We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, dark and trendy...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Ranked #11 of 380 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel, dark and trendy...”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Aside of my fear of mosquitoes, the stay here was lovely. In the middle of rainy season of course, so weather is changeable, but always warm.

Location is very good, virtually opposite the night market where you can get all your very cheap tut and tourist stuff, but actually that's good (don't tell me wife that I thought it was good). Load up with t-shirts and print pattern trousers.

The Chedi has exceptional service, even vs rest of Thailand which is good. The food in the restaurant was of very high standard.

The rooms are good too, spacious and comfortable. Although sometimes I could have done with a slightly brighter light to see...I know it's trendy to be dark etc, but really...

I had the Thai massage in the Spa, which is the sketchy, non oily version.....ow! Actually, was very good and not too expensive.

All in all, I would recommend it highly.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SquareBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear SquareBoy,

We won't tell your wife that you found the night market to be good as long as you continue recommending The Chedi Chiang Mai.

Thank you for your visit and see you next time you need to load up on T-shirts and print pattern trousers.

Andy Kunz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,846
    350
    81
    27
    18
See reviews for
450
1,243
113
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed at The Chedi for 3 nights and we really enjoyed ourselves. We felt very well taken care of and I think that is an important quality when rating how good a hotel is. The facilities were great and the staff were just so polite and friendly. The food was not cheap but it was easily one of the the best food we had when we were in Chiang Mai. We would definitely return to stay at The Chedi if we are ever back in Chiang Mai.

Well, we did see something which was unfortunate, but it had nothing to do with the hotel. During one of the breakfast buffets, one of the (adult) guests in the hotel was prodding and squeezing almost all the pieces of cheese with his bare hands before deciding which piece to take.

In any case, apart from this, we had a wonderful time at The Chedi. Thanks for making the trip so memorable.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank EatCarPet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear EatCarPet,

Taking care of our guest is our aim and we are so glad that you had a wonderful stay. Thank you for making The Chedi your home in Chiang Mai.

Regards,

Andy Kunz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This hotel is a like a little Zen oasis amidst the cacophony and bustle that is Chiang Mai. It's a striking building with lovely interior and exterior spaces. We booked a large room for our family of 4 (mom, dad, 2 kids, 12 & 6), and really enjoyed our 4-night stay in July 2013. It was nice to have the large room after a somewhat crowded room in Bangkok, and the access to the club was definitely a plus - a nice place to retreat for a cold glass of lemongrass water. As might be expected, the aesthetic beauty of the place comes at some cost in terms of convenience -- in the old form vs. function battle, form definitely won out at the Chedi. In fact, we had a running joke in our family about things that were aesthetic but impractical, like the glassed-in toilet area (fully visible from the shower), the wooden countertops for the sinks, and the unobtrusive light switches. The lighting in the room is also bad, which makes reading difficult (and the search from a lost black digital camera card virtually impossible). But we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The nice thing is that it's right in town: you can just stroll over to restaurants and the fun night bazaar. We particularly enjoyed strolling over to the little Pum restaurant across the street, which our son visited for almost every meal. We also considered the Four Seasons resort out of town, and are glad we chose the Chedi instead, because we don't like to be removed from the action, and tend to feel isolated at resorts. Everything you might want to visit in town is a stroll or a tuk-tuk ride away.
The concierge was also helpful, while were still in the States, in arranging a visit to an elephant camp that had told us that they had no room on our chosen day. Wireless service was great in the room and throughout the hotel. The pool is lovely. I was a bit disappointed in the breakfast buffet; rather small and unappealing selection. The trick there is to order things off the menu, which come hot and prepared to order; our son must have had a dozen minute steaks! AC worked perfectly in our room on the third floor (a big deal in this climate). This is a luxury property that lives up to its reputation. If we ever make it back to Chiang Mai, we'll definitely return to the Chedi.

Room Tip: Our room was not noisy, but we talked to others who complained about street noise (no wall separatin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 27Quincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear 27Quincy,

The entire team at The Chedi Chiang Mai joins me to thank you for staying with us and for your contribution to the TripAdvisor community.
We look forward to welcome you back to our zen oasis.

Kind regards,

Andy Kunz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Great hotel in a peaceful location overlooking the river and greenery. The rooms are nice and in modern decor. The employees are very nice, friendly and helpful. We had a great tao days getaway after our shopping trip to Bangkok. Will be back again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkBarnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear MarkBarnet,

We are looking forward to your next visit for another getaway to Chiang Mai. Thank you for choosing our hotel and sharing your comments.

Sincerely,

Andy Kunz
The Chedi Chiang Mai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We arrived in the furnace of the hot, smoky season but the Chedi was an oasis of calm in Chiang Mai. Among top-class Thai hotels, I reckon this is one of the best. It's modern yet not too minimalist. Wood panelling lends a warm tone. The staff were particularly good. They handled complex booking and tour requests without fuss and they welcomed a small boy, though this isn't a hotel for families. I'd give the Chedi top marks for two basics. First, a quiet location by the Ping river, yet just a short walk to downtown. Second, it's one of very few Thai hotels that has top-notch F & B. Breakfasts delicious. Dynamite cocktails at dusk. A limited but excellent dinner menu of Thai and western food. We were warned about noisy rooms near the road but it didn't seem a problem. All this comes at a stiff price. But for a classy short break, this is the place I'd recommend in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bangkokwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Bangkokwriter,

Thank you for recommending The Chedi as the place to stay in Chiang Mai and for considering us as one of the best. Our staff are certainly an asset and it is because of them that we get the basics right as well as so much more.
We hope to see you again soon in our oasis.

Warm regards,

Andy Kunz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barham, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Having not been back to Chiang Mai for nearly 6 + years we picked Chedi again and were not disappointed.
We were offered an upgrade which we took advantage of and were not disappointed. As this room was not available at our arrival 2.30pm we were offered high tea which was very impressive. Evening cocktails were not a disappointment as were the breakfasts, very quiet and relaxing.
Dining in hotel was good with a wide expanse of foods to try. As The Chedi has a new chef we experimented with the menu and loved the foods of Oman and meal sizes were generous.
Overall an excellent stay was experienced due to the excellent service of all staff.

Room Tip: If you take the upgrade ask for a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nuggettdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear nuggettdog,

Thank you for coming back to The Chedi Chiang Mai. We look forward to see you again soon, hopefully you will not wait 6+ years for your next visit.

Andy Kunz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Overall, very impressed with this hotel, but there is always room for improvement :)

Lets start with the positives:
- Amazing hotel layout and structure. Beautiful courtyards; Saltwater Pool is HUGE and fantastic
- Poolside service is great! Try the high tea- great!
- Beautiful location along the river. Convenient walking to restaurants and massages
- Great service overall.
- Room and bathroom was beautiful and gym was excellent too

Negatives:
- Over 30 dollars for breakfast per person? Thats expensive even by NYC standards. Same goes for laundry prices. A ripoff. We found a cute lady doing laundry in a small store nearby for a tenth of the price. Choose this option!
- The poolside attendant told us at one point that we couldnt take photos at the pool. Seriously? Thats what people do on vacation.

Overall, would def recommend this place, but theres room to be even better :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dewon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Dewon,

It was our pleasure to be able to impress you with our hotel and we agree that there is always room for improvement. Therefore we thank you for sharing your comments and feelings. We are very happy to read that that you enjoyed the huge pool, found the service overall great and the room beautiful.
At The Chedi Chiang Mai we offer a wide selection of all-you-can-eat breakfast buffet including a variety of Western, Asian and Indian a la carte items. Most of our rates are inclusive of breakfast therefore we recommend to book this option on your next visit.
We are currently reviewing our laundry pricing but we will still be more expensive as we charge by the piece; I am sure that the cute lady doing laundry nearby will be delighted to get the business from our guest that are looking for a better price.
We respect the privacy of all our guests and we had some comments in the past of guests being offended that tourists were taking pictures of them by the pool, I will address again with the team on how to handle those situations so our guests can still snap their vacation shots.

Again thank you very much for your contribution and we look forward to see you again in the Land of Smiles.

Regards,

Andy Kunz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,953 reviews
2.5 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 380 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,917 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Chiang Mai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Chiang Mai Resort

Property: Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Address: 123 Charoen Prathet Road | Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#4 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edging the meandering Mae Ping River, Anantara Chiang Mai Resort is conveniently situated a mere five minute walk to the famous Night Bazaar and only 10 minutes from the quaint and traditional attractions of the old moated city. Explore authentic Thai areas, seemingly endless markets and the city's quirky art culture with its bohemian vibe as well as popular cosmopolitan hangouts and a growing wellness scene. Surrounding the valley in which Chiang Mai resides, verdant mountains are home to vast national parks of virgin rainforest, impressive waterfalls and rare flora and fauna. Discover countless Buddhist temples, timeless hill tribe communities, exotic animal sanctuaries and fascinating handicraft villages, as well as historic ruins that tell a tale of a time when Chiang Mai was the capital of the ancient Lanna Kingdom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Travelbag and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Anantara Chiang Mai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chedi Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Chedi Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing