We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be one of the best resort in Chiang Mai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Ranked #12 of 393 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We struggled for a while when choosing where to stay. At the beginning, my wife was attracted by Mandarin but we come to know that the management contract had ended and that is no longer under Mandarin. We then decided to choose somewhere near the night market and we are also interested about the scene behind where the movie Andy Lau had participated as well as the previous English embassy.

We booked a Kasara suite with complimentary pickup to and from airport. The hotel is very nice indeed and the feeling inside outweighed those mosquito and noise outside. Most the rooms are very close to the road with many cars passed by even during midnight but this is acceptable to both of us.

Thanks for the complimentary birthday cake offered by the hotel for my wife's birthday also. Blueberry and mango... Taste fantastic.

Next time, we will stay here again for longer duration and for suite with river view this time.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank bremen1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear bremen1018

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay at Anantara Chiang Mai.

I fully appreciated you have chosen to stay at Anantara Chiang Mai for your vacation. As you realized that our team do our best to impress guests and I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stayed with us.

However there was a minor experienced of noise disturbance and mosquitoes which I apologize to these inconveniences you had have cause and kindly noted that we are currently working on with pest management company to get rid of mosquitoes problem which hope it will be solving soon. Regarding noise disturbance which we are urban retreat located in the heart of the city. There is no doubt we cater to guests who are looking for a retreat and escape but still wish to have the easy access to the best that Chiang Mai has to offer.

Once again thank you for such a value comments that I shall pass on to our team and hope to welcome you back to Anantara Chiang Mai in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Syahreza Ishwara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

987 - 993 of 2,499 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

we had a dinner in this hotel's riverside restaurant, it was quite a little creepy in the lobby and restaurant and we people crowed in the restaurant we all felt better. Service was excellent,but food was not good as their price.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank m L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear m L

Thank you for coming at our The Restaurant.
Regarding food quality, I do apologize as it was not up to standard which I had pass this matter to our Executive Chef who will look into issue as well as the price that we are the same rank as our competitor hotels.

Yours sincerely

Syahreza Ishwara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

My wife and I were delighted with our week's stay at this fine deluxe boutique hotel. We made good use of the very well equipped gym and pool area and my wife enjoyed her various treatments at the spa. The service level provided by all the staff was impeccable. We were also impressed with quality and setting of the excellent and varied breakfast.
The rooms are adequate, even if a little on the small side, but the beds are very soft and in need of an urgent change as they are not in keeping with the overall quality of this delightful establishment.
On the downside we were somewhat disappointed with the quality of the food and prices charged at the restaurant and the hotel in general has a problem with a mosquito infestation.
Notwithstanding our stay was very memorable and we thank Reza and his staff for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Leo R

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay at Anantara Chiang Mai.

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. However please accept my apologize for any inconvenience you have had caused regarding the mosquito as we are currently working with pest management company which will be eliminate this matter soon.

For the bed experience we certainly take note of your comment and put in your profile to do more impressive in your future stay with us.

Regarding to quality of food, I had pass on your comment to our Executive Chef who will personally look into this matter.

As price charged that we have surveyed and compared with same level competitor hotels and it is all same rank in five star hotels.

Once again thank you for such a wonderful comments that I shall pass on to our team and hope to welcome you back to Anantara Chiang Mai in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Syahreza Ishwara

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

At first the hotel looks a little odd given the external timber cladding but on turning the corner into reception the "wow" feeling takes over! The hotel is modern, superbly designed with space and calm pervading. There is a large colonial manor in the grounds which is where the bar and restaurant are situated and the pool is large and long - perfect for swimming. The staff are very attentive and dealt with all queries in a professional and friendly manor. You can walk out into town easily or get a tuk tuk which are always waiting outside. Great situation on the river and close to town!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This hotel is the former British consulate building with a new modern stylish building which makes it so unique, it is located on the banks of the river close to the night bazaar and is tastefully designed. The hotel grounds are well maintained in a very nice relaxed environment. The staff are friendly and service is good. We would recommend the afternoon tea as the choice of teas is excellent especially the Indian tea, the Irish whiskey cream blend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank RonBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

The former The Chedi Chiang Mai, now the Anantara, is a very stylish hotel. Great design.
Overall we have been very satisfied with the hotel and its services. Great location and very pleasant staff.
We have stayed in a deluxe room on the ground floor. The room was on the small side, furniture a bit dated, open bathroom (who likes that ???). The doors do not close well and the noise from the nearby street a bit disturbing. The pool is rather on the small side, but the grounds wonderful.
Would we stay here again ... ? Probably yes, but we would make sure we get a room far away from the street.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Urs E H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

we stayed at the Anantara for 4 nights last month. It was the luxury hotel we had chosen during our last week in Thailand as part of a month away and it did not disappoint. As soon as you walk in you are amazed by the architecture and features of the hotel. We couldn't fault anything. Our room was great, the swimming pool is ideal for a lazy day in the sun and the gym is very good as well. Breakfast was fantastic - best choice out of everywhere we stayed in Thailand.

Location - walking distance to the night bazaar and chiang mai centre and only 10 minutes from the airport.

Staff were always helpful and friendly and we would definitely stay here again if visiting chiang mai.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becs4612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 393 in Chiang Mai
2,085 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#19 of 393 in Chiang Mai
3,146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 393 in Chiang Mai
562 reviews
1.9 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.4 mi away
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Chiang Mai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Chiang Mai Resort

Address: 123 Charoen Prathet Road | Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#5 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £201 - £836 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Anantara Chiang Mai Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edging the meandering Mae Ping River, Anantara Chiang Mai Resort is conveniently situated a mere five minute walk to the famous Night Bazaar and only 10 minutes from the quaint and traditional attractions of the old moated city. Explore authentic Thai areas, seemingly endless markets and the city's quirky art culture with its bohemian vibe as well as popular cosmopolitan hangouts and a growing wellness scene. Surrounding the valley in which Chiang Mai resides, verdant mountains are home to vast national parks of virgin rainforest, impressive waterfalls and rare flora and fauna. Discover countless Buddhist temples, timeless hill tribe communities, exotic animal sanctuaries and fascinating handicraft villages, as well as historic ruins that tell a tale of a time when Chiang Mai was the capital of the ancient Lanna Kingdom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, MrandMrsSmith, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Travelbag, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Anantara Chiang Mai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chedi Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Chedi Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing