We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Nearby Hotels
Le Meridien Chiang Mai(Chiang Mai)
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
De Naga Hotel(Chiang Mai)
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bodhi Serene Hotel(Chiang Mai)
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamarind Village(Chiang Mai)
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainforest Boutique(Chiang Mai)(Great Value!)
US$38
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$30
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$394
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$364
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$439
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$310
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$380
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$355
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,627)
Filter reviews
2,627 results
Traveller rating
2,110
381
86
31
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,110
381
86
31
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub suitekasara suitebritish consulateriver view suitefree laundrynight marketday bedprivate loungeping rivercold towelsbeautiful hotelour honeymoonmain restaurantlarge balconycoffee machinemini barspa treatments
Filter
Updating list...
1,059 - 1,064 of 2,627 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The Anantara is a beautiful, stylish hotel. The rooms, architecture, gardens, furniture and art are all amazing.

Staff are all really friendly and welcoming. We had a couple of meals which were absolutely delicious and offers choices other than Thai food (for when you are all noodled out!).

The only slight negative comment is that there are some times quite a few mosquitoes. The hotel does its best to keep them at bay but the architecture of the building means that the corridors are open to the outside. And of course the hotel is set by a river so has to be expected.

Don't let this put you off though, just go with good insect repellant and be choosy were you sit.

Other than that, a fab place offering easy access to Chiang Mai and is a 2 minute walk away from the markets which are fascinating.

Room Tip: Its been said before but it's well worth paying the bit extra for a room on a higher floor with view of the river and also requesting a room away from the road which is a bit noisy. We had room 419 which was lovely.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yeahman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear yeahman

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review. It is a pleasure to hear about your amazing story with us at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa. Such positive feedback is extremely valuable to us, since it encourages our loyal associates to deliver the very best experiences from the start to finish of each guest’s stay. However please accept my apologize regarding mosquito problem whilst we hope that all of our guests enjoy the resort’s scenic riverside location, tropical environment and exotic nature, your comfort is of the utmost importance and we do everything possible to minimize disturbance from mosquitoes. We work closely with a pest control company, and the resort grounds are fumigated on a weekly basis as per their professional advice. In addition we provide mosquito spray in every guestroom and mosquito repellent at all of our restaurants, bars and public spaces for guests’ convenience. We truly appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your views about our luxurious riverside retreat. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and to making your stay even more amazing in any way we can. Thank you again from your Anantara family in Chiang Mai!

Yours sincerely

Syahreza Ishwara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel and it was Wow all the way. We opted for an exec suite and were not disappointed from airport to room to bed. Clean, spacious, the service was anything can do, cocktails were fab, superb gym facilities and I guess everything you would expect from a hotel of this calibre. My only feedback relates to children being loud around the pool which did spoil the yen atmosphere, maybe a kids pool? We would definitely come back, recommend to others and now use Anatara hotels else where. A massive thumbs up from us.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Bracken50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Bracken50

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent experience at Anantara Chiang Mai and I am delighted to hear that you rank us so highly. I would age that this resort is designed more with couples in mind and certainly a great base to relax and recharge in the center of Chiang Mai. As such, I feel it was indeed a tad unfortunate that you were disturbed on this occasion as we generally do not have too many families at one time. I certainly apologise for any issue this caused at the time and appreciate your suggestion. We truly appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your views about our luxurious riverside retreat. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and to making your stay even more amazing in any way we can. Thank you again from your Anantara family in Chiang Mai!

Yours sincerely

Syahreza Ishwara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I just didn't like this hotel. On the positive side it appears very tranquil when you arrive, very open with seating around a pond which is beautifully lit at night. There is seating around a swimming pool and a good breakfast is served next to the river which is lovely. However I disliked the bedroom. Where we were it was quite a long way to the room along a corridor open to the outside so you have to swat away the mosquitoes. The room has a sort of open lobby which serves no other purpose than to house mosquitoes and we were asked to take off our shoes and put on the bedroom shoes. I would not have minded had the bedroom warranted it. The room itself is extremely dark, dated and shabby. For some reason the bathroom is in the bedroom until you close the folding doors. The bathroom is ok but in need of refurbishment I.e grouting. Also for this standard of hotel I don't expect to use a refillable bottle with a pump for shower gel and shampoo. I thought we were coming to the Chedi hotel but I understand it has now changed hands so I presume the new owners are going to invest in refurbishment.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank elliepoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear elliepoppy

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent experience here in Chiang Mai.

Having said that, you raise some good points for us to consider.
Rest assured that we do not consider ourselves perfect and will always look at ways how to improve. We will certainly discuss all the issues you raise and see if we can indeed raise the toiletry to be individually. However I certainly apologize for mosquito problem, your comfort is of the utmost importance and we do everything possible to minimise disturbance from this matter. We work closely with a pest control company, and the resort grounds are fumigated on a weekly basis as per their professional advice. In addition we provide mosquito spray in every guestroom and mosquito repellent at all of our restaurants, bars and public spaces for guests’ convenience. We do thank you for the time taken to share such thoughts and we do hope that you may return to Chiang Mai and to Anantara in the future.

Yours sincerely

Syahreza Ishwara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Spent four nights here in a Club Suite during the time of the Loi Krathong festival in November and my only complaint is that we did not stay longer! The hotel grounds were gorgeous - hypnotically Zen-like, and the floor to ceiling views across the pool to the river made it feel like we were living in a postcard. The stylish room was delightfully ambient and one afternoon my husband and I stayed in to read our books just so we could spend some extra time in it - from the Thai-spiced nuts to complimentary mini-bar and excellent espresso machine, our senses were sated. In addition, the cocktails and canapés in the club lounge were wonderful and the attentive service by the staff each evening there was perfectly warm but not intrusive. One morning we couldn't figure out how to dial our credit card company from our room and the club lounge attendant insisted on calling the U.S. right on the spot on his personal cell phone lest we have a moment of discomfort.

Because we had pre-booked several excursions we did not have a chance to enjoy the pool or spa, but our experience in the fitness center was top-notch. As Chiang Mai is said by some to be the best place in Thailand to experience Loi Krathong, which is celebrated together with Yee Peng, the timing of our trip made for an absolutely unforgettable experience. Chiang Mai spends days celebrating with fairs, parades, and fireworks and the hotel is conveniently located so that you can walk to the Night Bazaar and other festivities. Anantara also had a very special evening planned. It was a costly event but worth it to experience the amazement of these festivals from an unforgettable vantage point. A canapé hour with local artists and performers, and a decent (but not exceptional) buffet dinner precluded an evening of entertainment set up poolside, at riverfront - dancers, fire-breathers, puppeteers, musicians all skillfully blending ritual and local color. As the festivals are intended to seek atonement and celebrate one's blessings, a truly other-worldy, magical environment enveloped as candle-lit floats were released up the river and flame-driven lanterns high into the sky. Hundreds of points of light surrounded, drifting everywhere the eye could see. Of course the hotel welcomed everyone to float their own krathongs into the river and fly their own lanterns. Just about as perfect as an evening could ever get. Luckily we travel with ear plugs and a "white noise" app on our phones and they came into great use later that evening when we went to bed, shutting out the sounds of fireworks being set off along the river literally all night long - those would be highly recommended if you come at this time.

The breakfast buffet was tasty and plentiful, and the staff pleasant and helpful. The hotel had just changed management days earlier and manager Nick Downing was highly visible and welcoming throughout the festival dinner and our entire stay. I am not sure when our lives might bring us back to Chiang Mai but if it gets to happen you can bet we will be returning here - for a week next time. At least.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mok43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Mok43

Thank you for a wonderful review of your recent experience with us during the Loy Krathong festival. It was certainly an amazing time of year to be in Chiang Mai. The people, the lanterns covering the entire sky and the fireworks! Sights and sounds to remember for a long time. I am delighted to know that the team managed to impress on so many levels. And yes, there is no doubt our dining experiences at the resort are certainly an experience not to miss while in Chiang Mai. I also glad to hear that you like our breakfast and thanks again for sharing such a great review and very big thank you to Mr. Nick Downing who had done a wonderful job while he was here and very smooth hand over this stunning property to me. Once again thank you for your time you've taken to share such an excellent review and we do hope that we can welcome you back...perhaps for the Loy Krathong festival next year.

Yours sincerely

Syahreza Ishwara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Loved the look of this hotel when we first arrived and our room overlooked the gardens so we were well away from the road (request one of these if you would be bothered by road noise) and the room was a good size with everything you would expect from Chedi hotel. However, the rooms were badly lit, the bathroom particularly so, so much so that i struggled to see in the mirror to put any make up on. Lots of dark wood also added to the gloomy atmosphere. We were absolutely bombarded with Mosquitos every time we opened our door. We requested our room to be sprayed, had extra mosquito tablets provided but we still were inundated with the things. We didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening but the breakfast was ok, again very low lighting and dark wood make for a very oppressive atmosphere. Nice pool area with the extra sun loungers on the upper level so plenty of space to sit out, and the staff were lovely. All in all though wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the gardens away from the road.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Maryanne202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear Maryanne202,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent experience here at Anantara Chiang Mai.

I am happy to know that you like the room design and hotel ambience. Our lighting configuration is set by the designer to set the overall mood and atmsophere of the resort. There are a lot of postive comments from our guests for the hotel design with its detail. You can see the details with their creative design start from entering the lobby to the reception, the restaurant, the cooridoor and the guests room.

After the cold season has passed, we do have mosquito presence in the hotel and we have been working closely with the city mosquito expert and our pest managment company to deal with this issue.

Once again thank you for feedback and we are looking forward to welcome you back to Anantara Chiang Mai in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Syahreza Ishwara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews