We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chic beyond belief”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rachamankha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rachamankha
Ranked #8 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Chic beyond belief”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2009

We stayed at Rachamankha during our honeymoon after staying at the Chedi Chiang Mai. Unfortunately, none of the suites were available, so we stayed in their smaller deluxe rooms. The room we stayed in was perfectly lovely and clean, but felt a little bit spartan and next time, would love to try the suite.

The common areas of the hotel are just beautiful. Understatedly stunning. All the staff we encountered were helpful and polite. Breakfast was great (although one very minor gripe about the cheese plate - it came with Babybel...(admittedly, we shouldn't have been so greedy as to have a cheese plate for breakfast!)). The Lanna-style lunch we had in the restaurant was utterly delicious - one of the best meals we had in CM.

We stayed here over new year's eve and attended a party which the owner of the hotel threw for guests and his friends. It was awesome - a spread of Lanna Thai food done in an "upscale" street food style (sounds an oxymoron, but they pulled it off with aplomb), about 4 different live bands (leading to the bizarre experience of dancing to a Thai cover version of YMCA three times in one evening), fireworks, floating lanterns, unlimited bubbly etc.

Overall, the room we stayed in didn't quite match up to the beauty elsewhere at Rachamankha, but it was still worth it to experience the uniqueness of this place.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hula_Hooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    823
    176
    51
    15
    4
See reviews for
136
572
68
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2009

we stayed at the Rachamanka for 4 nights at the start of our honeymoon. It was a wonderful experience. The stay were fantastic and made us feel very special, the accomodation was stunning, it's a little different to your average hotel, as far removed from your corporate westernised hotels as you can get yet it still is luxurious and beautiful.

I felt like I was in old Thailand as opposed to westernised Thailand. The breakfasts were amazing, the staff refilled my coffe/ juice at least 5 times a meal. All of the food is fresh and tasty, we had a meal there one night too and whilst it wasn't cheap it was also top notch.

Staying here is an experience, it's a nice location because it's not in the centre of Chang Mai and too noisey. A must for anyone who likes something top class but a little different, however if you are used to Hiltons and corpoprate hotels then this may not be for you.

  • Liked — The beauty and simplicity of the place, as well as the staff
  • Disliked — The weather?
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Adamdlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2008

The Rachamankha is located on a quiet side street inside the ancient walled part of the city and just a block from the largest Buddhist temple called Wat Phra Singh.

Upon arrival, I had the impression I was entering an ancient Buddhist monastery. A thick white wall surrounds the entire hotel complex with tall, thick white walls, dark wooden beams, and red-tiled floors all the way through all the buildings. (I couldn’t believe it when I was later informed that the hotel had been build from the ground up just a few years before.) The staff immediately greeted us, took our luggage and led us to a beautiful, open-air lobby. We were seated, provided with beverages and give a short check-in form to fill-in. Then, we were led to our rooms.

Again, the rooms continued the impression of the ancient holy place with tall, thick wooden doors that had old-looking handles. However, don’t take my use of the word “old” to mean “in poor condition”. Everything in this hotel was in perfect operating condition. The rooms provided plenty of space, including a large bathroom with western-style amenities.

All the rooms are located along open-air hallways that are covered to protect you during the rainy seasons. The restaurant is just across the main courtyard from the guest rooms and the food was fantastic. We had all our breakfasts here and they have a very solid Western-style menu to select from.

Everything here, including the in-room wireless Internet access, the lovely pool area, and every other detail was quite enjoyable.

  • Liked — The comfort and quiet
  • Disliked — Not near the newer, more active part of the city.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MattTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2008

What a wonderful oasis within the historic center of Chiang Mai. Being an architect I was completely taken by the thought given to the design of Rachamankha and the attention to detail. There is a wonderful sequence of spaces from the entry courtyard to the elegant and peaceful inner courtyards, pool, and gardens. We enjoyed it thoroughly... an elegant room, reading by the pool (with a cocktail) and wonderful breakfasts in the courtyard.

The staff was fabulous...extreemly courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wyliee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2008

The Rachamankha was our dream hotel. A truly unique property that exudes tranquility and calm. The room (we got upgraded to a suite) was impeccable with great style and quality. The communal spaces (pool, library and large open sala) were stunning. The service at the hotel and restaurant was very good but never overbearing. We felt always at ease in what felt like a private oasis.

Breakfast in the beautifully decorated restaurant was great - whilst a la carte the variety and quantity was enough for anybody. The restaurant menu for dinner is extensive and well priced for a top hotel. The food was delicious!

The rachamankha is situated within the walls of the Old City a few steps away from the most important and beautiful Wat of Chiang Mai. The attractions of the night bazaar and shopping district are not on your doorstep which we found a great advantage as they were within close enough distance to walk to and take in the charms of the streets of Chiang Mai, and ensured that the hotel always felt peaceful and secluded (for those that would rather public transport a taxi and tuk-tuk were always outside).

The Rachamankha is a true delight and we would definitely return.

  • Liked — Uniqueness and real quality
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_and_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhasset, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2008

The hotel staff and manager were fantastic and the service was among the best I've ever received. The hotel is exquisitely decorated, the art gallery is very interesting, and the grounds are tranquil and very well kept.

There is one series that deserves special mention. Unknown to the hotel, I purchased a Buddha as a reminder of my wonderful time in Chiang Mai. I did not know, at the time of purchase, that a special government permit is required before one can take any piece such as that out of the country.

So, when I found out this out at the airport, I was stuck. Not only did the hotel arrange to hold it temporarily it until I obtained the necessary papers, but they assisted me through the process, when they didn't have to. In all, it took about 4 months, and throughout the process they were patient and very helpful. They explained the procedures required, helped me to obtain the approvals and suggested a bunch of alternatives to get it to me. In the end, I was able to get the piece and it is now proudly in my home. I am very satisfied.

Furthermore, the hotel location is close to Wat Phra Singh and the recommendable Oasis Spa. The restaurant has a pleasant atmosphere and the food was good, especially the breakfast rice porridge. Overall, this was an amazing hideaway in the middle of the bustling part of Chiang Mai, and well worth every penny.

  • Liked — Stunning setting
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sgp101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2008

Beautiful boutique hotel in typical Lanna style. It's an oasis in the centre of chiang mai. You find many quiet and relaxing places in the garden, the pool area, the library or the restaurant.

The location is very good close to Wat Phra Singh and the recommendable Oasis Spa.

The restaurant has a nice atmosphere and the food is okay but nothing special. The breakfast buffet in the morning is okay but cannot be compared with the big 5 star hotels.

Staff were very friendly and helpful but the service level is not what you expect from a Relais & Chateaux Hotel.


The concierge booked us all the golf rounds but we had to tell him which course we want to play as they had no brochures or recommendations for us.

The concierge recommended us the Elephant camp visit. As I was there 4 years ago and liked the elephant ride very much we went there again and were completely disappointed. It's by far too big (around 50 elephants) and a typical tourist trap. Don't go there.

Try to book room no. 16. It's spacious and very romantic, not only because Angelina Jolie stayed there some years ago (no joke, we saw the pictures).

  • Liked — Location and the design of the hotel
  • Disliked — The food, which was okay but in comparison to the rest nothing special
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swissglobetrotter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.6 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,288 reviews
1.0 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 375 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,923 reviews
0.5 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#14 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
3.1 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rachamankha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rachamankha

Property: Rachamankha
Address: 6 Rachamanhka 9 | Phra Singh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#4 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rachamankha 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the center of the old moated city of Chiang Mai, Northern Thailand, Rachamankha is just one minute’s stroll to the old city’s most important and impressive temple, Wat Phra Singh; just 2 minutes stroll to the city’s newest and most exciting night market the Chiang Mai Sunday Walking Street Market, and a wide choice of bars and restaurants from local to international in style all within a few minutes’ walk of Rachamankha. Unique for a city hotel Rachamankha is renowned for its peaceful and very private atmosphere, and it’s incredible architecture. The hotel, just 22 rooms and 2 suites, is set in 2 acres of manicured grounds and the architecture pays homage to Chiang Mai’s golden age, the Lanna period, offering guests a unique stay in a unique property with a true sense of place. Rachamankha is also the only Secret Retreats property in northern Thailand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rachamankha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rachamankha Chiang Mai
Rachamankha Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing