We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap and on edge of old town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lai-Thai Guest House
Ranked #298 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“cheap and on edge of old town”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed for 4 nights(third time in 5 years) and probably our least enjoyable time. Stayed in the cheap rooms at the back for the first time...had always stayed by the pool previously... beds are harder, need to run the hot water for a good 15 minutes!! Then it was too hot and no cold water! Apart from that, for the price the hotel is in a good location, the food is acceptable at the restaurant but I would recommend the WOK STATION across the moat opposite bobo's bar. Good friendly staff, though the level of english understood has not really improved, a fairly quiet and safe place to stay. Can organise most tourist things for you if needed.

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe room 200 baht more than the standard 790
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    108
    107
    72
    52
See reviews for
37
134
66
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Basic rooms, however very very clean, central (to weekend markets, the night food markets and some temples), pool!, value for money if booked through agoda, ok restaurant on site, average service. I would go back if in Chiang Mai again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HaveAGreatHol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

*Nice room
*Hot shower
*Good food
*Fantastic laundry service
*DONE

Though I'm dissapointed to find out after my stay, that if I had booked through Agoda, I could have had a better room for 90 Thai baht (per night) less.

Though my only

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Lomac-_-2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai Province, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Lai Thai looks nice for the outside. The pool is the only good thing, the rooms are older, but the beds are like sleeping on a Plank! And the it is noisy from the road and old airconditioner. The reception staff are not helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Naturalperspective
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

We stay here for 2 nights in the end of oct 2013.
Hotel is on quite good position,next to the down town. You can easy walk to market and see what down town offers.
Eat breakfast somewhere else,here is not so good for this money you can get better.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Givencys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The Lai Thai Guest House has been around for well over 20 years and seemingly remains popular with budget travelers. The rooms clean and spacious with no frills, basic Thai style and decor accommodation which is reflected in the price.

The position is very useful, easy walking to shops, night market and nightlife although nowadays Chiang Mai expands by every visit so a tuk tuk ride may be needed.

The guest house has a lovely pool centrally positioned around the rooms and is always well maintained. The jewel in the crown is the Lai Thai restaurant which serves an array of Thai and international food day and night and is always popular with both residents and outsiders. I found the staff pleasant and informative.

If you are visiting Chiang Mai and you are budget conscious then I would recommend this place. Good service with no frills at affordable prices.

Room Tip: Probably to have an elevated room overlooking the pool and away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewA4401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We have just spent two weeks in Thailand & the Lai Thai was one of the Guest Houses we stayed in. The location is close to the night bazaar & day markets, the accommodation is basic, & clean. Although we didn't use any of the tour services it provides it seems to offer most of the tourist trip attractions that Thailand offers.& you can hire scooters. " should you wish to take your life into your own hands on the roads, not forgetting they drive on the left "
They provides a safety deposit box service at reception, you can order food & beverages at reception, it has a large dining area outside under cover for those rainy season days & a swimming pool that is cleaned daily. My overall impression was one of a good mid range guest house.

Room Tip: Check out the water pressure & temperature, the air conditioning for noise, beds seem to very ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GailStanway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Wiriya House
Wiriya House
#144 of 381 in Chiang Mai
86 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Guest House
The Royal Guest House
#251 of 381 in Chiang Mai
197 reviews
1.5 mi away
Oasis Hotel Chiang Mai
Oasis Hotel Chiang Mai
#198 of 381 in Chiang Mai
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Eurana Boutique Hotel
Eurana Boutique Hotel
#242 of 381 in Chiang Mai
371 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chiang Mai Gate Hotel
Chiang Mai Gate Hotel
#106 of 381 in Chiang Mai
547 reviews
0.0 mi away
7days Hotel Patan
7days Hotel Patan
#182 of 381 in Chiang Mai
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lai-Thai Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lai-Thai Guest House

Property: Lai-Thai Guest House
Address: 111/4-5 Kotchasarn Rd., Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #298 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lai-Thai Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Lai-Thai Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lai-Thai Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai
Lai Thai Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing