We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel with cozy room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Ranked #10 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with cozy room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Pros:
1. The hotel itself is beautiful with combination of modern touch of architecture and yet maintain an element of traditional Lanna-style.

2. Room is cozy and clean.

3. Breakfast is superb with lot of varieties, from Asian to Western.

4. Swimming pool area is gorgeous and shouldn't be missed by sun-lovers.

5. Location is good, about 5 mins walk to Chang Klang night bazaar.

6. Hotel staff are friendly and informative.

Cons:
1. A lot mosquitoes (may be due to hot season in Chiang Mai now). But, the hotel management has put their efforts to solve this matter by providing mosquito coins, spray, repellent to their guests. Thanks to the hotel management.

2. Single bed for twin room is small. Most of the twin room in 5 stars hotel provides either super single size bed or double size bed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ykai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear ykai

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent experience stay at Anantara Chiang Mai.
We always love to make such a positive impression and will certainly discuss your suggestion regarding the bed in twin bed room with the team as we are indeed currently reviewing all areas to see where we can lift to even higher levels.
I do thank you again for sharing your feedback and we will always look at ways for how to provide an even better experience for all our guests in the future. We certainly do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Syahreza Ishwara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,820
    346
    79
    26
    17
See reviews for
442
1,222
112
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

My husband and I arrived and found this place to be relaxing, tranquil and such a lovely experience. The elephant attached is awesome. From our breakfast/lunch table we could see some of the 26 elephants rescued and living here in the park. You can hear them talking to each other and each morning baby Arn comes to visit the guests. She is truly a beautiful girl and loves eating bananas and sunflower seeds you can feed to her. A beautiful outlook and magical sunrises and sunsets. The staff are very well trained and so very friendly. I would not miss this place it's definitely worth it. We were lucky enough to take a package which included all meals and drinks and the two restaurants situated in the resort are of the highest quality. The Italian restaurant Baan Dahlia is worthy of a chefs hat it's that good! Try the Thai wine whilst here at the resort it amazing. Not sure about the Thai wine outside but the Thai wine here is wonderful very pleasant.

Room Tip: We have the Anantara suite room331 it fabulous and big!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenPorter54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed five nights in early March and can say it was a very pleasant stay. The second you walk into this hotel, you completely forget that there is a loud city street right outside. The design elements are gorgeous; everything streamlined while mixed with a little bit of a colonial feel.

We booked a river view room (no upgrades were available when we arrived) and I can’t say the view was very direct since we were on the side of the building. Not a river view until you stick your head out of the balcony and look left. Make sure to ask for a room away from the street as it does make a huge difference in your stay.

The service was top notch. Mr. Sid assisted us with our excursions (including one we booked separately) and even listed them out for us by day and pick –up time. On the last evening, I had an idea to set off a sky lantern. The front desk was able to provide one and sent staff to help me light it. It was a great way to end the trip and very accommodating of them since it’s not something they advertise.

Breakfast buffet was delicious and included many lunch options. Enjoyed high-tea overlooking the river and the pool. Did not get to use the spa or the gym although they looked very well equipped and serviced. I believe the pool is a salt water pool and it is very refreshing for a dip or swim (it’s large enough!).

Overall, great stay. Just make sure to keep the bugs out!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street Make sure you are satisfied with your "river view" ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adayuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear adayuen

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa. It is a pleasure to hear about your amazing story with us. Such positive feedback is extremely valuable to us, since it encourages our loyal associates to deliver the very best experiences from the start to finish of each guest’s stay. Inspiration is a key hallmark of the Anantara brand, and we love to hear the things we are doing exceptionally well, so that we can build on the experiences we offer and make them even more amazing. It’s also crucial to know what matters to our guests the most, and please accept my apologize regarding the bugs which is our hotel working with pest control management to be get rid of this problem. We truly appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your views about our luxurious riverside retreat. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and to making your stay even more amazing in any way we can. Thank you again from your Anantara family in Chiang Mai!

Yours sincerely,

Syahreza Ishwara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We spent three nights of our honeymoon in a river view suite and this beautiful hotel. The suite was huge, very quiet and well appointed. The hotel has lovely tranquil grounds right on the Mae Ping river and is the perfect place to kick back and relax in Chiang Mai.

The staff are so friendly and helpful and really add a personal touch by remembering your name and always providing a warm greeting.

The food at the restaurant is of the highest standard and, coming from London, I can safely say the afternoon tea rivals any top London hotel.

Despite the peaceful location the hotel is located a couple of minutes from the night bazaar and a 15-20 minute walk to the old town.

For those reviewers commenting about mosquitos, I'm not sure this can really be blamed on the hotel. The hotel is located right next to a river in Northern Thailand - to put it simply mosquitos are inevitable in this climate and location. My wife and I usually suffer badly from mosquito bites but I am happy to say that neither of us received a single bite here. The hotel goes to great lengths to minimise the problem providing sprays for guests as well as other deterrents.

Wish we were still there!

Room Tip: River view suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mgw84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Mgw84

Thank you for sharing such a beautiful review of your recent experience at our resort by the Mae Ping River. There is no doubt that the resort is well recognised internationally due to it's stunning architecture as well as it's personalised service. Also our dining experiences at the resort are certainly an experience not to miss while in Chiang Mai. I am certainly happy to hear that you managed to find time to enjoy our signature afternoon tea on the verandah of the old Colonial House. It really is an experience to take time out for.
Please accept our apologize regarding mosquito issue Whilst we hope that all of our guests enjoy the resort’s scenic riverside location, tropical environment and exotic nature, your comfort is of the utmost importance and we do everything possible to minimise disturbance from mosquitoes. We work closely with a pest control company, and the resort grounds are fumigated on a weekly basis as per their professional advice. Please rest assured that we will continue to monitor this matter closely and constantly strive to use best practices so that our guests enjoy a comfortable stay. Thank you again for sharing such wonderful comments and we certainly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa soon.

Yours sincerely

Syahreza Ishwara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Tha room was dated, very uncomfortable and poorly appointed with Rattan furniture and thin cushions. Even the bed was thin, hard and quite uncomfortable.

The unrelenting Mosquitos that infest the entire hotel were truly a miserable experience. Dinner was actually quite delicious in the hotel restaurant but we had to cut it short of desert because of the Mosquitos were relentless.

A shame. Definitely not what you expect from this hotel chain and at this price point.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Len W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Len W

Thank you for sharing your recently experience with us. We appreciate you taking the time to highlight your concern. Please accept our apologize you may caused regarding the mosquito and the bed. Whilst we hope that all of our guests enjoy the resort’s scenic riverside location, tropical environment and exotic nature, your comfort is of the utmost importance and we do everything possible to minimise disturbance from mosquitoes. We work closely with a pest control company, and the resort grounds are fumigated on a weekly basis as per their professional advice. Also the bed issue, I would like to take this opportunity to express that we are always happy to change your room upon request when availability permits. We are currently investigating your query and reassessing the comfort of our beds, with a view to installing new beds to ensure that our guests enjoy the most comfortable night’s sleep possible.

Regardless of the above, I again apologise for providing anything less than a perfect experience that matched your expectations and truly appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your feedback. Hopefully you give us the opportunity to show that Anantara Chiang Mai can indeed provide an experience that you would enjoy. We certainly hope to welcome you back.

Yours sincerely

Syahreza Ishwara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

This was one of those perfect hotel experiences that make you wish every hotel could be like this.
The Anantara was clean, beyond comfortable, modern, beautifully appointed and somehow always smelled lovely.
The pool is surrounded by a stunning lily pond. The spa is perfect. The breakfast/restaurant is on the river under a tree canopy. The staff is exceptionally kind and helpful. The location is great and 5 minutes from the daily night market. It was just perfect.
The mosquitos are kind of insane and annoying, but that's unavoidable with the open air hotel being on the water. Worth the minor itchy bites to stay in a place like this!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Christina S

Thank you for sharing such a beautiful review of your recent experience at Anantara Chiang Mai. There is no doubt that the resort is well recognised internationally due to it's stunning architecture as well as it's personalised service. Needless to say we always love to make such a positive impression. I must admit that the team is the key to any successful hotel and there is no doubt that the team at Anantara Chiang Mai does their best to ensure guests experience the best that Chiang Mai has to offer. And I also agree that's our location is close to all the action that the town has to offer with the Night Markets a simple stroll down the street.
Once again thank you and we truly appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your views about our luxurious riverside retreat. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and to making your stay even more amazing in any way we can.

Warmest regards,

Syahreza Ishwara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

This hotel is an oasis of calm inside a busy city. The location for us was perfect, near to the night markets and the walled area city is only a 30 minute walk.

We stayed in a Kasara River View Suite. Our check-in was very quick and you are taken to the Private Kasara Lounge for this. You can use this lounge anytime throughout the day for tea, coffee, soft drinks biscuits etc. Breakfast is also served in this lounge and is absolutely excellent. You can also take breakfast the main restaurant in the old consulate building or have room service. Complimentary cocktails are served in this lounge between 6.00pm - 8.00pm - they really know how to mix a mean cocktail!!! If you sit on the outside terrace they provide you with mosquito spray and we did not have a problem.

Our room was vast with wonderful views of the river. As you would expect in a 5 star hotel it had every amenity you could wish for including a complimentary mini bar and free laundry (up to 7 items per day I think) which was useful if you are travelling around Thailand. The bed was very comfortable. The rooms are minimalistic and very tasteful. People have commented on the lighting, yes they are quite dark but this seems to add to the tranquility.

The pool area is so quiet and relaxing and the service was was excellent.

We used the spa and this was the usual high standard of Anantara.

We ate lunch by the pool and at night in the restaurant; the food is very good as is the service. There are many restaurants in Chiang Mai. We did try one or two and also ate in a recommended restaurant in the night market, we did not have any problems and the quality was excellent. The Italian restaurant just opposite the hotel is also very good.

All the staff are polite and very professional and cannot do enough for you.

Should we return to Chiang Mai this will be our hotel of choice.

Room Tip: Kasara River View Rooms are huge and have fantastic views of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holiday29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Holiday29

Thank you for such a wonderful review. It is a pleasure to hear about your amazing story with us at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa. Such positive feedback is extremely valuable to us, since it encourages our loyal associates to deliver the very best experiences from the start to finish of each guest’s stay. I am delighted to know that the team managed to impress on so many levels. And yes, there is no doubt our dining experiences at the resort are certainly an experience not to miss while in Chiang Mai. I also happy to hear that you enjoyed the Kasara Suite with its range of additional benefits and growing in popularity. I thank you again for sharing such wonderful feedback and we certianly hope to welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely
Syahreza Ishwara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,923 reviews
2.5 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 375 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,881 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Chiang Mai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Chiang Mai Resort

Property: Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Address: 123 Charoen Prathet Road | Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#4 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Chiang Mai Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edging the meandering Mae Ping River, Anantara Chiang Mai Resort is conveniently situated a mere five minute walk to the famous Night Bazaar and only 10 minutes from the quaint and traditional attractions of the old moated city. Explore authentic Thai areas, seemingly endless markets and the city's quirky art culture with its bohemian vibe as well as popular cosmopolitan hangouts and a growing wellness scene. Surrounding the valley in which Chiang Mai resides, verdant mountains are home to vast national parks of virgin rainforest, impressive waterfalls and rare flora and fauna. Discover countless Buddhist temples, timeless hill tribe communities, exotic animal sanctuaries and fascinating handicraft villages, as well as historic ruins that tell a tale of a time when Chiang Mai was the capital of the ancient Lanna Kingdom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Ebookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelbag, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anantara Chiang Mai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chedi Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Chedi Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing