We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff completely incompetent”
Review of Karinthip Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Karinthip Village
Ranked #181 of 389 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Make sure to stay elsewhere when youvisit Chang Mai. We just booked this place because it seemed the only available accomodation during a festival but were really disapppinted. The staff is completely incompetent (making one cappuccino took 3 persons about 15 minutes, our room was not properly made and finally there was one of our private towels missing - their only comment was: is it important for you? We can not find it. No appologize neighter a refund.) and the unfriendliest pack we have ever had in Thailand.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kokoleinchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 77 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2013

Stayed here for three nights and enjoyed it. Room with a good bed, good airco, and bathroom sufficient amenities.
Rooms were very clean and cleaned well every day.
Staff is friendly and helpfull.
Nice pool in a nice garden.
Breakfast on average, but enough.
Hotel nearby the old centre.
So a good starting point for your tours.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lieuwe17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed for 8 nights and found this an ideal base for exploring Chiangmai. It was very central, but inside the hotel it felt very calm and peaceful. The rooms were very comfortably furnished though the beds were a little firm, but this seemed the same everywhere in Thailand. The lush green setting around a very nice pool with plenty of comfortable seating made it a lovely place to relax. The staff were friendly and helpful and when we met up with friends and family they were happy to Welcome them. We would definitely stay again.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Ag9djane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

The property of the Karinthip is nice with lovely gardens and a great pool, especially for central Chiang Mai. The rooms are also good; not much of a view but clean and comfortable. The negatives were the breakfast buffet (food uninspiring and the restaurant pretty dingy) and the service. Staff were pretty disinterested - my favorite was the guy who just seemed to follow one of the housekeepers around (her boyfriend?) and sit near where she was working smoking a cigarette and playing on his phone. I wouldn't have noticed this but he seemed to be everywhere! We stayed three nights and then moved on to another hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We chose Karinthip Village for our honeymoon trip because it is lovely and has a beautiful courtyard and outdoor seating. The only negative note i would add about our daily experience is that we were sick and jetlagged and the cleaning service would wake us by trying to come into our room without knocking early every morning around 7. Unfortunately, we also had a negative experience during our checkout. We left bags at the hotel for an hour after we checked out and when we came back, we were charged 100 baht because they said there were stains on a hand towel that wouldn't come out. I've never heard of charging for a cleaning item - particularly when it was a stain that was already on the towel when it came to us.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaryLynnDalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We were very impressed with Karinthip - the location was great, the staff were pleasant and helpful, the pool and gardens were brilliant. From our ground floor room we could walk straight out to the pool with undercover table & chairs. The rooms were spotless and adequate for our needs, & included a fridge. We found breakfast quite satisfactory & plentiful, although not a huge choice, ie. scrambled eggs & bacon included at least 2 small sausages and slices of ham.
the mosquitoes were a bit of a problem, although mosquito coils are lit each even outside the doors, and should a mosquito sneak in, staff are more than happy to spray the room (but we are in the tropics after all). The pool was brilliant, the water cool & refreshing.
The location was great, near the markets, restaurants, dentists and you could easily walk to the old ancient city moat.
This accommodation was chosen by an out of town local who stays there regularly,
& we thank him for introducing us to this lovely hotel.
We would most definitely stay at Karinthip again as we found it awesome and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BazQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

The Karinthip offered good service, and a pleasant setting with rooms surrounding a nice pool. The location is good for walking to the sites. The rooms are simple and functional, and very clean. Thai beds in general are rather hard compared to American beds, just a generalization.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PamelaP149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Eurana Boutique Hotel
Eurana Boutique Hotel
#266 of 389 in Chiang Mai
379 reviews
0.3 mi away
BanThai Village
BanThai Village
#43 of 389 in Chiang Mai
676 reviews
0.5 mi away
WangBurapa Grand Hotel
WangBurapa Grand Hotel
#132 of 389 in Chiang Mai
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
#75 of 389 in Chiang Mai
174 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chiang Mai Gate Hotel
Chiang Mai Gate Hotel
#118 of 389 in Chiang Mai
567 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Core Hotel Chiang Mai
The Core Hotel Chiang Mai
#138 of 389 in Chiang Mai
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karinthip Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karinthip Village

Address: 50/2 Changmoikao Rd, Changmoi | Amphur Muang, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#38 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £36 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Karinthip Village 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Karinthip Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karinthip Village Chiang Mai
Karinthip Village Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing