We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family hotel in good located area”
Review of Karinthip Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Karinthip Village
Ranked #179 of 389 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This pleasant hotel is located in a quiet area near old city center and no noise from the street in the rooms. Well kept surroundings and pleasant swimming pool with plenty of longchairs and towels provided by the pool side. Staff at reception was friendly and helpful such as the staff in the restaurant. We even had a refund for 2 nights as we decided to leave earlier which we appreciated, as we had a special smart deal reservation rate.
The only really negative point was the poor quality of the breakfast buffet. Thank God there were some fruit, as the eggs and all the rest did not really look appetizing. When we asked for green tea, they would ask for a 120thb surcharge, which is pretty exaggerated.
But if you skip the breakfast and look around you will find plenty of other places to start your day in a good way.

Recommandable though, also for families with small children, as there is plenty of space where the kids can have fun.
The mosquitoes were quite an issue at night time, so don't forget your repellent.

Room Tip: We had 2 rooms in 2 different categories and in fact the size was exactly the same. Only difference...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christiane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 63 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

Great location just outside the Old City ;tired property;poor breakfast;I attentive,unsmiling staff which is particularly noticeable in "the land of smiles". Your choice...does the location make up for the downsides? Oh...and it's not cheap for what you get.

Room Tip: Suite rooms are not too bad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bruce m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

A charming little hotel set only a block away from the main city streets and the old town. Beautiful gardens and a lovely pool make it a relaxing place to stay for a few days. We had a superior room on the 3rd floor which was OK, the rooms are quite small and a bit tired looking. At just over 40.00 per night I think it is a little overpriced for Thailand but charming just the same. The garden rooms were lovely if you wanted to pay a bit more. Plenty of bars and restaurants around and only a short walk to the city gates and the river.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaveyJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Room was a little worn down and so was towels and sheets. That said everything was clean and the pool is nice. Restaurant is average at best but breakfast is OK. Location is close to the center and nightmarket but off the noisy ring road. Wifi in the room was poor but great outside in the garden and in the reception!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RasmusBremer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This is a very nice 3 star hotel that delivered above expectations. Booked on AGODA for about 2000 baht per night. 2500 baht walk in off the street. The hotel is located close to he east gate but off the main road and in a secluded little alley. It was extremely quiet but close to all the action. We had booked a couple days at this hotel and a few at another to get an experience in different parts of he city - should have booked the whole time at this hotel as we ended up leaving the other to come back and lost a coupe, nights prepaid at he other hotel. This hotel was half the price of he other and double the value. Great staff, decent breakfast, good clean rooms. Beds are firm like most Thai beds. Pool is an added bonus for relaxing outside when you have had enough of the city and just want to relax. I would highly recommend this place base on value and location.

Room Tip: Really all rooms look to be a good selection. We stayed in two different ones. Both good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Karinthip village is a nice guesthouse just 2 minutes away from the downtown area of Chiangmai. The bathroom and the bedroom were basic. The walls were thin and we could hear our neighbors. We could enter our bedroom directly from the swimming pool area which meant that every time we opened our door some mosquitoes got in. The swimming pool area is nice and the staff is good and friendly. There are shops, cafes, bookstores and restaurants nearby. Breakfast was ok. I recommend this guesthouse to people in their twenties - early thirties.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sam77Ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The Pluses:
Pretty pool and grounds
Easy walk to the old city
Good wifi and cable with western channels
Clean

The Minuses
No hot water for bathroom sink
Shower does have “warm” water
( I realize some months, in Chinag Mai, the last thing anyone wants is a hot shower.)
Tiny room safe not big enough for computer or camera gear. Operates on AA batteries so I was wary of trusting it.
No hair dryer

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AsiaFanCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Eurana Boutique Hotel
Eurana Boutique Hotel
#266 of 389 in Chiang Mai
379 reviews
0.3 mi away
BanThai Village
BanThai Village
#45 of 389 in Chiang Mai
677 reviews
0.5 mi away
WangBurapa Grand Hotel
WangBurapa Grand Hotel
#132 of 389 in Chiang Mai
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
#75 of 389 in Chiang Mai
174 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chiang Mai Gate Hotel
Chiang Mai Gate Hotel
#119 of 389 in Chiang Mai
567 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Core Hotel Chiang Mai
The Core Hotel Chiang Mai
#136 of 389 in Chiang Mai
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karinthip Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karinthip Village

Address: 50/2 Changmoikao Rd, Changmoi | Amphur Muang, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#37 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £36 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Karinthip Village 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Karinthip Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karinthip Village Chiang Mai
Karinthip Village Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing