We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oasis of Tranquility”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rachamankha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rachamankha
Ranked #8 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Oasis of Tranquility”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

We loved our stay at Rachamankha. In fact, it was our favorite hotel on our entire 4 week trip in Asia. Very quiet, great staff, and good location. The grounds and pool are absolutely gorgeous...if you stay be sure to save a day just to enjoy the hotel. The food at the restaurant was very good and reasonable price for a hotel restaurant. Also enjoyed massages which were reasonable. The room itself is not luxurious, but is very nice and cool Thai style. I don't know what they called it, but we got the room one level above the basic room and thought it was worth the money. Breakfast was also very good. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get the next room up from the basic room...beautiful built in wooden king sized canopy bed on second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    823
    176
    51
    15
    4
See reviews for
136
572
68
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
138 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Rachamanka is a great boutique hotel in Chaing Mai which has been designed by two Architect owners. It is part of SECRET RETREATS The hotel is a treat to stay in.The rooms are elegantly designed,very spacious and comfortable. Service at the Hotel is par excellence.The staff is very helpful and efficient.
The hotel is built around courtyards and the landscaping is a treat.The hotel is located in old city area of Chiang Mai. We stayed in room 23 on ground floor.All rooms are very quite and first floor rooms have a balcony.Swimming pool is great. This hotel lives up to the very high reputation it has earned.
The breakfast is all organic (other than canned juice) and you are allowed Three free choices for breakfast which is part of the room price.Wireless is free.
The hotel restaurant/room service closes at 10:30 PM,so it is advisable to order food prior to the closing time.
The Hotel does not have a Spa but there is a very clean and very reasonably priced spa about 5 minutes walk from Hotel(turn left from the hotel and then right and walk about 1 minute-the spa is on your right) or go to the very expensive Oasis Spa which is 10 minute walk from hotel.We had a wonderful stay at the hotel and I definately recomend the hotel

Room Tip: All rooms are very good rooms and all of them are built around court yards.I recomend ground floor r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

This hotel lives up to all the reviews for its visual ambience and attention to detail.
It really us quite exquisite.
The architecture ,design, pool area, gardens,all superb .
The attention to detail was obvious all over the property.

The drawback is the lack of any attention from any members of the staff, right from the check in process, to check out.
I was there three days and in that time no staff member spoke to me unless I requested something.
Simple requests were difficult with the level of English.
As I know Chiang Mai well,this was not a problem for me,but if you were a first time tourist and needed some help it would be.
There was a distinct lack of any interest in the guest, just get the job at hand done.
All in all , I felt quite invisible .
This is unusual in Thailand where service is usually excellent!
Also as beautiful and comfortable as the rooms are ,there is no access to outside, windows are minimal, so I felt a bit trapped in the room.
Beautiful ambience but needs more staff training!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susiefromaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Location is perfect, wonderful and caring staff especially the concierge girl, she recommend us cool and fun activities like cooking class, trekking, elephant rides etc.
Nice breakfast, beautiful room, confortable bed. We would drfinitely come back!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaAoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roma
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

In July 2014 we stayed for three nights at the Rachamankha which is a phantastic hotel in all resprects i.e. architecture, design, amenities and services. The garden and buildings are wonderfully designed and the pool area offers enough space to recover from the sightseeing activities in the Chiang Mai area. Also, the food in the restaurant was very delicious and worth its price. All the staff was very friendly, helpful and service oriented. Highly recommendable!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cinquecentoRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Rachamankha is an idyllic hotel in the heart of the old city. We stayed for 5 nights in a deluxe room. Beautifully decorated, spacious and comfortable. The pool is fantastic, especially for a late afternoon swim after a busy day sightseeing. The lobby area is a wonderful place to sit and enjoy an evening drink in the peaceful atmosphere of the hotel. Staff are very helpful and incredibly quiet as they move around the hotel. If you like hustle and bustle this is not the place for you, however it is perfect for a peaceful retreat surrounded by art and culture. Would also recommend a meal in the restaurant, the Thai meal for two was superb.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celiemad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed at Rachamankha for 5 nights during out trip in Thailand. This place is fantastic.

The architecture is beautiful (classic Lanna style and the owner is an architect), the room is simple, but works perfectly - when you are in Chiang Mai you shouldn't be staying in your hotel anyways; there is simply to much to see and do. The breakfast was very good, and we ate a handful of other meals on the property.

It is close to everything: the Sunday night market is literally a two minute walk. And everything else in the town is a short cab/tuk tuk ride away.

The general manager and his staff are absolutely fantastic. Terrific value!

Room Tip: The basic is room is simple and effective.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zachary Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.6 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,289 reviews
1.0 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 375 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,926 reviews
0.5 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#14 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
3.1 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rachamankha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rachamankha

Property: Rachamankha
Address: 6 Rachamanhka 9 | Phra Singh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#4 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rachamankha 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the center of the old moated city of Chiang Mai, Northern Thailand, Rachamankha is just one minute’s stroll to the old city’s most important and impressive temple, Wat Phra Singh; just 2 minutes stroll to the city’s newest and most exciting night market the Chiang Mai Sunday Walking Street Market, and a wide choice of bars and restaurants from local to international in style all within a few minutes’ walk of Rachamankha. Unique for a city hotel Rachamankha is renowned for its peaceful and very private atmosphere, and it’s incredible architecture. The hotel, just 22 rooms and 2 suites, is set in 2 acres of manicured grounds and the architecture pays homage to Chiang Mai’s golden age, the Lanna period, offering guests a unique stay in a unique property with a true sense of place. Rachamankha is also the only Secret Retreats property in northern Thailand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rachamankha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rachamankha Chiang Mai
Rachamankha Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing