We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't even consider somewhere else in Chiang Mai” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rachamankha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rachamankha
Ranked #8 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
461 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 396 helpful votes
“Don't even consider somewhere else in Chiang Mai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

If you want some where special in Chaing Mai - This is it!

Its hard to describe everything that goes into making the perfect hotel - but I am going to try to do it, as Rachamankha deserves it!

The Rachamankha has it all. It is set in a quiet sub street in the old town - Just behind Wat Phra Singh.

So here are some of the highlights

Staff - Staff and Staff - From the manager, Paul, all the way down to the cleaning staff everyone in the hotel has one aim in mind - making your stay flawless and totally remarkable! I cannot say it better than that.

The Food - Fantastic - and breakfast is the best I have ever had - In Thailand or elsewhere

The hotel and the rooms - Built in Traditional Lanna (northern thai) style complete with Gallery, Library and boutique.

The Suite - The nicest suite I have ever stayed in - above the library - 2 very large bedrooms and a huge sitting room - with your own terrace/balcony featuring your private bar. If you want something special - look no further

The grounds - Beautiful for a stroll, taking afternoon tea in, exploring and relaxing.

The location - Right in the old town and a stroll from the famous walking street sunday market and dozens of restaurants and bars.

If you want some where special in Chaing Mai - This is it!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin_One_Man_Show
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    819
    173
    49
    15
    4
See reviews for
134
567
68
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

If you need something peaceful and fabulously romantic , if you are searching for a luxury and simple retreat , if you want feel the astmosphere of the Asia, communicate with the Nature, Rachamankha is the place.

I have been living in Thailand for 11 years and I can say easily that Rachamankha is a unique place.

Rachamankha is a place which breathes, a place that will give you the rest and the energies you need.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidGuffroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2010

An incredible experience! The property offered outstanding service and excellent value for the price. All details, big or small, show that the hotel management/designer put a lot of time and effort into creating this peaceful and unique hotel. The daily breakfast which was included in the price was the highlight of my day. There was a great a-la-carte selection with all coffees, teas and juices included. The other amenities such as pool, library, restaurant, gift shop and gallery were top notch. Although the ambiance itself creates a 5-star experience, it was the staff who make this property a 'stand out'. They were attentive, friendly and always greeted you with a smile. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ATS-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plettenberg bay
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

After visiting other parts of Thailand, we were so pleased when we arrived in Chiang Mai and the Rachamankha Hotel, which we stayed for three nights. Set on a side street, never would believe you would enter these magnificent grounds. I found this hotel through Triip Advisor and we were happy we did. If you want peace and quiet and a relaxing stay after a busy day, then you will be happy here. The moment we stepped into the hotel through their beautiful doors and many foyers with an open feel of the outside brought inside, you were greeted by a host of inviting staff. Orchids are overflowing and so are the beautiful Chinese and Thai antiques spread throughout the grounds. The pool is big and plenty of loungers. There is a library that has floor to ceiling books which gives the hotel a beautiful feel , like years gone by and complimentary brandy was left each evening on the table for guests to have as a nightcap, a nice touch.
Our room had a huge king bed wrapped in beautiful white silk drapping around all sides, the bathroom could use a bit of an upgrade, but still very acceptable. I cannot say enough about the owner, who was so helpful from restaurants to shopping. A very gracious and kind soul. His staff ordered a car or Tuk Tuk for us each day and night when needed and always seemed available for last minute decisions. A must stay if you visit Chiang Mai. I would certainly stay here again if I ever travel back to Chiang Mai!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oboolsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2010

For a stay of elegance in old Chiang Mai this is the place. Most of the hotels are grouped near the night market. This tucked away inside the old city walls. Built as homage to Lanna architecture and layered with lovely antiques, this is style with all the amentities.
From a sculptural pool area to replenished cognac supply in the library, it is quite special.

The restaurant attached does breakfast proud and splendid evening fare. Drivers and guides are available to journey further afield, everything else is a quick cab or tuk tuk away. A perfect little hideaway in tune with the laid back vibe in the city. Stay here.....!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennywe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

The Rachamanhka Hotel is a very special place and has an air of calm and peace. The hotel is truly elegant and superbly designed. It has the feeling of a small Lanna Village and is visually beautiful and extremely comfortable. The landscape design is clever, simple and beautiful at the same time.

The very capable manager, Paul Walker, is most helpful and pleasant, always offering his expertise and knowledge of Chiang Mai to make your stay what you want it to be. His staff are well trained, provide excellent service and exude Thai friendliness and politeness.

The rooms are all beautifully decorated with Asian antiques, Chinese porcelain and silk fabrics. We stayed in a perfect suite with a private garden, separate bedroom/bath area & lounge area with kitchenette.

The dining room with a bricked courtyard is stunning in its decor and the food was excellent - both breakfast and dinner. The library is very large and beautifully designed and decorated, providing 2 computers for guest use.

The pool is large and has many comfortable lounge chairs. It is peaceful and a great place to relax. The Spa area is a lovely quiet spot for a great massage.

Overall this is a very special truly boutique hotel which we will visit in the future. Chiang Mai is a beautiful area to visit with many good restaurants - try The House - very good and fun. Or be energetic like us - Chiang Mai Bicycle Tours - took a 30 km tour through the countryside - highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Indytraveler59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2010

This hotel was a jewel. Rooj Changtrakul the owner couldn't have been more helpful, even going as far as wanting to make us sandwiches for our drive on the day we left.
We stayed 4 nights in Apartment 26 which was one of two suites available with 2 bedrooms. The suite was truly lovely, but not cheap. The master bedroom was magnificent however the 2nd bedroom with ensuite - for an adult - was a bit plain. The staff couldn't have been more helpful even though their english comprehension lacked sometimes. The gardens and secret paths we a sheer delight to wander through and in fact one day we never venturing outside the hotel grounds. Don't miss dining in their restaurant as the food is up there with the best.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bloss_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.6 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,252 reviews
1.0 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 374 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,907 reviews
3.1 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.1 mi away
BED Phrasingh Hotel
BED Phrasingh Hotel
#5 of 374 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rachamankha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rachamankha

Property: Rachamankha
Address: 6 Rachamanhka 9 | Phra Singh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#4 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rachamankha 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the center of the old moated city of Chiang Mai, Northern Thailand, Rachamankha is just one minute’s stroll to the old city’s most important and impressive temple, Wat Phra Singh; just 2 minutes stroll to the city’s newest and most exciting night market the Chiang Mai Sunday Walking Street Market, and a wide choice of bars and restaurants from local to international in style all within a few minutes’ walk of Rachamankha. Unique for a city hotel Rachamankha is renowned for its peaceful and very private atmosphere, and it’s incredible architecture. The hotel, just 22 rooms and 2 suites, is set in 2 acres of manicured grounds and the architecture pays homage to Chiang Mai’s golden age, the Lanna period, offering guests a unique stay in a unique property with a true sense of place. Rachamankha is also the only Secret Retreats property in northern Thailand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Rachamankha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rachamankha Chiang Mai
Rachamankha Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing