We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most relaxing week of my life”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Ranked #10 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The most relaxing week of my life”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Went here for our second week of honeymoon and stayed in a suite, one word, AMAZING!

We loved it here, food was excellent, atmosphere was soooooo relaxed and the staff were incredibly attentive.

Cannot recommend this hotel enough.

Room Tip: Get a suite, worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCMGM, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear Nicola B,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your feedback here on tripadvisor.

I am delighted to see that you have very much enjoyed your honeymoon stay with us and hope we may welcome you again on the occasion of one of your upcoming anniversaries.

Happy Married Life and best regards
Stefan Noll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,880
    353
    81
    27
    19
See reviews for
458
1,257
117
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
111 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We were very fortunate to be guests at a wedding of friends at The Chedi.
It is regarded by Thai people as the best hotel in Chiang Mai and we could understand why. The grounds are beautifully kept, the staff gracious and attentive. The wedding reception was beautifully catered and suited the western pallet. Dessert was memorable.
Highly recommended for a special occasion.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LambsySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCMGM, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear LambsySydney,

Thank you for sharing your feedback here on tripadvisor.

I appreciate your kind comments on the whole ambiance of the hotel and in particular on the wedding function.

We have several weddings taking place here at The Chedi, as people appreciate the unique location of the hotel by the river and the design of the hotel which is well suited to host small and large weddings alike.

Once again many thanks and best regards
Stefan Noll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We sent a week in Chiang Mai and picked the Chedi expecting it to be a pretty good, small hotel and it has met and surpassed our expectations. We booked into the club suite room and it was just great (would have even been better if we got one of the higher floors we originally requested).

The service at the hotel was excellent and I cannot remember better service in all my other travels to date (and I travel a lot!). The pricing is a bit much for a normal vacation to Chiang Mai but we had a special occasion so didn't mind spending a bit more than usual.


If price is not an issue and you want a really nice overall experience, you cannot go wrong with this one. The only complaint is that there are some large wild life noises early morning that can affect sleep quality but I am guessing it's because it is so near the river.

Room Tip: High floor, river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GManSeoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCMGM, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Dear GManSeoul,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback here on tripadvisor.

I am pleased to know that you have had an enjoyable stay with us and I do hope we may welcome you again on another occasion.

Best regards
Stefan Noll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

The Chedi's hospitality began with their chauffeured Mercedes collection at Chiang Mai's airport. Sam their chauffeur kindly enquires of our flight is laden with cool drink and cool towel. Ahhh, we chorus - we've arrived! A short, smoothe ride and we are at the Chedi. Behind an understated entrance hides a Feng Shui heartland of tranquilty and peace. Easy on the eye with it's perfect placement immediately induces letting go and embracing the moment. The Australian architect had to have fullfilled his brief!?
It's our second stay here, and it won't be our last. As was last year we stayed 'Club'. We believe it is the only way to enjoy the Chedi.
Guest rooms are spacious and airy with excellent amenities. Room maids spin their magic while we are away and re-stock fresh fruit, tea, nuts, and the fully stocked bar, together with fresh towels and linen. Toiletries including lovely bath salts.
Wi-Fi a bit slow (best time early in the am), but it seems how it is in Thailand.
Breakfast in the club lounge has plenty of fresh tropical fruit, juices, cereals, yoghurt, cheese, cold meat, a small menu of individually cooked eggs which were always perfect. (I couldn't go past eggs florentine), high quality smoked salmon on the side. In the main alll staff made great coffee to individual's requirements (and remembered your preferance). French champagne at breakfast, also available. (a bit decadent, but we indulged!!!).
Magic time is their 6 - 8 pm cocktails and canapes, where the seven club staff gracefully tend you. Accompanied by candles and soft music we are transported into an intimate space of chit chat. The club staff have a refinement reminiscent of Japan's Geishas, and we felt very safe and comfortable in their presence.
The ambient pool is situated in q quiet private area, overlooking the Ping river and close to the hotel's shrine built as protection to the guests, staff and the environs. In the early morning staff place offerings in a state of reverence. We quietly observe while using the pool.
Chiang Mai's night markets are an easy three minute walk up the road, where there is excellent art galleries nearby. The Chedi will helps with elephant and tiger excursions which will fill your cup as well. Without hesitation we recommend the Chedi Chiang Mai to you.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robynne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCMGM, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Dear robynne s,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your feedback here on tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

I would like to thank you very much for returning to The Chedi and I am glad to see that you have found The Chedi to be as enjoyable as you did on your previous visit, which set the benchmark for you to return.

I hope we may welcome you again in the not too distant future and please feel free to contact me directly if I can be of assistance with any of the arrangements.

Best regards
Stefan Noll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

I had spent 3 nights in Club room of The Chedi, Chiengmai which is located in Chiengmai downtown. The hotel is located along the Ping river and the breakfast room has situated along a beautiful river view where we had a very delicious breakfast there. Club room is very spacious, they also provide Gin, Vodga in counter bar as complimentary. Overall atmosphere is similar to modern Japanese hotel. In conclusion, this hotel is very good if you want to stay in downtown, very convenience location, peaceful, exceed my expectation. Only a few things I dislike this hotel eg loud noise from motorcycle on the road, although the hotel has double doors for guest rooms(but not disturb much, only some vehicles with loud noise than normal will disturb you sometimes). And, due to the building shape of the hotel is L shape with the clear glass balcony which you will feel no privacy relaxing outside the room.

Room Tip: Choose the room facing the Ping river
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKVBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCMGM, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Dear JKVBangkok,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback here on tripadvisor.

I am delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our Club benefits, such as free return airport transfer, complimentary minibar, complimentary laundry (7pieces per day) and free evening cocktails and canapes at the club lounge.

I regret that you felt not to have enough privacy, please allow me to suggest to chose one of our River Suites next time you wish to stay with us as their balconies cannot be looked into by any other room, furthermore they offer a direct view on the River Ping and a more exclusive minibar selection.

Once again many thanks for staying with us and for sharing your feedback.

Best regards
Stefan Noll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

The Chedi was a really nice hotel, clean rooms and friendly staff. Breakfast didn't have a lot of options but the french toast was great and the view of the river was really calming. Our room didn't have a dvd player which was stated in one of the brochures. When I called reception they said they were only available in the deluxe rooms. There weren't many channels on the tv and it rained for our entire trip so we weren't able to do much and had to watch movies on our laptop. The staff were really nice and if ever we asked for something they got it to us quite quickly. When we ordered room service they saw we had eaten all of our fruit and continually topped it up for us. Nice and close to the markets and many other really nice restaurant's.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EDC83_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCMGM, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Dear EDC83_12,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor.

I am glad to know that you have overall enjoyed your stay with us.

I regret that you have not been shown that the BOSE sound system is a combined DVD player, which is connected to the television, furthermore all Suites have an ipod/iphone docking station which allows you to play your music, as well as watch any films you have stored on your ipod/iphone. My apologies for the inconvenience caused.

Our french toast at breakfast is often mentioned by our guests, there are even residents in Chiang Mai, who come to join our breakfast only for the french toast.

Once again many thanks for your comments and I hope we may welcome you again in the not too distant future.

Best regards
Stefan Noll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

My husband and I just stayed at the Chedi for 4 nights. We loved it there. The cool zen look was a great respite from the bustle of Chiang Mai. The staff was amazing. They always greeted us and were super helpful. I felt they were always looking for a way to enhance our stay. We were upgraded to a large suite and it was gorgeous. I liked the location. You could walk into the central city easily or hire a cab for $3 to take you anywhere. It was nice though to be a little bit removed and along the river. The location made it feel like a complete getaway.
We visited the spa twice. Once had the Thai massage and the next time the Chedi ( 2 therapist/ 4 hands) wow is all I can say. The spa itself is gorgeous and the therapist excellent. Both times my husband and I were placed in the double room and they gave us our treatments at the same time.
Fabulous and amazing! A must do!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dora F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCMGM, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Dear Dora F,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor.

I appreciate your kind comments on the hotel's design. Kerry Hill, an Australian architect with an office in Singapore, was appointed for this project. He is well known and much respected for his designs.

Like yourself many of our guests enjoyed The Chedi Jade massage the most. The combination of techniques and the synchronised movements of the two therapists are ideal to relax.

Once again many thanks for your kind comments and I hope we may welcome you again in the not too distant future.

Best regards
Stefan Noll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,975 reviews
2.5 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 381 in Chiang Mai
443 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 381 in Chiang Mai
2,953 reviews
1.9 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#11 of 381 in Chiang Mai
2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Chiang Mai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Chiang Mai Resort

Property: Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Address: 123 Charoen Prathet Road | Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#4 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edging the meandering Mae Ping River, Anantara Chiang Mai Resort is conveniently situated a mere five minute walk to the famous Night Bazaar and only 10 minutes from the quaint and traditional attractions of the old moated city. Explore authentic Thai areas, seemingly endless markets and the city's quirky art culture with its bohemian vibe as well as popular cosmopolitan hangouts and a growing wellness scene. Surrounding the valley in which Chiang Mai resides, verdant mountains are home to vast national parks of virgin rainforest, impressive waterfalls and rare flora and fauna. Discover countless Buddhist temples, timeless hill tribe communities, exotic animal sanctuaries and fascinating handicraft villages, as well as historic ruins that tell a tale of a time when Chiang Mai was the capital of the ancient Lanna Kingdom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TravelUp, Travelbag, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Anantara Chiang Mai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chedi Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Chedi Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing