it was the best food we had in Thailand. It had a Burmese influence, as well as offering many traditional thai dishes and was delicious. The bar also served a brilliant gin and tonic (so is highly rated in my opinion!)

Paul the general manager was very friendly and helpful in suggesting other great restaurants to try. We also tried the room service, which was quick, tasty and reasonably priced. The hotel also has a 'library' where you can go to work, with two computers to use and a printer if you need to print anything. The free wifi, perhaps, was one of the only unreliable things in the hotel (it logged you out very quickly and didn't always allow you to re-log in, but the signal strength was good throughout the hotel) and being able to use the computers was incredibly useful!

It was very easy to hail and tuk tuk or taxi from outside the hotel, the hotel is 5 minutes walk away from the most prominent temple in the city. There was also an excellent travel agent (Smile travel agent- the shop opposite the entrance to the hotel that says 'tourist information' on the outside) who we popped into several times to arrange tours, temple excursions, spa treatments in other resorts and other activities.

Also the taxi from the airport to the hotel cost us 120-150baht.

All in all, an excellent hotel that I would love to return to!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
465 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

I staid here for 2 nights and it was perfect. The property is so well designed and so peaceful. Located in the a city it is a perfect walk to everything.
I initially thought that the place was converted from an older residence, but was so shocked to do find out that the place was completely imagined and thought of from scratch.
Every minute detail was thought of and created.
From the relaxing pool to the beautiful lounge areas where I sat and read during little rain storms.
Only slight negative is the concierge or rather front desk staff not being a little more proactive with requests and lack of warmth

Other then that I would definitely stay at this property again :)

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank angelina1813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Our nine day stay at The Rachamankha was flawless. The Hotel is impeccable- a piece of art- with service to match. Undoubtedly, this is the nicest boutique hotel that we have stayed in anywhere in our world travels. My partner and I had a chance to meet the owner who was so gracious and proud of the wonderful hotel that he created. Paul, the General Manager, attends to every detail and is always available with the latest insider tips to exploring and enjoying the wonderful city of Chiang Mai. Forget the big name and pricey hotels and stay at the Rachamanka and experience true service in a beautiful serene setting with Chiang Mai at your doorstep.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Len-Jon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
217 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is a secret retreat indeed! Once you walk though the doors you enter a beautiful tranquil oasis. The architecture and antiques are impressive. We loved the swimming pool especially at night under the stars. We also really enjoyed our breakfast each morning - a wonderful choice with beautifully set tables. We did not eat any other meals there.

We had such a wonderful stay and enjoyed the sitting areas so much we opted to give them an overall rating of a 5, however – the knowledge of the staff and the bathrooms only get a “3”. The staff was very sweet and friendly – but their knowledge of the local area and what is going on in the city is minimal. The bathrooms need a refresh, as they were not commensurate with the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The Rachamankha is a wonderful place. Although the hotel has been recently built you have the impression you stay in a building that has been there for more than a century. I has so much atmosphere. It is located in the old city and it is easy to get around. You can walk to some beautiful temples and it is also close to the Sunday Walking Street which we really enjoyed. Rooms were comfortable, pool is great and the restaurant is just wonderful. We also like the open public spaces. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FransBet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.6 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 381 in Chiang Mai
2,355 reviews
1.0 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 381 in Chiang Mai
440 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#12 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,396 reviews
1.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,973 reviews
0.1 mi away
BED Phrasingh Hotel
BED Phrasingh Hotel
#5 of 381 in Chiang Mai
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rachamankha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rachamankha

Property: Rachamankha
Address: 6 Rachamanhka 9 | Phra Singh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#4 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rachamankha 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the center of the old moated city of Chiang Mai, Northern Thailand, Rachamankha is just one minute’s stroll to the old city’s most important and impressive temple, Wat Phra Singh; just 2 minutes stroll to the city’s newest and most exciting night market the Chiang Mai Sunday Walking Street Market, and a wide choice of bars and restaurants from local to international in style all within a few minutes’ walk of Rachamankha. Unique for a city hotel Rachamankha is renowned for its peaceful and very private atmosphere, and it’s incredible architecture. The hotel, just 22 rooms and 2 suites, is set in 2 acres of manicured grounds and the architecture pays homage to Chiang Mai’s golden age, the Lanna period, offering guests a unique stay in a unique property with a true sense of place. Rachamankha is also the only Secret Retreats property in northern Thailand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rachamankha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rachamankha Chiang Mai
Rachamankha Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing