We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average,but still good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lai-Thai Guest House
Ranked #293 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Average,but still good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

We stay here for 2 nights in the end of oct 2013.
Hotel is on quite good position,next to the down town. You can easy walk to market and see what down town offers.
Eat breakfast somewhere else,here is not so good for this money you can get better.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Givencys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    106
    107
    71
    49
See reviews for
37
130
64
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

The Lai Thai Guest House has been around for well over 20 years and seemingly remains popular with budget travelers. The rooms clean and spacious with no frills, basic Thai style and decor accommodation which is reflected in the price.

The position is very useful, easy walking to shops, night market and nightlife although nowadays Chiang Mai expands by every visit so a tuk tuk ride may be needed.

The guest house has a lovely pool centrally positioned around the rooms and is always well maintained. The jewel in the crown is the Lai Thai restaurant which serves an array of Thai and international food day and night and is always popular with both residents and outsiders. I found the staff pleasant and informative.

If you are visiting Chiang Mai and you are budget conscious then I would recommend this place. Good service with no frills at affordable prices.

Room Tip: Probably to have an elevated room overlooking the pool and away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We have just spent two weeks in Thailand & the Lai Thai was one of the Guest Houses we stayed in. The location is close to the night bazaar & day markets, the accommodation is basic, & clean. Although we didn't use any of the tour services it provides it seems to offer most of the tourist trip attractions that Thailand offers.& you can hire scooters. " should you wish to take your life into your own hands on the roads, not forgetting they drive on the left "
They provides a safety deposit box service at reception, you can order food & beverages at reception, it has a large dining area outside under cover for those rainy season days & a swimming pool that is cleaned daily. My overall impression was one of a good mid range guest house.

Room Tip: Check out the water pressure & temperature, the air conditioning for noise, beds seem to very ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GailStanway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We wanted a pool and to be near the city center and that is what we got here! Its cheap. Can't say the service was anything special and the rooms rather dingy (dark and old) but everything was clean. They were accommodating and put an extra bed in the room for our 5 year old (so we had 3 twin beds). The entrance way was lovely with the open restaurant, reception and pool all in one big communal area that gave the place a friendly feel. We would have eaten more at the restaurant but the flies drove us away. The pool didn't always feel so clean with some sediment on the bottom. It is hard to complain too much about the place because the price was right, the location great and they had a pool. Good for backpackers.

Room Tip: We stayed in the back wing so did not get the noise from the street or the pool area. But no views f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

It is a nice place to stay with comfortable size room and free wifi. I was surprised to get a room at 10.00 A.M since usually all the hotel allow you to check in at 2.00 P.M. People are nice and friendly. Food is good. Swimming pool is maintained very clean. Thank you guys for the peaceful stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VimalCarmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
109 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

We wanted somewhere with a pool that was close to the old city and this ticked the boxes. I had a standard room at first which was horrid, the shower was filthy but changed to the next one up which was OK. Basically it is a cheap backpackerish place that has the benefit of a nice pool. There is also a large restaurant/bar which is good for breakfast and meals. Lots of places close by to eat and the old city is about 15 minutes walk to the Thapae Gate but a couple of mins in a taxi bus.

Room Tip: If you have rooms that have a floor above them then the noise can be very loud so pick a top floor r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wub100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

At first look it seems ok for the price but the room is not clean, the toilet are extremely old and it is the worst bed I have ever tried. My boyfriend and me have trouble to sleep and lot of pain in our back because of the bed, I could not recommend this hotel I am sure you can find a better one in the city centre. WiFi are swimming pool are ok.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wtfh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Wiriya House
Wiriya House
#142 of 375 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Guest House
The Royal Guest House
#246 of 375 in Chiang Mai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.8 mi away
Miami Hotel
Miami Hotel
#233 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Eden Garden Resort
Eden Garden Resort
#177 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
1.0 mi away
Western House Hotel
Western House Hotel
#131 of 375 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
1.5 mi away
Oasis Hotel Chiang Mai
Oasis Hotel Chiang Mai
#173 of 375 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lai-Thai Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lai-Thai Guest House

Property: Lai-Thai Guest House
Address: 111/4-5 Kotchasarn Rd., Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #293 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lai-Thai Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lai-Thai Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lai-Thai Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai
Lai Thai Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing