We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try to get something else for this price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lai-Thai Guest House
Ranked #296 of 379 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Try to get something else for this price!”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

First of all the price. For the same amount (or a little bit cheaper) you can get a three times bigger room in a real hotel like the FX Penisula or Panerai with real bathroom and A/C. For the half price (400-500thb/night) you can get the same style simple room inside the old city's wall in any guesthouses, maybe without swimming pool but still better offers!.

So when I arrived to Chiang Mai it was almost midnight and I was too tired to looking after accommodation so I just asked the taxi driver to bring me somewhere inside the city center around 1,000thb/night. Actually Lai-Thai is located outside the old city so it is not really the centre but close to it. So he brought me there and now I know that most of the drivers will do the same simply because they can get good commission here. This is a fact which is based on my questions the next day when every taxi, songthaew (red car) and tuktuk drivers were recommended the Lai-Thai...interesting isn't it?

The price was 890thb and however it is not expensive for a hotel with swimming pool I decided to move on after the second night.

My biggest problem was the noise. The pretty nice looking wooden floor brings the noise of steps all around the house directly to your ears from around 05:00 in the morning so it was absolutely impossible to sleep well because of this. And than the loudly speaking cleaning staff who they start also early...terrible.

The room was very simple but ok, and the swimming pool was clean but the noise is something what I could not respect sorry.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Dude_TH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    106
    107
    72
    50
See reviews for
37
132
64
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seffner, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

The price was really reasonable at 890 baht (less than $30 USA), but it wasn't very clean. Meals were good. Sheets were very clean. Okay for young travelers trying to save a few bucks, but not for me. I tried to change my hotel, but everything around there was booked up for the Chinese New Year.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor, so you don't hear the people above you walking across their wooden floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights and aside from the decor that could perhaps benefit from a little updating it was all good. The restaurant food was decent and the wait staff efficient. It is a super convenient location, easy to get into the walled city, to restaurants and the night market too. Good value.

Stayed January 2557
Helpful?
1 Thank Mat1lda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed in this Guest house, hotel looking, 13 years ago for the first time. We loved this place because of how it looks. Very Thai. Nice staff and nice simple rooms. We came back to this hotel a few year later. It become very noisy because of the traffic in front. Nothing changed. Even the travel agency was still the same.( Much to much overpriced, so beware and go and book somewhere else ! ) We decide not to come back . So we stayed the other 2 times we came to Chiang Mai somewhere else. This time we choose this place for a certain occasion. How disappointed we were because the room looks so awfull dirty and noisy again, even we stayed at the backsite. Staff still very nice. Bed okay. Bathroom dirty and needs renovation very quickly. Not of this time anymore. The whole place needs desperate a renovation. Prize of this guesthouse is because of everything a bit overpriced. A pitty because it looks very nice from the outside.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jagers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We were given a room with its only window basically covered, really stingy walls and an overall feeling of dirtyness and unsafety. I had a feeling that anyone could come in anytime without a problem. We fleed after that one night to another hotel. A cool place for young travellers but if you value some niceties in your life, avoid!

Wifi not working at all.

Staff was friendly and the lobby area really nice. Also location excellent. But no rest in this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pipsa65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 December 2013

This idea is a short walk from the night plaza, Loh Kroh road and night bazzaar. The staff are warm and friendly locals. The price has gone up a bit in the last 10 years. But still a cheap place to stay. Nice swimming pool, good food, good wifi, safety boxes. I havent tried the bike rentals but they seem to do good business. A free airport pick up and is only 10 minutes from the airport. Chiang Mai is my favourite place in Thailand without a beach. And this hidden gem I have stayed over 12 times in 10 years. I do plan to go back soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

If you plan on sleeping, I do not recommend you to stay here. The walls and ceiling are paper thin which means that you hear noise from every direction. We were lucky to have only being staying the one night but if we had have booked for longer, we would have chosen to check out early and loose money. The decor in the rooms is very outdated and has has old and dirty feel to it. The bathroom was grim and the bins hadn't even been emptied. The bed creaks at the slightest of movement. The staff are friendly but this does not warrant the price of the room.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ScarlettC257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Wiriya House
Wiriya House
#144 of 379 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Guest House
The Royal Guest House
#248 of 379 in Chiang Mai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.8 mi away
Miami Hotel
Miami Hotel
#241 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Eden Garden Resort
Eden Garden Resort
#170 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mali's Room
Mali's Room
#129 of 379 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
1.5 mi away
Oasis Hotel Chiang Mai
Oasis Hotel Chiang Mai
#176 of 379 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lai-Thai Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lai-Thai Guest House

Property: Lai-Thai Guest House
Address: 111/4-5 Kotchasarn Rd., Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #296 of 379 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lai-Thai Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Lai-Thai Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lai-Thai Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai
Lai Thai Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing