We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“simply fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Ranked #11 of 380 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“simply fantastic”
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Spent 4 nights at the Chedi in January 2012 and we simply had a brilliant stay. A piece of paradise on the Ping river and just 5 minutes walk from the excellent night markets, the Chedi is a sanctuary away from the hustle and bustle of Chiang Mai.
Fantastic architecture centred around the old British embassy, the rooms are spacious, clean and modern, and the staff walm and welcoming.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mr_gazman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,846
    350
    81
    27
    18
See reviews for
450
1,243
113
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level Contributor
199 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

The Chedi in Chiang Mai has it all, the location, the grounds, the infrastructure and the "wow" factor which we all like so much at this hotel group. The services, the staff are exceptional, Thailand at it's best. A dream to be smiled at and attended to by such people.
But, some careless (and that is my very polite way of saying it ) architect spoiled it all by putting his views first without consideration for the purpose of what he was designing.

There are ponds everywhere, they look nice but are mosquito nurseries. Nowhere in Chiang Mai is there such a mosquito problem as here. Worse, in order for the building to look trendy he has omitted to isolate it from the street noise which, this being an asian town with trucks, tuk-tuks and mopeds, makes it impossible to sleep without earplugs ! Sad.

If you want to go there make sure to demand a room or suite away from the noise, only 10 % or so will fit the bill.

Images to illustrate.

Room Tip: See my review
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TripperEurope1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Anyone that finds fault with this place has a problem!! It's out of this world. Have been to many five-star hotels before but this is beyond all expectations. Bliss!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishSamoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Chiang Mai is an exciting, working city. it is noisy, busy and full of life. inside all this at its heart is the Chedi. Looks good, well run and clean. We stayed in a club suite and quite simply have no complaints. highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alreiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We went as a family with 5 members and booked two rooms. The rooms are enormous! Inside, there's television, audio player, fridge, wifi and also laundry service is provided.

The scenery is great! You can see the Ping river from the restaurant. Depending on the choice of room, you might see the river from your room too! The staff are very polite, friendly, helpful and well-trained.

All of the facilities provided are very superior. The breakfast is great, there is a wide range of food to choose from, all of them were delicious!

Thank you for the great stay! I'd definitely come back the next time I come to Chiang Mai!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We spent four nights at The Chedi for our honeymoon over Christmas, and it was by far the best hotel we stayed in during our time in Thailand. Everything about the hotel is just perfect, and it's so peaceful! The food was amazing, and worth every penny and the staff were a credit to the hotel. They couldn't do enough for us and were so smart and polite.

Our room was lovely, and the hotel pays so much attention to detail. The evening turndown was a great touch, and every night we were given fresh water. We loved the balcony complete with day bed, overlooking the grounds of the hotel.

We're trying to work out how we can go back to this amazing retreat! Thank you to everyone at The Chedi for helping to make our honeymoon so special.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpeedyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

This hotel far exceeded our expectations, not only were the staff all so polite and helpful but happy and attentive to all the guests. The rooms were immaculate and the evening bed turndown was superb and your room was left immaculate as always.
The afternoon tea was a delight and the food was to a high standard. The setting is stunning on the riverside and very peaceful and calm. The town is a short walk wher you can enjoy the night market and wonderful atmosphere of Thailand people.
I will definitely return to this hotel again and wish that all the other hotels that profess to be 5* take a leaf out of the Chedi's book.
Thank you to all the staff at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaEastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,953 reviews
2.5 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 380 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,918 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Chiang Mai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Chiang Mai Resort

Property: Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Address: 123 Charoen Prathet Road | Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#4 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edging the meandering Mae Ping River, Anantara Chiang Mai Resort is conveniently situated a mere five minute walk to the famous Night Bazaar and only 10 minutes from the quaint and traditional attractions of the old moated city. Explore authentic Thai areas, seemingly endless markets and the city's quirky art culture with its bohemian vibe as well as popular cosmopolitan hangouts and a growing wellness scene. Surrounding the valley in which Chiang Mai resides, verdant mountains are home to vast national parks of virgin rainforest, impressive waterfalls and rare flora and fauna. Discover countless Buddhist temples, timeless hill tribe communities, exotic animal sanctuaries and fascinating handicraft villages, as well as historic ruins that tell a tale of a time when Chiang Mai was the capital of the ancient Lanna Kingdom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, TravelUp, Travelbag, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Anantara Chiang Mai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chedi Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Chedi Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing